We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Loss of Our Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We had previously been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica two times, and like the previous reviewer, we booked our 2011 winter vacation last year in 2010 (this would be our third time there this March). We never would have known about the change going all-inclusive if we had not gone to their web site one day by chance. We called and e-mailed the hotel to see if we would be grandfathered in, or if some accomodation would be made for us, but they could not seem less interested in addressing the problem. Instead were were told we would have to fork out another $1,200 upon arrival, take it or leave it. In the past, the food at Pacifica was excellent and we never left the hotel. Now I understand that since it has gone all-inclusive the food is terrible.

We only get one vacation a year, if we a lucky, and we want it to be right. When we read about the changes at Pacifica, the bad reviews and after being treated less than professionally by the hotel when we called and e-mailed, we decided to cancel our Pacifica reservation and go elsewhere in Cabo, even though it cost more. Food quality and serenity are important to us on vacation. What we once loved about Pacifica was that it was quiet, peaceful and did not have the overly intoxicated, all-hours party atmosphere of some resorts. Although it may have once appealed to me, I no longer equate getting drunk and obnoxious in the sun with a great vacation. Now that it is all-you-can-drink, I can only imagine what the guests must be like after trying to consume "their money’s worth" of alcohol each day.

Pacifica had a loyal following. When we were there, most guests were repeat clients and those that weren’t said they would absolutely come back. The management of this hotel failed to realize that Pacifica’s brand was upscale accommodations for clientele looking for great food in a serene, peaceful setting. With the great food a thing of the past, and mature, quiet, mellow guests replaced by all-you-can drink martini-swilling obnoxious revelers, the hotel is now no different than every other all-inclusive, dime-a-dozen dump in Mexico. Like the previous reviewer, were not grandfathered in, despite paying a settled and “agreed-up” rate in full MONTHS earlier and had we not contacted the hotel, we would have been notified of the surprise upon our arrival. At the very least, we should have been offered a reduced rate or upgrade. Essentially Pacifica said, “we are no longer going to honor the price we offered and you paid in full, so either pay $1,200 more when you arrive, or go elsewhere.”

We sadly have chosen to go elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jcrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,186 - 3,192 of 3,889 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

If you have read my previous reports, I do add lots of details and I receive a lot of positive feedback and thank you notes. I also respond to all questions if you send me a note.

As you depart customs take a right towards “Groups” exit and meet the CAPE Shuttle Rep if you chose the hotels shuttle option for RT transportation from the airport. They are located outside the doors. DO NOT STOP for the others inside the building, they will try to take you to their hotel/time share or chat with you about a condo/timeshare.
Note no beverages, water, beer etc. are provided in the shuttle to the hotel. You can buy them inside or outside the airport. The shuttle does make stops at other resorts as well.

When you arrive at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa you will be offered a nice cold towel and I guess if you arrive after 4:00 pm you get your WELCOMING DRINK – see note on all-inclusive. Most hotels even non-inclusive provide a complimentary welcoming drink upon arrival.

At check in they review the “INCLUSIVE” rules (see pictures for scan) something they need to consider is to start your meal & drink service when you arrive and check in. We got there at 3:00 pm but the food/drink inclusive didn’t start until 4:00 pm. It worked out by the time we unpacked, cleaned up etc.

The all-inclusive is ONLY VALID at this resort, if you go to the beach property or to Sunset you will be charged for your food and beverage. Be happy they went All-Inclusive or prices would have bit you.

If you have food or drink before 4:00 pm on the day of arrival you may be charged. You must sign a check for all services, meals etc. Tipping is optional for all your meals and you need to wait as a check will be presented to you after each meal so that if you want, you can charge the tip to your room. They need to adjust this practice – having to wait for a check when you are done with your meal or drinks.

Internet access is limited they have wireless throughout the property but you may get as low as 1 Meg of speed. Hardwired access in the room required an IT person but Hugh did a great job and spent some time but provided me with a hardwired connection. My Vonage phone service worked like a charm.

The property is beautiful; the hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Our Deluxe Oceanview room #1244 was on the 4th floor almost dead center of the property, nice King Bed, bath, large shower for two, separate toilet and nice balcony with small seating area. Note the hotel was not full but No upgrade was provided unless we wanted to pay extra. Our trip was a short 4 night stay but was shortened to a 3 night (Jan 19th thru 22nd) because of an airline mis-connect. The room was clean and housekeeping did a nice job maintaining the room during the day. The room was very quiet - no noises at all was heard while in the room.

The room has a coffee maker if you like your coffee with some taste use about 6 to 7 cups of bottled water to their package. The in-room mini-bar has complimentary beer (2 types) and soda - Coke, Diet Coke and Sprite.

Our breakfast and dinners were at their on property - Siempre Restaurant with lunch at Aire (Pool) Restaurant. Siempre is a nice restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating and Nancy was a great hostess. Nancy greeted us each evening by last name and showed us to our table. Nice touches - a Poncho can be provided if you are cold at the outdoor seating and they have a nice little stand for ladies purses in the restaurant.

The restaurant requests reservations, they offer seating which varies by night 6:45 pm, 7:00 pm, 8:30 PM or 9:00pm, however most people show up when they want to and are seated.

Our main entrees were Snapper – Excellent 1st choice, Tuna was ok, their salads are great – suggest the one with strawberries and I would highly recommend you try the Chocolate Pasta – yum, yum. Abraham was a great server and we suggest when you make your reservations you request him. Their Veal dish was good. You can order as much food as you can eat. This goes for all your meals.

Coffee, Chocolate cake, ice cream or sorbets for desert were excellent. Towards the back of the menu they have packaged meals for 800 pesos. These are not part of the all-inclusive but they may want to make one of them a nightly special. They had a Pork dish, I would have liked to have tried listed. The resort needs to have a nightly special, I could not see eating dinner their 6 nights or longer - I would need to go off property - they may want to offer an off-site night credit to be used towards dinner at any of their properties or downtown . Breakfast was good; Eggs, Omelets and their pancakes were all excellent. Service was good.

Lunch at the pool bar was great. Suggestions - club sandwich - fish of the day taco –Bass fried – Taco. Shrimp Cocktail (great) and the soup was very good. Skirt steak taco was also great. Hamburgers looked good and were popular. Nice menu they will serve you at the pool or you can sit outside at the restaurant. I could have lunch every day here for 6 nights or longer stays. Lilia & Juan provided great service at the pool & restaurant. They do go around the pool and offer food & drinks. Lounge chairs at the pool were comfortable. Note – Sunset Beach Resort folks do come down to Pacifica so it can get crowded, if Pacifica is busy, around the pools. They do have a large pool and a small very warm & shallow pool. We met some nice folks from Sunset. – Hola - Tobi & Aaron from Toronto and Sue & Ross.

We spent most of our time at the smaller pool. Very relaxing. Their beach is private, very nice and large, you can walk it, dip a toe in but no swimming. Access to the beach is via the resort so you can feel very safe. We felt safe throughout the property.

Bar and drinks are nice but NO DRINK menus are provided, no daily drink specials. You must know what you want to drink at the bar.

Mixed ADULT only crowd, young and old couples, small groups to a bunch of single mixed age woman to a few individual men.

Pacifica and it’s management need to get the rough “all-inclusive” charges worked out.
1. When you arrive you should be provided with a welcoming drink no matter when you arrive. We arrived around 3:00 pm – no welcoming drink was provided
2. No matter what time you arrive at the hotel, you should be on the all-inclusive plan, even if your room is not ready. We arrived around 3:00 pm and waited until 4:00 pm for the all-inclusive to start. It worked out for us but others that arrived earlier may have had to pay for their meals.
3. Don’t nickel and dime the client’s – you want return & happy
clients
a. If you go into their deli, coffee, tea, pastries, water & soda is
included but not snacks or juice
b. If you go into the fitness room and take an Evian or juice you
are charged – there was no “house” bottled water
available, in the fitness room you need to bring your own or
use their spring water using the cups provided.
4. Offer the back page dinner menu as part of the all-inclusive.
My Veal was about 400 pesos and included in my
package – the back page Pork dish was around 350
pesos and not included.

Turn-down service – when you are brought to your room, they show you how to use the simple door pillow (hanger) with a SUN and MOON on it. Sun means service i.e turn down and moon means privacy.

The sun was shining on our door; our first night no turn down was provided; we called to the front desk to complain as well as to obtain fresh towels. Towels were brought. Now you would think for a 4 or 5 star resort the front desk would mention to housekeeping that this room was not turned down and make sure it was on the list for future evenings – wrong. The 2nd night, our “sun” was shining on our door when we left for dinner and when we returned no turn down again. Let’s just say the complaint this time wasn’t so nice and they sent someone to turn down our room and replace the towels. The 3rd and last night our room was turned down.

Holas to Sue and her BF from Utah and to Darcy & Jason, it was great meeting and speaking with the four of you at the pool and I swear I wasn’t listening to your conversations – HONEST! Also hola to Keith & his new bride from Phoenix, it was nice speaking with you over by the fire.

Would I recommend Pacifica Resort & Spa - Yes, the property is very clean, beautiful and safe. We were even able to watch whales while at the pool or beach. They come very close to shore.

Did we enjoy our overall stay yes. Have we had “speed bumps” at other resorts yes, did we have them here yes, did it ruin our stay NO. Service overall was great, some bad apples provided poor service and some meals were so, so but such is life. Do they have to work out their all-inclusive bugs – yes, and I am sure they will.

PS Sorry - No time to hit downtown for shopping or to eat, so I can not help out that way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scubasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBPacifica, Public Relations Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Dear ScubaSam,
Thank you for review and thank you for allowing us to continue to improve upon our award-winning service to better meet our guest’s expectations. We have taken your suggestions sincerely and have worked to resolve any of your concerns. Our guests will now receive a welcome cocktail at any arrival time along with starting your all-inclusive experience as soon as step foot in our beautiful luxury property. We are also currently expanding our services, drinks and assorted items to better accommodate our guest’s desires, like the specialty teas and water bottles. We have taken to heart your, and all of our guests' suggestions, to maintain Pacifica’s high standards.Thank you for your understanding as we transition into a new and enhanced inclusive property.

Regards,

Pueblo Bonito Resorts & Spas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My Fiancee booked this hotel in September, 2010 to celebrate our engagement. He booked it through Expedia and paid in full long before our arrival on Jan 9, 2011. When we arrived we were told that as of 1/1/11, the hotel had become "all-inclusive", and that unless we were willing to pay $75.00 a night (PER PERSON), he could not allow us to stay there, thus breaking our contract made in September. We refused to pay what would have been an additional $900.00 (for our six-day stay.) We were told we would have to stay at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, and he hailed a taxi to take us there. When we arrived, WE HAD TO PAY $6 USD for the taxi!! We did not get a close ocean view, we did not have a king-sized bed, we had to stay where there were small children (no children are allowed at the Pacifica, which was what we wanted, and was the major reason for choosing the Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Retreat & Spa. Although our room in the Sunset Beach resport was beautiful, it was not what we paid for. This hotel was deceiving, dishonest, and broke the contract. We plan on going back to Cabo, however will choose a hotel that actually gives us what we paid for instead of embarrassing us in front of other customers. In addition, nobody was allowed to swim, or even wade in the beautiful beach that was advertised. The food at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach was below standard. Waffles not done, cold pancakes, the sauce in the huevos rancheros tasted like plain tomato sauce, soup was cold and had to be sent back. Overall, on a scale of 1 - 10, I would rate the food a low 5 overall. Want more information? Feel free to email me at merrygoround@dslextreme.com. Mary A. Temple

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MaryATemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Hotel needs to learn how to be all inclusive before taking leap. The restaurant can't accommodate the amount of guests eating there now. Service is awful. Stayed here last year and would give it close to 5 stars. Now it's probably worth less than 3.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journeysalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBPacifica, Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Dear Journeysalot,

First I would like to thank you for your review and for returning to our beautiful hotel. We take your critique very seriously and are making the necessary improvements to please our guests and maintain our high standards of service and hospitality.

Sincerely,

Pueblo Bonito Resorts & Spas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Absolutely great location and gorgeous surroundings if you want to kick back and relax. This resort is the secluded backyard heaven of its sister hotel Pueblo Bonito Sunset Resort, which means any car has to pass two gates and quite some winding road to get in. There is no public road access to the 2 miles long beautiful beach, so the beach is de facto private to the guests, there is absolutely no annoying street vendor hovering the beach (like many other hotels in Cabos) .

Services are top-notch, room are nicely appointed, employee are very friendly. most of the waiter and waitress remembered our name the second day. pool side services are very attentive, great drinks keep on coming.

The only and biggest complaint I have is the restaurant, where shall I start: first, I do not mind a restaurant not updating the menu through out the week if all the dishes are great. However, the main and only dinner restaurant on site has very few good selection. Secondly, the dishes are all beautifully presented BUT the quality is way below your neighborhood chain restaurant. in addition to the low quality, they did not bother updating the menu or replenishing supplies for days, in this case, the asparagus. Definitely not something you expect for the anchor restaurant of a 5 star resort. Last but not least, the sushi bar and sushi chief are horribly bad: most sushi rolls are pre-made stored in a container, the paper thin sashimi has very few choice and the hibachi grill looks awfully dirty.

If this is not all-inclusive deal, I will definitely go out to eat dinner every night, which is not easy and cheap considering the location is very secluded and far away from downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel_eat_relax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

During the last week of 2010, my girlfriend and I decided to take a quick trip to Cabo and booked a couple nights with Pueblo Bonito Pacifica because they had excellent reviews on-line and their web-site said they were an all-inclusive resort. When we showed up to the front desk they told us that they were NOT an all-inclusive resort at this time but would be in the near future. It should be noted that their web-site is packed with descriptions of them being all-inclusive and it isn’t possible to find out they are not unless you click in the right spots and eventually find the fine print at the bottom of a downstream page (not the main page). We tried multiple times to resolve the misunderstanding primarily by offering to stay one night and be freed from our remaining reservation but the front desk manager would not budge at all. At one point I even asked her to put herself in our shoes and explain to us what she would think if she saw the same information as we did – she wouldn’t answer and we believe it’s because she would have thought the same thing. She said we should have known better than to expect so much out of a “5 star resort” at such a low price (which it was not low, and by past experience we would not consider it a 5 star resort at all). Also be aware that you will be constantly pressured to buy into their time share offers. If they were a 5 star resort, it would really be nice to receive 5 star services.
There is much more that could be said, but what we have indicated above pretty much covers the theme of their business practices with the core being deceiving.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AES4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBEmeraldBay, Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Dear AES4,
Thank you for giving your review, as we very much appreciate feedback from guests. We have been been advertising our new all-inclusive plan for months, including on our website, and have always specified it's January 2011 start. We have always been honest with our guests, and apologize for this misunderstanding.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Although the resort is very nice, the noise level between rooms is not. You can hear people
in the room directly above. It isn't an issue if your neighbors are on the same schedule as
you are, but we're in bed around 11:00pm and were awaken at 1:30 in the morning
to the guests footsteps directly above us, their loud conversion and TV playing. I felt as though we were staying at a cheap motel, verses a high rated hotel resort. The walls
don't have insulation, so if you want a good night's rest, you just better hope you have guiet neighbors. We won't be staying there again because of that.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BudRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
6.4 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
13.9 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
2.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £329 - £721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. One of the most exciting and recent additions at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica are, The Towers at Pacifica a new ultra-luxe resort-within-a-resort, offering 47 new exquisite guest rooms and suites. Also, a new oceanfront gym, and Península, a new beachfront restaurant and bar, featuring traditional Baja Cuisine and creative mixology. New enhanced services accompanied the expansion as well, such as pool butlers for poolside and beach service, and fantastic culinary experiences, such as the Hook & Cook activity. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing