We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our family consisting of 6 adults and one child 3 months old were at this resort the week of 12/16/13. Our 3 bedroom 3 bath unit was extremely large and pleasantly appointed. It had a large balcony with a whirlpool tub which could be filled for usage. The pools were very clean and inviting however when we were there 5 years ago the main infinity pools were much warmer. When we were there 5 years ago the hotel personnel would not let you swim in the ocean because of the undertow but to our delight this time we could go in. I was able to snorkel right off the beach. The far right side of the beach where there are a number of large rocks was particularly good. The ocean is still quite rough at times so I would be cautious if you are not a strong swimmer. Being avid players we were disappointed that the tennis courts that were there at our previous visit are no longer in existence. I would hope the management would look into building new ones. The grounds are very pretty with many beautiful plants and flowers. The resort is also small enough to walk around comfortably without the need to call golf carts for transportation from one area to the other. I would return again to this fine resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting such a nice review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. Our resort is a great place for a family vacation. We have several kid activities and specialized suites for children. It's a lot of fun for the family. Glad you enjoyed your spacious room as well and we surely hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Pros:
- This is a beautiful property. Great layout. Beautiful pools and the grounds are all well-maintained. Everything seemed clean and nothing was really "dated."
- We had a basic room, king, pool view in one of the out buildings. The room was spacious and clean and despite not having an "ocean view" the view of the pool and golf course were nice enough.
- The staff was generally excellent. The housekeeping staff was friendly, concierge was helpful and after an issue with one of the restaurants (we'll get to that in the "cons"), the manager that helped us was very accommodating.
- Great location. Closer to Cabo in the corridor, an easy cab ride/drive to Cab/San Jose and very safe/secluded.

Cons:
- We ate at Tomatoes, Sirena and Girasoles. Generally, the food was a bit overpriced (expected at a resort) and just ok. We had better meals off property.
- Service at Tomatos was a real issue. We ate there twice. The first time, the restaurant was empty and the service was a bit slow. We didn't really mind, but I wouldn't call it attentive at all. The second time we went for dinner and had a real issue with the service and a specific server. I addressed it with the food and beverage manager on site at the time, and didn't get much resolution, so we brought it up to the general manager the next day. She was great and understanding.
- A minor quibble, but it would be great if the front desk carried more USD and could accommodate change requests. Most businesses and vendors take USD, it's common, but the front desk would only exchange for pesos at a fairly high rate.

Overall, it's a great place and we would definitely go back. I probably wouldn't even think of another place in Cabo. Note to the management though - please fix Tomatoes Restaurant. It sits in the heart of the hotel, gets a lot of traffic and should be a real indication of the property's service standards. In our experience it was the outlier. Everything else was stellar and Tomatoes was the weak link.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar in Los Cabos. We are glad to know we are your go-to hotel, when you plan to return to Los Cabos. We take pride in exceeding our guests' expectations, so your feedback is greatly appreciated. Overall, we are happy you enjoyed your stay here and can't wait for you to return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I visited the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar in early November with my 8 year old son and we had a fantastic time. The food is excellent (Tomatoes was our favorite, but everywhere we ate was great, including room service). There is a children's menu at each restaurant for kids that aren't wanting to try something new. The property is beautiful with tons of lush green plants and flowers. You can tell they spend a lot of time caring for the grounds. The rooms are spacious and housekeeping visits every day. My son loved the big Jacuzzi tub. Bring the kids on your vacation - the Sheraton Adventure Kids Club is available if you need some time for yourself. My son had fun making his own pinata with staff and making new friends. There is also an enclosed trampoline and kids' pool with a slide and sprayers that he loved. While he was there I had a very relaxing massage at Cactus Spa that is worth every penny. The beach, although a bit too rough for swimming, was fun to explore - lots of shells and if you walk a ways down there are huge rocks covered in snails that my little guy liked getting a closer look at. The property also has a variety of pools - an infinity pool, a swim up bar for the adults and a children's pool. Lots of options for cooling off. Staff is very friendly and most speak multiple languages so getting what you need is easy. We had a wonderful time and can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ocean view is amazing! You can sit on your private terrace and watch the waves while you eat your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaA426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting such a great review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos. As you experienced, we have lots of activities for kids to enjoy. Our resort is a great destination for families. We are happy to hear you and your son had a good time. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from this hotel. I cannot express how grateful we are to the entire management and staff on making our stay so memorable. In particular, I would like to give special thanks and gratitude to Maricruz and Mr. Vega for making our stay extra "special". All of the hotel amenities are fantastic. The view from our room was breathtaking, the beach was awesome, the restaurants were unbelievable and the location to the Cabo del Sol golf course was perfect. We will definitely be planning another trip back.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your experience at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos. Our staff works really hard to provide exceptional service for all our guests. We want you to feel right at home. We have high hospitality standards here, and we thank you for taking notice. We will definitely commend our staff for making your vacation just perfect. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

This is my 4th trip to cabo San Lucas and the 1st time staying at the property. The grounds were manicured and the view was breath taking. The restaurants on the property were professional and the food was delicious.

Now for the but.... The hotel was empty and the package that we purchased from the Sheraton website included complimentary upgrade to ocean view. When we checked in the receptionist asked us if we would like to upgrade to ocean view for an additional cost. When we told her our package included complimentary upgrade, she said the hotel was full. Ugh!

Next the staff is relentless on pitching time shares to you. They offered us discounts if we sit through their high pressure presentations. My wife and I were only here for 3 days so our vacation time was very valuable and we didn't want to spend it listening to a time share presentation; at any discount. They even called our room at 7:00 am to invite us to a presentation.

If it wasn't for the constant harassment to buy a timeshare this place would be 5 stars. But because of the complete disregard for my precious vacation time it gets a 3.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank glennpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We encourage our guests to send feedback to our management team at nadezda.dodonova@sheraton.com so we can make guests' experiences better. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 days as part of our Christmas trip at the Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. I booked a hotel room with garden view(cheapest prepaid rate) which had a small funished patio looking out onto a nice fountain in the garden. They have fountains everywhere for all to enjoy. It was very peaceful and relaxing. My husband gets up much earlier than I do and would go for a walk or sit on the patio with the laptop. This is a sprawling property and the hotel isn't part of the vacation club but you can't really tell the difference from one to the other as you can sign for meals everywhere regardless of where you checked in. There is a pool concierge ( I won't say pool boy) to help you find chaises and umbrellas if the pool is crowded. We will stay here again to extend our trip a few days the next time.

Room Tip: Garden view was fine for us for 3 days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting such a nice review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos. We appreciate your kind words, and we're delighted you will return. Our resort has some of the most amazing views of Los Cabos. Happy you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We just got back from this gorgeous resort. Great for kids and families. Happy hour is great. Our room was superb. If you can stay in the suites that are within the same bldg that you check in at - do it. My only, tiny complaints - the rooms are just a tad dated AND please add more staff to the pools, especially during lunch/happy hour. Other than that awesome job. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting this review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos. We appreciate all of your feedback and we will take it into consideration. All in all, we see you enjoyed your stay with us and we surely hope you we will see you again here in the near future! We miss you too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
5.4 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Address: Corredor Turistico KM 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £154 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. Our hotel in Los Cabos, Mexico features a full complement of guest services to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. We present perfect accommodations in a spectacular setting on the oceanfront near Lovers Beach and the Arch of Cabo San Lucas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing