We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Estupendo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Estupendo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

My husband and I are lucky enough to travel a good deal and stay in some of the highest rated hotels in the world, and I strongly believe that Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has earned its reputation of being one of the best hotels in Mexico. The grounds are gorgeous, the atmosphere is beyond peaceful and the service is excellent across the board.

A few things of note:
-The Pueblo Bonita Pacifica is a brief and inexpensive cab ride from the Marina/Centro (10 minutes; 10-12 USD) and based on questionable road markings, narrow streets, a strong desire to have a few strong margaritas in town with dinner, a shuttle that runs every half hour, etc, I personally see no need for a rental car when staying at this property.
-As others outline, the beach is not swimmable based on undertow and current dangers, but the pools are wonderful and a shuttle will take you to a sister hotel with a swimmable beach (but my guess is the kid noise, crowds and vendors may have you running right back to The Pacifica).
-The food is very good, IF you stay away from the "American" menu items (ex, burgers and pizzas). The tacos, tortilla soup, ceviches, etc are all wonderful.
-Guests from the sister hotels come and use the outdoor facilities during to the day, but are generally mindful of the spa atmosphere (hushed tones, no yapping loudly into cell phones to brokers/assistants/etc) and when that peace is a broken, a few well placed looks implying "you're harshing my mellow" seems to do the trick and quiet down "offenders".
-When it comes to the prices off food and drink, which many have called high in their reviews, I disagree. The prices are less expensive than any of the countless other 4/12-5 star hotels I've stayed at and with room rates being so reasonable for the quality of the property, the value of a stay at the Pueblo Bonito Pacifica is extremely high - not the prices.
-The spa is small, but the treatments are great - leave time for a eucalyptus steam and/or a soak in the hot and cold tubs pre or post treatment(s).
-It is a non-smoking property, but if you like the occasional cigarette (like me), you are welcome to enjoy one on the beach while staring out at the Pacific.
-The rooms are "cozy" but extremely comfortable - especially for Mexico. Pillow top beds and crisp linens brought us great nights of sleep (take advantage of the pillow menu - it's a game changer). If you are planning to spend a good deal of time in your room (working, etc) a suite may be a good call so you have the needed space to stretch out, but if you are like us and will spend most of your time outdoors, go for the standard room.
-To enhance your view, ask for a standard room on the 4 floor - all the suites are on the 5th floor.
-The time share thing - no matter what you're told, it is longer than 90 minutes. If you want the credit, just plan for extra time (we have been to this hotel before, but this is the first time we participated in the "timeshare viewing" - we wanted a peek at the villas, which are absolutely gorgeous and we would consider renting with a group of friends (3 bedrooms), but not "buying".

You can't miss with this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hLyellp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBPacifica, General Manager, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful and insightful review and your visit to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica. I am happy to read that you had a chance to experience our award winning Spa treatment; we often get good reviews on that. You are welcome to visit us back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    818
    275
    121
    77
See reviews for
270
2,344
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

You will not find a better hotel in Cabo San Lucas than the Pacifica. It has the best of both worlds. It is very close to town ( a five minute cab or shuttle ride) for restaurants and shopping but it is on the Pacific Ocean side and is very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Cabo. There are no children allowed so it is an oasis of peace and quiet. Others have mentioned that the Ocean is not safe to swim in here, but to clarify, that is because there is a serious undertow NOT because the water is unclean. You have miles of pure white sand and a gorgeous beach a few steps from the hotel. You can take lovely walks on the beach and see no one ! This perfect pristine location may not stay this way forever because Ritz Carlton is starting to build a hotel and residences nearby and they will probably access this same beach. So enjoy it now. Also the hotels rooms are all oceanfront and have stellar views of this drop dead gorgeous coastline.

We chatted with many of the other guests during our stay and 100% of them said they would come back to the Pacifica. This was our 2nd visit but not our last.

The staff is absolutely the best as they have all been trained to do whatever it is to make the guests happy. For example, my husband wanted to watch a football playoff game and it was only on satellite (not cable). The only place to see it was in the wine bar which does not open until 3pm. The game started at 1:30 so they opened and staffed the wine bar just for him so he could watch the game. The staff is super friendly and will go out of their way to make your vacation perfect. They call you in the room each day to see if you need anything !

Two fantastic restaurants we found this time: Maria Corona on 16 September street in town. Wonderful authentic Mexican fare, lovely dining room, excellent 3 piece band, family owned and operated, very reasonably priced. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Also enjoyed Maro's shrimp house. It's a hole in the wall but the lobster dinner is incredibly fresh and delicious and so inexpensive. (See all the reviews on Trip advisor Cabo restaurants).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thesurfmeetstheturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

my husband and i just returned from a five night stay at the pueblo bonito pacifica and are missing it already. gorgeous hotel and landscaping. overwhelmingly helpful, kind and attentive staff who all speak flawless english. large, spotlessly clean rooms with plenty of amenities. beautiful pools. beautiful beach (though the water is unsafe to swim in, we didn't miss it for a second!). drinks are well-made, good and strong. food is pretty good, as far as resort fare goes. spa is gorgeous - STRONGLY recommend the 4 hands massage ... precision like a water ballet!!

so ... pros:
-this time of year they say they run at only 30-40% occupancy, which translates to basically having the place to yourself.
-beautiful isolated resort, close to town but a world away from the bustle of the partying on the beach
-decent to pretty darn good food, well-made drinks, attentive service.
-free shuttle to their sister hotels in downtown cabo via the pueblo bonito sunset hotel
-adults only environment is lovely!

cons:
-beds are hard and pretty uncomfortable. the pillows they initially offer are like bricks. DEF go through the pillow menu. much better night sleep after that
-the whole "time share" thing in cabo can quickly begin to grate on one's nerves. pacifica offers $250 in hotel credits and a free buffet breakfast for "two hours" of your time listening to the sales spiel for their own time share at pueblo bonita sunset beach. worth the time just for the credits but kind of a "hard sell" kind of atmosphere that turned into over 3 hours when the guy just wouldn't take no for an answer.

all in all, i would DEF return to this hotel if/when we returned to cabo. most everything about it was perfect for the quiet, romantic get-away that we wanted. and even the "cons" were no big deal.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lenab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Can't use the beach but who needs to. Hire a driver to get you around. We rented a Hummer but they tried to rip us off at the gas station. Hotel is excellant, Spa was wonderful, did massage, facial, pedicure, all services unbelievable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at the Pacifica and were blown away! I have to say that any pictures posted do not do justice to this resort. From the rooms to the pool, to the service and the beach, everything about the Pacifica far exceeded our expectations! Being avid Trip Advisor readers, we did our research on this resort. And, I have to say, we were carefully optimistic going into our stay. Upon arrival, however, we knew that any apprehension was unnecessary! The ambiance begins immediately with check-in - Lavender aromas fill the lobby and instantly relax any weary traveler. Rooms are out to impress. This was one of the MOST comfortable beds out there! Make sure you check out the "pillow menu"... there is a pillow to meet any and all sleep preferences.

The only other experience we have had in Cabo was the Hilton Los Cabos a few years ago. Honestly, the Pacifica was far superior in our opinion. Adults-only was a big contributor to this rating. I f you are looking for a family vacation, the Pacifica is not for you. The pools and beaches were pretty quiet. However, there were activities if you wanted. Sunrise yoga and noontime water aerobics were standard. Not to mention daily activities such as poker, blackjack, wine tastings and cooking demonstrations. This place can accommodate just about any need, except maybe the late night party animal!

Finding a chair by the pool was not a challenge if you weren't picky about where you were sitting. There were guests who got up EARLY to get their preferred seat but we would rather sleep in and take our chances! Beach seating was always available!

Breakfast, lunch and drinks by the pool did not disappoint! Service was great! We chose to venture to town for dinners....highly recommend Hacienda del Coyote...food was good, margaritas strong and ambiance was enchanting! We went there twice in 3 nights!

I went to the gym one day...if you are a work-out nut, it is adequate. Treadmills, eliptical machines, free weights and a decent selection of other machines. There was someone on duty (I assume a "personal trainer") while I was there. They did not charge for the first visit but, as I understood, each subsequent visit was US $10.

One of the highlights of our trip was the ride to and from the airport with Arturo, proprietor of Trans Lobo. He picked us up at the airport, Coronas and water waiting on ice! A wealth of entertainment and information, the 45 minute ride flew by! If traveling with a group, we would highly recommend contacting Arturo. His prices are equal or better for groups of 5 or more and the experience can't be beat. Arturo is a former concierge in Cabo and, therefore, is a wealth of information on the area. From restaurant or sightseeing recommendations to local secrets, he is your man!

All in all, I wish we were able to stay longer! Relaxation and tranquility abound at the Pacifica!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank buckeye3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

pueblo bonito was the PERFECT place to spend vacation! flew into cabo and bypassed all the people trying to get us on their shuttles/timeshare presentations and went straight outside. you can get the shuttles outside for about $20pp (private cabs cost $70-80). takes about an hour or 1.25hrs to get to the resort, which is on its own strip of beach on the other side of cabo. the pool is warm & relaxing, the poolside chairs VERY comfortable, plenty of umbrellas, and yes--the shrimp tacos are really damned good. our room was very nice--on the smaller side but it did have a view of the ocean. you can request specific types of pillows (orthpedic or feather pillows etc). the hotel also has a turtle conservation program--they collect/protect any turtle eggs that are laid, and when they hatch they allow you to help release the babies at sunset. sunsets are beautiful. dinner is pretty good at siempre. breakfasts are quite good, too--had the papaya pancakes and banana french toast several times, and they have agua frescas, too. husband had the huevos rancheros which was also tasty. went to town one night to change things up, but cabo was kind of rundown from what we saw, and did not always feel particularly safe. timeshare presentation was definitely worth it--about $200 in credits toward food and/or spa. only cons to this place are 1) shuttle timing is quite poor--leave pacifica at 15min after the hour, takes you to their sister hotel the sunset (takes 5mins), but then you wait another 40mins to take the free shuttle to their other sister hotel rose (takes 30min), which is downtown. 2) limited dining options at this resort. other than that, definitely loved this place. will return if we can ever afford it again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeymoonJun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

This adults only getaway haven is a must visit! It was just what the doctor ordered for a pre-holiday vacation for my wife and I. We will return soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magic2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
5.8 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
2.5 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. One of the most exciting and recent additions at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica are, The Towers at Pacifica a new ultra-luxe resort-within-a-resort, offering 47 new exquisite guest rooms and suites. Also, a new oceanfront gym, and Península, a new beachfront restaurant and bar, featuring traditional Baja Cuisine and creative mixology. New enhanced services accompanied the expansion as well, such as pool butlers for poolside and beach service, and fantastic culinary experiences, such as the Hook & Cook activity. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing