We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool area, not so much for beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pool area, not so much for beach”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a quick trip to escape winter. Hotel is huge, the open-air lobby is gorgeous and looks out to the ocean. It's well-maintained and we saw staff doing touch-up painting in the hallways while we were there. Room was large, nothing amazing, but nice. Bathroom had some ventilation issues (no fan) and the shower had dark tile and felt a little bit like a cave. But honestly those were pretty small things. Nice to be able to pour drinks in the room and help yourself to items from the fridge.
There are 2 different pool areas, both with swim-up bars. The pools are lovely, but the beach wasn't great. Sand was pebbly. This is Cabo, not the Carribbean, so need to calibrate expectations that it's not going to be white powder and turquoise water. There are a few different theme restaurants that require reservations. It's a little annoying that they expect you to get up early to stand in line at the front desk to make a dinner reservation. Overall buffet food was fine. Pretty standard as far as all-inclusive hotel food goes. The staff did a good job of restocking and keeping things clean in the restaurants.
We did walk to downtown Cabo one day but it was a little bit of a trek there and back.
Bottom line: We were looking for sunshine, drinks, and relaxation. We didn't care about partying in Cabo or really doing anything else. If you just want to relax and get away, this resort is great.
(I will caveat that I'm very delayed in writing this review, so some things could have changed since we've been there.)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laxord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,917
    2,072
    737
    429
    332
See reviews for
1,183
2,948
66
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had an amazing week here. Staff is lovely, food is incredible, views are gorgeous - I could go on forever. The beach outside the hotel is quiet and a great place to escape and have a moment to yourself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hilamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The wife and I went to Cabo December 14-19, 2013. The place is beautiful and safe. Looks desert-like but has mountains and beaches which makes the views incredible. We stayed at the RIU Palace and as usual, they always meet their 5 start expectations. The rooms are just like at any other RIU palace, stocked with liquor, beer and soda/water. The grounds are kept in great condition and their bars and pool are great. The pool could have been a little warmer since it was about 75 there during the day but no complaints. Their staff are friendly and will leave you alone if you are looking to relax and chill out. Even though the beaches are safe, you can still swim at your own risk or just lay in the sand and relax. The food there is a little redundant but what can you expect when going to an all inclusive resort (endless food though, will never be hungry). As for the city life, we went to the casino and marina area to walk around, safe and no one will bother you. We did have to take a taxi back and forth but that's expected. There is late-night hang out spot in the downtown marina area but we didn't make it there after hanging out and drinking all day. There is a club located on the resort but it was fairly quiet since most of the people were either sleeping or out. I'd like to give a shout out to Sebastian, our Orbitz tour guide scheduler person. He's extremely polite and friendly, and will help if there are any questions. Go America (Mexican soccer club)!! I miss Cabo and want to go back ASAP, and would recommend Cabo to anyone. It really is a great place.

Room Tip: High room floor, this way you can see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The staff are extremely nice, and accommodating. The food was good, the pool was warm. The beach does a big drop off and the water is to rough to swim in but it is beautiful and you can stare at it from the infinity pools!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlipovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautiful Hotel ,clean,inviting,nice ocean front view that we had requested,people were very nice all day long, day after day with a smile at all times.Service at the pool side very good,in. The morning I got our towels,picked a nice area,than I went for breakfast outdoors,of course,the buffet was fantastic,everything that your heart desired it was there,morning,lunch,dinner.All the staff from the entrance to the exit spoke perfect English.The wheatear was also perfect,in the morning 58 -60also in evening the same,during the day beautiful blue blue sky,no humidity at all ,I asked them if this is all year long?no,between April and November gets up to high 90ths or more wth lots of humidity,so We recommend first week of Januarie,like we did, we left on the 1 st for 10 days,Paradise,I do hope that you experience it,enjoy!!!'nnn

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Four of us just got back from our trip from the Riu.
This Is my second time here and we had another great time! We had a few issues with the rooms the first night but kinda new it could happen considering they were at capacity. It all got worked out the next morning. New Years eve was great the buffet was awesome fire works and drinks and music , what more could you ask for?
Staff was always accomadating for us and really made this a great trip. Our family really enjoyed the specialty Restraunts , I read alot of reviews on how bad they can be but really we thought they were great. And at not one time did we have any problems booking them. They even accomadated my parents when someone cancelled so they could go to krystal a cpl times.
The Beds are hotel beds we slept fine and had no issues with room service or attendents. Our room was always spotless when we got back and nothing was ever missing from any of our rooms. Maids were always friendly and helpful if you needed anything. The pools were great yes it does suck that you have to reserve a chair and the towel cards could go but these are all things that are well posted before you get there so no complaints here. Manual at the quiet pool bar was awesome and made sure we were always takin care of as well as Esmeralda in the Sports bar exstreamly nice lady and always makes sure you are okay. Yes we did tip probably more then we should but I have no issues tipping to someone who works there but off and deffinatly deserves it. And either way you get served but the extra tip for these people that work so hard to make your vacation good goes a long way:-)
I think my one complaint was that it was really hard to get bailys for our room for coffee in the morning and that is one thing that we maybe should have just bought a bottle. Other then that we had a great time.
We were in rooms 4003 and 2002 and they were both great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 02Kcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week long stay here and loved it. Very few negatives to speak of.
Arrival: Beware of the timeshare sharks at the airport. After customs and immigration you enter a round room without the exit clearly marked and everyone telling you they are coordinating your transportation....all lies. Keep walking through the unmarked sliding doors..then you enter another room of timeshare salesmen...keep walking..your rides will be outside the airport. Travel to the hotel takes about 40 minutes and you are welcomed with a cold drink and quickly checked in.
Rooms: Very nice. We booked a partial ocean view room and it was as advertised. Yes there is a slightly musty smell that people seem to complain about. It's not bothersome, I found it in any tropical destination. If you don't want the smell, go to Alaska...I've been there and you won't have any problems there ;).
Staff: The stars of the place. They work extremely hard for long hours and are always friendly and helpful. To the reviewer that stated they only give good service for tips, I assure you that is untrue. I always tip a dollar or two but witnessed many others that received the same wonderful service without leaving anything.
Food: To the reviewer that stated that 98% of their wedding party found the food terrible...that is complete bunk that you are making up. For the price you pay (not $4000 per person per week) it is absolutely fantastic. Always lots of choices: fish, beef, vegetables, fruit, vegetarian, fresh smoothies, sushi, pasta, pizza, fresh made Mexican tacos...etc And always tasty. The Mexican night and Sushi night at the Buffet were excellent. I had about 6lbs of tuna tataki myself (not really). The lunch buffet is a little chaotic.
Pool: We always spent some time around the pool everyday and enjoyed it. Wow...could use a little more heat in both the pools. Certainly cooled you off. People reserving prime chairs with towels and never showing up is annoying to no end. I guarantee I am going to start using my passive aggressive side on my next trip and removing a few towels.
Drinks: Good with fast service. Tip: either ask for brands like Bacardi and you won't get the cheap stuff. Orrrrr put a crowbar in your wallet and give them a dollar once in a while...you will get it without asking.
Internet: Our only real downside. Very frustrating. It would work for 5 minutes and then go down. Or you would have to continually enter your password.
Guests: (out of resorts control) Generally nice and well behaved but wow..there are some rude ignorant people who expect wayyy too much for what they paid...treating some of the amazing staff very poorly...enough said.

Overall a great stay and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Bobo5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#41 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,649 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Cabo San Lucas - Colonia El Medano - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing