We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Serivce with a Beautiful View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Serivce with a Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We loved this resort. Stay on the Palace side and avoid the loud partiers on the other side. We did and were able to kick back and relax. Rooms were a little dated but no bugs, cracks or anything broken so we didn't have anything to complain about. The people that worked there couldn't have tried any harder to make sure we were being taken care of. They went above and beyond to make sure we didn't need anything. Pools were awesome with lots of chairs so you don't have to wake up super early just to find claim your spot. The food was OK. The breakfast buffet and the sushi place was awesome but everything else was very bland. Left us wanting something else so we ventured off the resort down to the marina to eat at one of the local places which was great. Also went deep sea fishing and caught 3 HUGE blue marlin and the resort offered to cook up whatever we caught. We loved this place and would definitely come back and bring our young daughter.

Room Tip: ask for a room that you can view the Lands End Arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,849
    2,020
    710
    416
    321
See reviews for
1,138
2,867
66
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I give credit when credit is needed and this place is absolutely wonderful. The staff are great. Let's start with the room it was nice & cleaned every single day no complaints hands down, the pool entertainment was great Lorena, Nora, Jonas, Arron, Sergio & Aiden were phenomenal they were always happy & spontaneous what was not to love about them, from the morning till the late shows were great. The food was delicious the waiters were great Colon was our waiter every night one day it took & he had our drinks down pack breakfast, lunch & dinner, yes even the buffet food was great. My husband & I have been to Cabos for the last 4 years alone & this year we brought the kids & they also loved it, I have a 15 yr old & she loved playing volleyball everyday. Well my 9year old was barely with us she just loved loved the kids club Angela was just superb with her I mean she will sit with her & have lunch as a one on one encounter, she was just great! YOU ALL HAVE TO EXPERIENCE OUR EXPERIENCE WAS AN UNFORGETTABLE ONE!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The place just doesn't deliver, it's very average, food is very bland and the service is not very good. We got there and the room wasn't ready and when we got to the room it wasn't clean. I was disappointed overall with this place because I read all of the positive reviews but the negative reviews are spot on. The A/C really didn't work, but the staff argued with that it was working properly, we had bugs in the room and we were in the suite. The customer service from the staff was just bad, they were rude and I think it's because this resort seems to be a popular spot for bikers and other lower income people that want to say they went to Cabo.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited this resort in the summer of (end of May, beginning of June) 2012 and had a great time. I will say that the weather surprised us though. There was one night that it was so chilly I had to buy a sweatshirt from the gift shop! You definitely had to wait for the sun to come up before you would want to get in the pool as it was a little cold. The beach was beautiful but it wasn't recommended that you swim because of the high tide. The pools made up for that though. I will say that we brought our own floaties from home and I'm glad we did. The rooms were nice and the staff was great. The views of the grounds and beach from the hotel were amazing. One night we went and visited the sister resort and really enjoyed that. Misaki, the Asian restaurant was by far the best. I wish we would've visited that one twice. The only food we didn't really care from was the snack bar food on the second floor of the main building. Seemed like a lot of other people like it though. My sister and I got a massage and it was very relaxing. We are definitely interested in visiting other RIU resorts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKstate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I am currently staying at the hotel. The room has a mildew smell, so I called the front desk. They refused to help us in the situation. Our so has asthma, so we requested to change rooms. They stated that they can send a doctor, but the expenses would not be covered. They said we could not switch rooms either, therefore, we are stuck in a situation because the supervisors are even unwilling to help. I wish there was someone to contact to help us with the situation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I must say this hotel is by far the best hotel I've stayed with my family. I always see people cleaning, the staff is amazing the kids club is the best. The entertainment staff were great, always happy and cheerful. I myself am a shy person but they made me feel comfortable enough to even participate in pool activities. I strongly advise anyone traveling with family or friend to visit the Riu Palace. You will not be disappointed. Best hotel yet thus far. I truly have no negative comment for this resort. From room service, food and night and day entertainment everything was great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egarcia517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you're planning for a vacation in Mexico, I highly recommend Riu Palace in Cabo San Lucas.
There are 7 restaurants to choose from, 2 steak houses, 2 buffets, Italian, Mexican and Japanese food. We tried all restaurants and they are good quality and best taste overall. You need to make reservation in the morning for the steak and lobster restaurant as it is very popular.
All kinds of drinks are free from you're dining table to the two swimming pools. There are waiters ready to serve you with a smile. No tipping required.
It's a good value for your money. You will be pampered with clean beddings everyday, all meals are cooked for you, good liquor, beer or ladies drinks. You can have sandwiches and soft drinks all ready if you go on picnic or go boating on outer islands. Or to get on early flight home.

Room Tip: Ocean view are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jun143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#36 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,474 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
9.0 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Res...
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing