We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 6 visits, not coming back - experienced safe theft”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #33 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“After 6 visits, not coming back - experienced safe theft”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have stayed here 6 times; last visit in April 2013. Money stolen from our safe. Here are the facts:
** Arrived late afternoon. Put all our valuables away in the safe & wore the infamous safe key around our necks as we always do. Went down by the pool. This was around 4:00 p.m.
** Came up at 5:40 in the afternoon and saw that our bed was turned down for the evening. In all our years of travel, never have we had our bed turned down for the evening this early.
** Accessed our safe - money was missing.
** Spoke with Victor in Security - he isolated the fact that an entry was made into our room by housekeeping at 5:21 in the afternoon.
** I asked Victor why Housekeeping would access our room at 5:21 p.m. to turn our bed down for the evening - isn't this strange? He would not comment or acknowledge anything strange about this.
** Also asked Victor why the pool hut asks for the room number every time you want a towel. This is a sure fire way to let staff know you are out of your room. He seemed surprised by this practice.

- We had $$$ stolen. Victor the Security Manager treated this with apathy.
- We asked to be moved to another room - he proceeded to give us defective rooms: 1 with a broken sliding glass door latch, and 1 with another key safe (after our theft, we asked for an electronic safe).
- Middle management was surprised by Victor's mismanagement of this issue.

There are many options in Cabo. We will not return to the Riu. We've heard of theft by others on this board, and now have experienced it as well. In all cases, Management mismanages the situation with apathy & neglect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PalmTreeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,987
    2,116
    752
    441
    347
See reviews for
1,239
3,010
67
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Went to the Riu for a wedding party. First time staying at the Riu.The Riu was a fun, active resort. The food was just OK. Breakfast buffet was the best. Lunch and dinner I could do without. The Mexican restaurant was the best for dinner but you have to make reservations. The servers in the restaurants are very nice and friendly and really do try to cater to your needs.The rooms have issues. We had a toilet that did not like to flush. Had to mess with it every time. Our room did not have bed bugs but it did have very active cockroaches. We visit Mexico a lot and this is the first time I saw busy little cockroaches in my room. Yuch!!! I did not have a problem with my door, (maybe because I tipped our room maid everyday) but my son came back to his room with his door wide open. My other son had money and a cell phone stolen from his room. We had a fun time, but would I stay here again? I don't think so. Too many other nice resorts in Cabo to choose from and I have had better experiences elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caterine56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed Aug 8-11, I loved the place. Great service, nice hotel, the food was better than some all inclusive that I have stayed in before in Cancun. Beautiful views. Was not happy with the procedure to make a reservation for the better dining restaurants. The Steak place was unavailable the whole time we were there and we requested in on arrival. Internet service didn't work for a couple of days. No swimming on the beach, too dangerous but was told you could walk down a little further and swim. But overall a great place.

Room Tip: Pools and food are in the back middle portion of the hotel so get as close to that as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We went to Riu Palace for a friends wedding, and the resort is absolutely beautiful from the second you arrive! We loved how open everything was, and the detail work of the building. There were a couple of small downfalls about the resort. One downfall about this resort (only if someone has difficultly walking or in a wheelchair) is the amount of steps. The resort is so large, it is a lot of walking to your room from the food, and pool area. Also, for how large the resort is, the pool areas, especially by the swim up bar are too small. If people have large groups, there isn't a lot of room with multiple groups. Lastly, the beach is VERY hard to walk in barefoot, and we didn't like that we couldn't get in the ocean. However, The rooms are absolutely beautiful, and a great size, and the mini bar is amazing (if you like to drink). The largest restaurant at the resort has the best food, we thought. Overall it was a great experience, and we had a blast. The views from the rooms are wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed Aug 3 - 10th. This resort is gorgeous and grounds well maintained. It's a very large resort, so depending on where your room is located and where you want to go, you could be in for quite a hike.

We stayed in a corner large suite with in room spa (2025). Very large and spacious with a great view of Los Arcos, downtown Cabo and beautiful sunsets. Trip was for my wife's 50th and they provided (at no cost) a bottle of wine, chocolate Bday cake and "towel" cake on our bed with balloons when we arrived. Nice touch!

The food was just "okay". A few of the restaurants require reservations so we made a reservation for the Steak House prior to our arrival (you can make one reservation before arriving). The meal was very disappointing. The steaks were not cooked as ordered and the quality of meat was fair. The "lobster" was even worse. Based on our experience, you would be better off eating at the buffet. However, one party brought their own fish and had the restaurant prepare and cook it for them. They said it was very good. We did not try any of the other restaurants during our stay.

Two very large pools with lots of lounge chairs. One was the quiet pool, while the other was the activity pool, depending on your likes/mood. Two smaller pools with swim up bars, plus two tiny wading pools. Grounds are very well kept, as well as most (but not all) of the resort. No poolside food service (one thing we always enjoy when staying in Mexico, so this was a huge disappointment). Pool towel system is burdensome - you get a towel card for each person upon check in. Turn in your card at the beginning of the day to get 1 towel per card. At the end of the day (or whenever you are done), turn in your towel to retrieve a towel card (after they record your room number into their log). Seems completely unnecessary.

There have been several reviews posted about room doors being left open by staff. Let me say, THIS IS COMPLETELY TRUE! We went with a small group and had 5 rooms in total. The first night we had dinner off site. Upon returning, one of our room's door was wide open (no one in site and luckily nothing stolen). Reported to hotel security. After reviewing the logs, they discovered that house keeping staff was the last person in the room before we returned from dinner. On third day, I returned to my room around noon to retrieve something and when I walked up, the door was wide open. (Based on reviews we religiously double checked doors when we left). I first assumed housekeeping was inside cleaning, but when I walked in, no one was in. Then I assumed the mini-bar person forgot to close door after refill minibar, but when I checked fridge, nothing had been replenished so they had not been to the room yet. Spoke to Victor, Security Director again. Bottom line, do not keep anything of value in your room. This appears to be a pervasive issue with this hotel (wether intentional or unintentional). Btw. I have noticed that some reviews posted on Trip Advisor mentioning this have been later removed (not sure if by poster or TA).

Fitness center - small, especially when you consider the size of the resort. I've stayed at hotels that are about 1/4 the size of this place with larger fitness centers. Minimal equipment that is aged and/or not working.

Wifi - low, slow and spotty. Available in room and lobby, but not poolside. Requires authentication (password they provide at check in). Re-authentification required several times per day (almost very time you wan to access Internet). Very inconvenient. The place is pretty much on lock down (outsiders not allowed) so not sure why they require password. It's not like the public is roaming around trying to steal free wifi.

Went to the nightclub (pancha) one night during stay. It was okay. Also saw two shows (Michael Jackson and Grease). Entertaining but campy. Something you'd expect on a cruise ship.

Going into downtown was quick, easy trip via cab (no shuttle service). Cost is either $3 or $4 per person depending on the number in your party with a minimum $12 charge. We went everyday so it added up quickly.

Airport Shuttle Service - according to hotel staff, you need to use a certain shuttle service (service provider varies depending on how you booked your stay - and the rates vary too). Although they tell you that you need to use a certain service, I believe you can use whomever you wish.

Good: room, views
Bad: food, security

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Joebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace for our honeymoon from 8/15-8/21 2013. I did a lot of research and found the Riu Palace to be a good fit for us. Some of the reviews warned about getting double booked and having to stay at the Riu Santa Fe next door. That didn't happen to us. We used Apple Vacations and they were great. The other thing people said were that the beds were too hard and the tvs were out dated. Our bed was great, we like a more firm mattress and the tv was a flat screen. We stayed in room 4116 with a great view of the ocean (we paid more for) if you are not on the 3rd or 4th floor you will have a hard time seeing the ocean.

Once you get into the airport, don't stop until you get outside and see an OFFICIAL Apple employee or whoever travel agent you have. There were two groups who try to get you to sign up for time-share deals - DON'T FALL FOR THESE, they are a trap, sounding too good to be true.

There are five restaurants at the RIU, our favorite was the buffet, you can get whatever you like there. The three nicer restaurants have better food, but you dont get much of a choice. My wife and I are not seafood eaters and that was half of the menue. After we would eat at the Nicer restaurants we would then go to the buffet and get more until we were full. You do need to sign up for the fancier restaurants at 7 am each morning if you want to eat there that night. The line starts at 7, so dont be late.

We did a dinner cruise - very nice, and a trip to Todos Santo, a small town where the Hotel California is (abourt an hour away, we had the guide all to our self). Our favorite was swimming with the dolphins in the Marina. It is a little pricey, but there is nothing like it. Dont bother buying a disposable waterproof camera, they wont let you bring anything in the marina except a towel and shoes. The weather was perfect and there are pleanty of things to do at the hotel. If you forget something, you can walk to the local Wal-mart, one mile away - 20 min walk. You can take a bus downtown for about $1.50 each way. Downtown is fun, a lot of American stores, and you can use the wi-fi at the Starbucks. That is what we did instead of paying extra at the hotel. We also had lunch at the Cabo Wabo, if you like Sammy Haggar, he plays there around his birthday in October.

All of the locals were friendly and you felt very safe, the police are everywhere and even small groups of soilders walk around keeping the peace. The exchange was 12 pessos per US dollar, and you can barter just about everywhere. Make sure you bring pleanty of $1 bills, for tipping, the locals do not like to make change, Wal-mart was a good place for making change if you need it. One thing about the rooms, if you leave the sliding glass door open the AC will not work. And we did not have any mold smells in our room (some reviews mentioned this), we did have a slight BO smell coming from our toilet, but it wasnt horrible and we did not try to change rooms.

Do not try to swim in the ocean, the waves can be 10-12 feet high and crash right on the shore, we saw a drunk guy almost die in the water. There are areas near the marina you can swim in or take a boat out further from shore.

Our honeymoon was great, and we would like to go back someday if possible. If you are thinking about a trip to Mexico, check out Cabo!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or forth floor with a view of the ocean - it was well worth it!!! Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Cabo and this place was amazing. We had a large group and the staff, people, and food were all worth this trip! We had Wi-Fi in the room which to us is a huge plus but it was very slow a few days and at times we couldn't connect so we just went to the lobby. The staff here are awesome and we truly could not have asked for better. We would recommend having your photos done on the beach by the photographer here!!! She was awesome and we have the best pictures/memories!! Highly recommend and would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the little extra here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyD570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
892 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
7,877 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort & Spa
Breathless Cabo San Lucas Resort...
#21 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing