We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great way to unwind”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Travelled with a friend in May. We had a terrific time relaxing at the pool. Service was perfect, very accommodating. Food was great in all restaurants and poolside. We had an oceanfront room...amazing way to wake up to the ocean and fall asleep to the waves!
I'll be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar on TripAdvisor! We take pride in what our resort has to offer and we are delighted to know you were able to relax and enjoyed our food. What better way is there to wake up when you're facing the beautiful ocean, right? Relaxation at it's best, and we are happy you chose us to accommodate you. Please visit us on your next trip to Los Cabos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    496
    152
    87
    50
See reviews for
446
614
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We just returned after spending 9 days at Hacienda Del Mar. We were blown away by the beauty of the property and even more so by the warmth and generosity of the staff.

Facility + Staff
- The grounds are immaculately maintained. Every building looked as though it had been freshly painted. Every day we saw staff caring for the property grounds and facilities. It's pristine.
- The pool set-up is ideal. Not difficult to get chairs with umbrellas (so long as you arrive early morning). Chairs without umbrellas are always available. You can gaze directly on the ocean, so it's like being on the beach. Or you can have the staff set up chairs and umbrellas directly on the beach.
- The beach is long - ideal for long walks (you have to climb over and around some rocks in a few places, but easy to do) and the water was crystal clear and warm. On several days the water was unswimmable and off-limits because of the giant crashing waves, but we managed to get a few that were safe enough for swimming.
- The Spanish architecture adds so much charm to the property. The main building and lobby are especially gorgeous.
- The staff, particularly Guillermo, the pool concierge, is caring and attentive. You get the sense that everyone wants nothing more than to see you happy and fulfilled. (The restaurant staff is a little bit of an exception to be accurate....they were ok not great). We made a lot of use of the concierge staff for tips on things to do and making reservations, etc. and were glad we did. Jayson, the hotel manager, was also frequently around and focused on ensuring guests are happy.
- The location is about midway between San Jose de Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, which is nice for changing things up for day trips and dinners off the property. The hotel runs an inexpensive shuttle to Cabo San Lucas.
- If you are a golfer, the course on the property is absolutely spectacular. Very expensive ($250) for morning golf on the Ocean course, but one of the best experiences my husband, an avid golfer, has ever had. He played the Ocean course twice and the Dessert course once.
- We liked that the hotel is actually a grouping of small buildings that are more like villas. So much more charming than one massive hotel structure with long hallways and dim lights.
- The sleeping rooms are clean, fairly large, and comfortable with balconies outfitted with chairs and a table. The room condition was good to very good. The only thing we noticed is that the baseboards were a bit worn, some of the paint was a little sloppily applied in a few places, and overall the quality of the furnishings was good but not as great as the public areas of the property. For us, this mattered very little. The beds were comfortable, everything was clean, there was plenty of storage...and we spent so little time in the rooms that the little things that were a little bit off were immaterial.

Restaurants
- The food at the restaurants was decent but I would have liked to report that it was excellent (I'm a foodie, I'll admit).

The poolside restaurant serves bland food like burgers and quesadillas and salads. Nothing was bad, just that it was a little like the food you might get in a coffee shop. Would have liked higher quality but it was acceptable. TIP: they have a 2 for 1 happy hour every day from 11-noon. Well worth ordering a bucket of beers on ice since it will carry you through the afternoon. Or sodas. (Mixed drinks, not so much as they would melt of course.)

The restaurant, Tomatoes, serves a good breakfast but the value cannot come close to the restaurant Girasoles. If you like value -- PLUS a spectacular ocean view -- you will make a routine, as we did, of having breakfast at that restaurant. For US$16.50, you can order as many items as you like on their extensive breakfast menu and have as many mimosas or bloody mary's as you like. And the food was very good, especially their Mexican egg dishes and their French toast. We would have a large breakfast and then usually skip lunch saving our appetite for a good dinner. The staff at Girasoles also stood apart from the staff at the other restaurants for their warmth and friendliness. We also liked the dinner we had there. Another tip for value seekers: they have a 2-for-1 happy hour at their bar daily from 1-5:00. We didn't try it, so can't report on the quality of the drinks.

We did not have dinner at Tomatoes as we are turned off by giant buffet tables with food that sits in steamers. And also by restaurants that change their focus nightly - i.e. Italian one night, seafood another, etc. That's our hangup, not necessarily others' we realize. It could be perfectly good...we didn't try it to be able to report on it.

We wish we had known that the lobby Tequila bar (small, tucked in a corner) serves dinner on a large balcony. A small menu but a good value. We had excellent fresh salads and really well-executed margaritas.

Pitahaynas (I'm sure I mangled the spelling) was very good. Expensive, but a gorgeous setting that makes it worth the cost. It also offers the option of eating dinner (or just appetizers) in the bar.

We did not eat at Cortez, the super high-end restaurant. In general, we prefer going off property for dinners, so we simply didn't get a chance. Plus, the restaurant was booked several nights due to buy-outs from wedding parties.

We plan to make a routine of returning to Hacienda del Mar. Truly fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room. Lots of light and better views. Also we managed to get really great rates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler8603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for this splendid and informative review of the Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts through TripAdvisor, we appreciate it. We are so happy to hear you had an amazing trip with us, and hope you will come back to visit us in Los Cabos soon. The staff will be happy to assist you with all of your needs. We strive to provide exceptional service, and we are glad you were able to recognize our efforts.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton October 12th to the 19th had some rain the first two. Days but perfect after that.we have stayed here before and will continue to go back.the food and service are great,rooms are clean and quiet .adelina at tomatoes restaurant was awesome and actually spent time each day teaching us Spanish.she is a great example of someone who loves her job and her employer.stop by and see for yourself we will again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for posting such a nice review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar on TripAdvisor. Thank you for choosing us again to host your stay in Los Cabos. We appreciate your compliments about our staff and will continue to provide you with exceptional service. Remember to stop by and say hi to Adelina again, on your future visit to Los Cabos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingle Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I checked in to the Hacienda after reading reviews both positive and negative. Some of the negative comments indicated thin walls, on going construction, expensive pricing and aggressive time share sales pitch.
First of all, lets be clear: This is not a "experience Mexico" type of resort. The Hacienda is located in the corridor between San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. The good news is that its about 10 minutes from Cabo in one direction and about 5 minutes from Chileno Bay in the other. It is in the exclusive Del Cabo gated resort, completely unseen from the highway. Upon entering you cant help but notice the massive scale of the buildings and just the size of the property.
We arrived about an hour early for check in and waited for our room so we checkout the grounds. Wow! The layout of the many pools including a gorgeous infinity pool, the beautiful and well padded lounge chairs the proximity and view of the ocean, the many option for food and drink were just spectacular. Also rarely were there more than 4 or 5 lounge chairs next to each other. It was very easy to find a comfortable and quiet spot if that what you were seeking.
We were brought up to our ocean view room by our porter Raymond. He was very friendly and once he found our we were celebrating our anniversary there was a bottle of Champagne brought up within 30 minutes. Our room was lovely and very well equipped. We heard a lot about a $15 dollar a day charge for the refrigerator usage, but we were never charged for that. I hope that is something they did away with.
We received a call to meet a representative to get tickets for a reception that evening. I went down and met Carlos who gave us the tickets and tried to get us to attend a time share breakfast and presentation at 8:00am the following morning. I told him under no circumstances that was going to happen. He was polite and it was over before I knew it.
Now its pool time. The first thing you notice when walking the grounds is the absolute economy of movement from the guests. There is a sense of deep relaxation whether guests were sitting in the pool, relaxing on lounge chairs or bellied up at the bar. There is a slow movement that is very noticeable upon arriving.
We found a comfortable spot with a pool behind us and the ocean in front of us. A server came by and informed us it was happy hour and it was 2 for 1 beverage time. We sipped Pina Coladas and quickly assumed the same disposition the rest of the guests had slipped into.
Each morning we took our breakfast at tomatoes and struck up a quick friendship with our server Adelina. She couldn't have been sweeter. My wife has duel citizenship with Mexico and the 2 of them became thick as thieves. we looked forward to seeing her each morning. The buffet was $37 and was delicious. With the beautiful views, excellent service and delicious service I thought it to be very reasonable. There is also a menu option.
Later we had club sandwiches in one of the pool bars which was fine but we took most of our dinners in Cabo and had a blast.
We did rent snorkeling gear for $13 for a 24 hour period and took advantage of the Chileno bay twice! It was so close to the Hacienda. It was a literal aquarium of beautiful and multicolored fish. Take advantage of it!
Because it was my anniversary I didn't golf, but the course looked lush and green and hugged the ocean. The contrast of green grass and blue water was beautiful.
In conclusion, if you want to distress and let the warm wind wash over you, experience good service and a beautiful resort you got to check this place out. after a couple days you'll never sweat the small stuff again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beranka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for posting this lovely review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar on TripAdvisor. We are please to know you enjoyed your stay with us during your Anniversary. Thank you so much for noticing our courteous staff. We encourage our staff to build relationships with our guests. It's great you and your wife hit it off with Adelina. Your pictures of our property are lovey, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were here in mid-Sept and were a bit skeptical about booking since the pics online makes the hotel look dated and old. However, the hotel is very clean and the decor/colors suites it. We really enjoyed just relaxing in the infinity pool.

The resort wasn't very busy while we were there, and there were 3 pools, none of which were busy. The beach was also quiet, but not great for swimming since it's shorebreak. Also not surfable.

The only reason for a docking a star is because the food wasn't very good and over-priced

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and took notice to how peaceful our resort can be. Glad you got a chance to enjoy the ambiance. Hopefully we will see you back here soon on your next visit to Los Cabos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I cannot say enough about the staff at this hotel. Friendly and eager to go out of their way to make sure you have a great experience. The resort has some amazing pools and great restaurants. Our room was perfect and generously appointed. Large bathroom size was a huge plus. The beach area is pretty, but don't go swimming unless you want to risk injury (signs abound). The taxi is about $20 to town, so it's in your best interest to try and split the cabs (which are really just large vans). I actually didn't mind being somewhat detached from the city center. The resort is beautiful so it was great to be able to spend a lot of time onsite at the pools as opposed to loading up on activities. We received a food/beverage credit, which helped offset some of the costs. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cya-bya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. We are please to know you enjoyed our resort and got a chance to take advantage of our activities. We appreciate you noticing our staff, we strive very hard to provide all our guests exceptional service because you deserve it. We hope you will think of us again on your next visit to Los Cabos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelallover08
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We have now been to the Sheraton over a dozen times. The main reason we keep coming back is the people. The bellmen, the concierges, the wait staff in the restaurants, the towel and pool staff and the golf club staff are amazing. They are always upbeat, friendly, and helpful. In fact, many remember us from previous visits. With all the people that come and go, it's so nice to be welcomed back and remembered. This is what makes a vacation. No place you go is perfect and not everyone will find everything to their liking. We can relax and enjoy a casual good time. The food at all the restaurants is wonderful. We like Sheraton Hacienda del Mar and will be back.

There is one big problem at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. . . .many of the guests are very inconsiderate - making noise in the halls and in their rooms very late at night without consideration for the other guests. We are all trying to enjoy our vacation! Unfortunately, this time, twice we had to notify the front desk to send someone to notify our neighbors. Please, people, be considerate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelall0ver08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Sheraton Hacienda del Mar on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will get a chance to stay with us again in the near future. Make sure you visit us on your next trip to Los Cabos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
15.5 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
577 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,026 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,563 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Property: Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Grand Los Cabos, Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing