We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Time and a Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Time and a Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I travel to Cabo San Lucas at least once a year, and usually stay at higher end resorts (I know that sounds snobby) but, we like luxury resorts, however, when you take 3 teenage kids with you, they can cost you a fortune! This year we decided to go to an "All Inclusive" so we would not have to stress about the cost every time the kids wanted a drink or food. The Riu Palace turned out to be the perfect choice for our family!
We booked through Expedia and had some problems upon check in with a rate quoted to us by them. I don’t think it was the Riu’s fault. We were tired and very frustrated with the confusion, when one of the managers named "Anna" (sorry I don't remember her last name) stepped up and took control of the situation and took care of us. A special thank you to her!
The resort is very nice and well maintained. We saw the staff constantly cleaning the place. The staff here are very friendly and very accommodating and they work very hard!!
JUST BECAUSE THIS IS AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT DOES NOT MEAN YOU SHOULD NOT TIP!! IF YOU CAN'T GIVE A BUCK OR TWO WHEN YOU GET A DRINK OR GET UP FROM YOUR TABLE AFTER A MEAL THEN YOU HAVE NO CLASS AT ALL!!!! I did not see many people tipping and these people work very hard for very little money!
Overall, I would recommend this resort for the good food, great staff and nice pools. It is a beautiful property with a great location which is close to downtown and Medano Beach. We really enjoyed the resort and the daily activities were fun too.
I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: If you can afford it go with the "Ocean Front" room with a view of land end! Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,849
    2,020
    710
    416
    321
See reviews for
1,138
2,867
66
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I had gone to Riu Palace in Cabos San Lucas for New Years Eve. We reserved a beautiful room that had two levels with a spiral staircase and a jacuzzi on the second floor outside overlooking the ocean. The hotel and the room were gorgeous there's no doubt about that. My complaint generally has to do with the way that the hotel is designed and the methods in which they respond to emergencies. I'll explain, the second floor had three steps up that led you to the jacuzzi. Those three steps and the whole floor surrounding the jacuzzi were covered with ceramic tiles. There were no banisters located on the stairs. So I'm sure you can imagine what happened...my husband and I were in the jacuzzi and when we got out of the jacuzzi to go downstairs to the room, I slipped going down the stairs which had no bannister to hold on to, and fell on the concrete floor below the stairs face first. I had a big gash and black and blue on my forehead and was bleeding profusely on my right elbow. My husband contacted the front desk to ask if there was a nurse or doctor on duty, the man replied that there was no nurse or doctor on duty. The man in the front desk told us that if we needed medical attention he can call a private doctor to come look at me and that we would incur the expense. At that point my husband asked the front desk to call the doctor and asked the man if he could provide him with the first aid kit in the meantime because my cut would not stop bleeding. The man at the front desk and the hotel manager told my husband that THERE WAS NO FIRST AID KIT IN THE WHOLE HOTEL!!! Can you believe that in a hotel in which so many children and families go to they don't even have a first aid kit. The manager said that he was willing to go to the store to buy me a bandaid if I wanted him to but it would take some time. We never got the bandaid and the doctor that the hotel called took four hours to show up. The doctor said that I needed 48 stitches and stitched me up with what looked like the hook that is attached to the end of the prosthetic arm of a pirate. The doctor was not very sanitary, I had to ask him to please wash his hands. The visit from the doctor cost my husband and I almost $900.00. I had to wear an arm brace and was taking penicillin, therefore, I could not have any cocktails for the remainder of the trip. When I got home, after a week or two, I paid a visit to my personal doctor so he can look at the wound and take out my stitches. My doctor had told me that it had not healed yet because it was stitched incorrectly and had to take out the stitches and re-stitch my elbow once again. The whole process was very painful and a nightmare. I will NEVER GO TO A RIU PALACE RESORT AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHK3078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had booked this hotel months back for a multi-family vacation. After booking we read several reviews mentioning theft issues. Knowing this ahead of time we came ready and prepared to avoid this at all costs. We still brought computer, I pad and cell phones but planned on hiding them very well in the room. We never used the safe on purpose due to the numerous theft issues with the safe.

Our first day was without a hitch- welcoming staff- we had a suite and they are beautiful and right on the beach. The room had musty/mildew smell in it but it didn't bother us too much after being in there awhile. The rooms are very large and come with a fridge full of cold water and beer. The bottled liquor in your room is watered down and low end brands but you can rectify that by just doubling what you normally drink. Also the pool bar drinks are weak, but just ask for doubles or a float of this or that on top and it will take care of all those issues.
We did not eat in the hotel this night as we had a special dinner at Mona Lisa's down the road- I highly recommend this as a special dinner. Beautiful outdoor seating on cliffs over looking the sea as the sunset. Amazing ambiance and food. Well worth it!!

2nd day we ate breakfast in the buffet area- pretty decent food, something for everyone. Some things just taste different being in a different country and you have to account for that. Lunch was more of the same- things are pretty standard and don't wow you but it gets the job done and works for most people. Dinner on the other hand was another story. We had reservations at the Steak place which is the same place they serve lunch at. They give you 3 choices for an entrée and most of us chose the steak and lobster. I don't know what kind of meat they were using but it was prime. The lobster was a joke. It was dried up and no bigger than 3 inches is size. No drawn butter was provided to try and rehydrate it back to life. We all pretty much said this was the worst meal we have ever eaten.

When returning back to our suite our door was wide open, despite the fact we had the "Red do not disturb card" on the door. Thank god we hid things very well and did not put anything in the safe as nothing was missing. We called security and they apologized but said the manager was not in and he would contact us in the morning. We were pro active and went down to see Victor and he came up to our room with his head of security to use his machine that shows when the room has been entered with the card. Sure enough someone had come in at 9:37 pm from the housekeeping crew even with the red card on the door. He apologized profusely and assured us he would speak to housekeeping to ensure they did not come into our room. Based on the continuous reports of this happening there is something internal going on and Victor must either look the other way or be a part of the problem.

3rd day it rained really hard and we had a pool of water in our room near the window and couch area so large we had to move all the furniture and call housekeeping to come and clean it up. Now we know why the musty smell is in the room.

As the week went on we determined that this hotel does fine for their buffet meals, but their specialty meals miss the mark dramatically so we chose as a group to eat our dinners in town and so we only ate one dinner the rest of the week in the hotel and that was buffet which was good.

On our 4th day there my brother came back to his room with his door wide open like ours, but again nothing was missing because of our very secretive hiding places and locked baggage. This time Victor said he there was no incident of housekeeping being in the room.

The hotel itself is beautiful and well manicured. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. We determined the hotel is still a great value if you just use it as a hotel for breakfast and lunch and eat out for dinners.

I highly recommend Pancho's, Mi Casa and for an extra special occasion Edith's( about $100 -per person but we all claimed it a "Prison Meal") soooo good.

It's too bad they don't get a handle on their security issues as it is a beautiful hotel, but we will not be back as there are other hotels were you don't have to worry about someone coming into your room. This is not an isolated incident.

Room Tip: The suites are worth it- very large and right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeattleSunSeeker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I had a great time at Riu Palace, After Riu Santa Fe ruined our day, the sent us to Riu Palace, everybody was so nice, great service, our room had great view of ocean and pool, great stay. Staff was friendly, they told us how to get around town without paying too much money, on my birthday they prepare a table with balloons for my family and me. They even brought me cake. So nice

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I usually don't write reviews but after my wonderful visit to st Maarten and visit to riu caribe I feel a need to. My stay was in October 2012, I loved staying here at Riu Palace Los Cabos, the resort is very beautiful. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, the landscape and groundsi are beautiful and well kept. The rooms are old but I love the wood work and the rooms were kept very clean so not a problem. The food at the restaurant was very good and you can go use the families next door at Santa Fe as well as eat at the buffets. The specialty restaurants were great and food delicious. We got reservations for all of them. The steak house was my favorite. We made one reservation for Krystal before our arrival via email and it was granted. You have to get downstairs by 7am to make other reservations for specialty restaurant or you can just go to the buffet. I have nothing bad to say about Riu Los Cabos and plan to visit again. We went ziplining, however I wouldn't recommend unless you are very fit for the hiking. The clubs downtown were very nice, however we couldn't get into Cabo Wabo cause they had something special going on. I only hate I didn't register my info so I could receive pts as the riu has become my home away from home. I wish you could send some of your staff to Riu caribe to show them how to treat your clients (family) when they visit. Thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at the Riu Palace Cabo July 27-31 and it was better than I ever expected. This was my first time going to Cabo but I've stayed at many Rius in the past. This was such a great destination and resort. We were originally booked at the Riu Sante Fe but a few days before our arrrival we upgraded to the Palace. Im so glad we did!! We got free wifi and higher grade alcohol. The food was better than expected, the service was friendly and the resort is gorgeous!

Room Tip: The hotel as an active side and a quiet side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have stayed here 6 times; last visit in April 2013. Money stolen from our safe. Here are the facts:
** Arrived late afternoon. Put all our valuables away in the safe & wore the infamous safe key around our necks as we always do. Went down by the pool. This was around 4:00 p.m.
** Came up at 5:40 in the afternoon and saw that our bed was turned down for the evening. In all our years of travel, never have we had our bed turned down for the evening this early.
** Accessed our safe - money was missing.
** Spoke with Victor in Security - he isolated the fact that an entry was made into our room by housekeeping at 5:21 in the afternoon.
** I asked Victor why Housekeeping would access our room at 5:21 p.m. to turn our bed down for the evening - isn't this strange? He would not comment or acknowledge anything strange about this.
** Also asked Victor why the pool hut asks for the room number every time you want a towel. This is a sure fire way to let staff know you are out of your room. He seemed surprised by this practice.

- We had $$$ stolen. Victor the Security Manager treated this with apathy.
- We asked to be moved to another room - he proceeded to give us defective rooms: 1 with a broken sliding glass door latch, and 1 with another key safe (after our theft, we asked for an electronic safe).
- Middle management was surprised by Victor's mismanagement of this issue.

There are many options in Cabo. We will not return to the Riu. We've heard of theft by others on this board, and now have experienced it as well. In all cases, Management mismanages the situation with apathy & neglect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PalmTreeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,474 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
9.0 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Res...
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing