We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay, wish could change some things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We usually travel to the Caribbean, and stay at Sandals properties. However, coming from California, the travel portion eats your time and sanity. So we opted for the Riu Palace in Cabo. It was a great stay, with some likes & dislikes. But defiintely would return again.

Accomodations: Rooms are nice, beds hard like everyone says. If you're looking for something just steps away from the beach, this isn't it. The property is large & rooms are set way back.

Pool Areas: Well designed, really nice. Only complaint: both swim-up bar pools needed more water chemical maintenance - the pool water was gross, did not want to go in.

Bars: The Ventana bar is the best! View is unbeatable, Luis the bartender is tops! All the bars were well situated and designed nicely. Luis the bartender manager is also tops - loved is 007 impersonation!

Beach: As everyone has said, definitely too rough for swimming. But again - the view is unbeatable.

Food: I'll say fair to good. Our only complaint: The restaurant system. Aside from the lousy reservation system (well commented on by others), it was the fact that they had prescribed seatings. So there wasn't any atmosphere with dinner, any lingering or conversation, too impersonal. We felt rushed.. You couldn't just show up. The Sandals comparison: Sandals takes reservations thoughout the evening, no set seating times. On restauarants without reservations, you can just show up whenever you want. That's what we missed with the Riu. But hey - Riu charges far less per night, so if you wanted to go out for an evening for dinner, no problem. To that point: one evening we dined at the Sunset Mona Lisa - an absolute must ! The best food, best sunset scenery! Truly a memorable evening.

Entertainment: The evening band was good, but they needed to change their songs or even the band itself for variety. Also, the band was situated upon a high balcony-type stage - too impersonal. Okay, here's the true gem: At the Ventana bar from 6:00 to 8:00 - Elizabeth the singer-pianist. Get a martini (or whatever you like) and just chill in a seat listening to her. Ella's music was the best part of the trip for us.

Staff - the friendlest staff - great people.

Knowing now what to expect, we would definitely return. But would wish the Riu would change their restaurant system and abolish the seatings for a good dining experience.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PalmTreeAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,383 - 4,389 of 6,732 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

We just returned from a trip to Cabo from 10/14-10/17. First off, our travel agent Melissa with Berman Travel was awesome! I was working to plan a wedding in Cabo which is where this trip was derived from...my plan was to go do a wedding venue investigation. So from the get go, Melissa was super helpful and fun to work with. We scratched the wedding idea so this trip became a leisure trip to celebrate my fiance's 40th b-day. When we arrived in our room, it had been decorated with b-day items (thank you Melissa) which was a very nice surprise. So I'll try to make this review to the point and simple. PROS The hotel was super clean and the staff very friendly and attentive. I felt like the location was great if you were looking to be fairly close to downtown but not in the middle of it. We did not experience a loud party crowd, so we were able to achieve the relaxation we were interested in. There was an entertainment staff during the day, although we didn't see much participation from guests. There are two pools, so even if the "activity pool" was hopping, you could go to the other side where the quiet pool is. There was also nightly entertainment but we did not choose to attend so I can't speak to the quality. The beach is super clean, but not swimmer friendly in our area. We took a water taxi over to see the arch and beach then onto the marina, highly recommend that. We did a zipline tour with Canopy Costa Azul, I recommend the variety this tour provides and the quality, very fun staff. CONS The only person on staff that we did not enjoy working with was the restaurant reservationist. She was not very friendly OR helpful. If you are interested in making restaurant reservations, do it prior to arrival (only 2 restaurants allow advance reservations). We were told they were all booked only to see that the restaurants looked pretty empty. Honestly, after making it to one reservation restaurant Saturday night, it wasn't really worth the fuss. We also asked her about making a reservation at Ruth Chris for us and she told us they were booked. We took a taxi into town to find out ourselves, and walked right in. Not sure what that was all about. The food is pretty descent for Mexico, but go with the right expectations. The other con for us was the moonlight couples massage we had on Saturday night. The concept and location were nice (private terrace overlookiing the beach) but the quality of massages were just not that great. We didn't walk away feeling like we had had a professional massage. So that's it...Berman Travel rocks and I would recommend the Riu Palace.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angzdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We had a great time at this all inclusive. Most time was spent in the relaxing quiet pool, with endless drinks being served. The surf was rough, but like most reviews say, you could go just down the beach if you wanted to swim. We chose to stay out of the sea and instead took excursions. We were able to to do the zip line tour through "Cabo Adventures" booked in the hotel lobby. It was wonderful, and the tour guides were awesome. If you want to go fishing for Dorado(Mahi Mahi), I recommend going downtown to the marina and catching a boat there. You can get a much cheaper price then going though the hotel. You'll have to go early(6-7am) as that's when the best fishing is. Be sure to take lots of sunscreen and cash. Sunscreen is gold down there and the closest place to get American dollars is a 30 min walk(one way) or a $20 cab ride to Wal-Mart and finding the only ATM that gives American dollars is a pain!
The hotel staff was awesome, always cleaning and smiling. We tried every eatery and enjoyed Crystals and Misaki the most, although many people have said they loves the steakhouse, we were not impressed. Our only complaint is that we wanted to be on the quiet side, which we were, but were roomed 2 floors above the disco tech. Every night from 11-2am we heard the loud music thumping. We're by no means ol' folks, but we liked to go to bed early and enjoy the morning hours.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittypawz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Me and the wife decided to check out Cabo during it's off season at the end of September after all the kids went back to school. I would recommend the Riu Palace in Cabo hands down. I had so much fun. The staff is always friendly and everywhere you look they are cleaning things. They take care of the place, If they offered me a job there I would take it. Loved the food, scenery, and the location to get to the heart of the town. It is a 35 - 45 minute ride from the airport. So you never hear the planes. I did some fishing there and it was a blast. I sat thru two 60min time share seminars to get a free 5 hour fishing trip on a boat all to myself. It was worth it. To rent a boat there is between $350.00 to $450.00 for the day. Five hours is plenty of time since you'll be exposed to the hot sun. Down side of the hotel is the way you have to book the restaurant of your choice and the availability.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gringo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The resort's photos are so deceiving. This is a HUGE place, which makes it impersonal and a bit cumbersome to navigate. The rooms are dingy, the beds extremely uncomfortable, and WORST OF ALL--they smell of MILDEW & SMOKE! I checked multiple rooms and they all did. Upon arriving home, our baggage made our entire home smell of the rank place. The clientele at the resort on a whole is classless. The staff is extremely unorganized and not too helpful. My key card became deactivated, so I asked for a new one at the front desk and was given a key to a different room...not too safe! Oh, and the food is no bueno, amigo. BOO RIU.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30beachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed here during off-season, Nov 2009, for 10 days. The resort is well maintained and staff is helpful. For an all-inclusive, the food is above par, very delicious and the best part is that its all-inclusive. For 10 days straight, I didn't worry about where I was going to eat, how much would it cost, or if it would be good. I woke up, had breakfast, laid out all day, had lunch, had drinks, then had dinner. Every night their is a show which is pretty entertaining. For what its worth, if you need to get away and want to stay in budget, this is definitely the way to go.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yougotmyemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the RIU Palace in Cabo San Lucas for our honeymoon. We had absolutely gorgeous weather the entire week - 80 degrees and above. The hotel, beginning with our entry in the main lobby is stunning. We were served drinks while we were waiting in line to check in at the hotel. We were very impressed with our room; it was gorgeous, spacious, and very clean. We had an ocean view room that looked out over the gardens of the resort and it was one of the most gorgeous views, especially at sunset. Our room was very quiet, I never heard anything from adjoining rooms or the hallway. There are 2 pools - a quiet and a "party" pool. We started the week at the quiet pool and loved it. The pools are warm and crystal clear. There are plenty of loungers available for everyone and plenty of umbrellas. Waiters check on you all the time to see if you need drinks (you'll never go without as long as you want one!). The pools are right on the beach so the view is amazing. From the pool deck you can see the famous arch of Cabo. We switched to the party pool after we made some friends with other honeymooners and we played water volleyball and did water aerobics. These are both really fun and a great way to meet other people. The nightly entertainment is a bit cheesy, but fun to watch. Some of the restaurants and the lunch buffet were a little disappointing, but still fairly good. I am a very picky eater and I always was full, so that says a lot. The Japanese restaurant is in my opinion the best. Breakfast was always great, with plenty of choices. My husband and I both wished that there was authentic Mexican food. The staff here is amazing - we had the same waiter every morning at breakfast and he remembered our names and drinks (smoothies!) and brought them to us. He started every day out great for us and we generously tipped him at the end of the week. We lost our keys almost every other day (we wore swimsuits all day, no place to put keys!) and the staff gave us new ones without a hassle. We did do a couple of excursions (shopping in Cabo, Baja Buggys, and snorkeling), but otherwise stayed at the resort and had the most relaxing vacation of our lives. I would absolutely recommend this to other honeymooners or couples!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthompson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
955 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa la Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
#42 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
7,958 reviews
9.1 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose, km 4.5 | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £200 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 692
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing