We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Cabo...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a lovely time at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. The service throughout our trip was incredible. We were celebrating our anniversary and are SPG Gold members. We were upgraded to an ocean front room and they brought us a bottle of champagne! So nice!! We were traveling with our 17 month old and everyone was so accommodating. The grounds were beautiful and we spent everyday pool side. Our little one loves the water. The sand is a little rough for her so we didn't really go to the beach, plus we couldn't swim in the ocean. Most morning we dined at Girasoles, wow what amazing service! They bent over backwards to make sure our little one had everything she needed (Muchas Gracias Francisco y Ana and everyone else). Plus the price was right :) Taking the shuttle into downtown Cabo was great too. It was affordable, the only wish is that it ran a little more often. We never had a problem getting on though. We also dined a few times at Tomatoes. It was quite good as well and the service was great. Our room was great. It was big with a huge patio, jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, comfy bed, and nightly turn down service. We both got massages as they were offering a 1/2 price deal on massages. We both loved them. The spa is so beautiful and relaxing.
Pros - Tons of swimming pools and lounge chairs, great food, great service, beautiful grounds, and nice rooms
Cons - No coffee shop on site (they do have great coffee available until 10AM) but I did miss my morning espresso drinks, expensive food since it's resort prices and you can only go elsewhere with the shuttle or a car, and the biggest con is the constant push to buy a timeshare! It was so irritating. They pushed it when we just arrived despite us traveling all day and wanting to get to the room and go get our daughter some dinner. Then there was several phone calls, two only 15 minutes apart and they woke up our daughter twice! We were less than thrilled! My husband went and told them we didn't want anymore phone calls and then we unplugged all the phones. Once we did that, we didn't hear anymore about the timeshare!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neenee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for posting this lovely review of your experience at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos. We appreciate you taking the time out to tell us about your stay. We'd like to apologize for an inconvenience those phone calls may have caused you and your family. Also, congratulations to you and your husband on your anniversary. Honored you chose us to share that special moment. We definitely hope both of you will come again soon, our generous staff will be waiting to provide you with stellar accommodations for the second time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

855 - 861 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

I visited the hacienda del mar vacation resort in mid December. The weather was delightful every day. The water though rough in places was fantastic if you keep to the far right of the beach.
The property grounds are beautifully maintained and rich with many palms here and are flourishing from the world over. there are explicative plaques beneath each specimen. It is like being in a tropical botanical garden. There are many wonderful native birds, and the sea of Cortez is alive with rays! and whales! The property and staff are top notch and the food quite good . Pitahayas , the top restaurant is world class!

Room Tip: you will need some bottled water....insect repellent and sunscreen but the on -premises shop has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank okienap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for this amazing review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar in Los Cabos. Our staff works diligently to make guests feel right at home. We take pride in providing stellar accommodations with exceptional service. Pitahayas is one of our award-winning restaurants with superb menu options. Happy to know you loved the food and your stay. Please join us here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This resort was very nice. Only one pool bar, but that was ok. It overlooked the golf course instead of the beach but it was secluded and quiet. Hot tub was not that hot, but it was ok. Room was nice and clean. Food was good. Drink kind of expensive, but we went into the city alot. We rented a car and parked at the hotel for free. Wifi was free in the room, which was a plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for posting this nice review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time out to send us your compliments and details about your stay. Please think of us again for your next trip to Los Cabos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for a week in January with our 20 and 22 year old sons. We booked 2 rooms - one we used starwood points and the other we paid for that included unlimited golf. What a find! We had ocean front rooms with balcony overlooking the gorgeous pacific beach front -- wonderful views to wake up every morning and see the spectacular sunrise. We were pleasantly surprised by how lovely this resort was. We are frequent Starwood travelers but have avoided Sheraton properties thinking they weren't up to par with some of Starwood's other brands. However this property is an exception. It is designed in the hacienda style and I felt like I was in Spain -- beautiful design and lovely tile work. We were also surprised by the quality of the food. We ate in most of the resort restaurants but most especially liked De Cortez which is right on the beach front and all lit up at night with fire pit and heat lamps...and the food was wonderful. However, don't miss going into San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas to enjoy some of the other very good and casual restaurants in the area.

The golf at the resort is fabulous. There are two courses -- the Ocean Course (rated #2 course in Mexico) and the Desert course. If you can take advantage of the golf package do...the room price includes unlimited golf and being able to play on both courses, but especially the gorgeous Ocean Course which is usually over $300 a round is the bargain of the century! The only reason the round took long to play was because we kept stopping to take photos with our iphones of the magnificent views!

And lastly I want to mention the beach. We had been in Cabo years ago and stayed at another resort where you really couldn't use the beach as it was very rocky. However the beach at The Sheraton Hacienda del Mar is beautiful with long stretches of sand and calm waters. There is beach service with chaise lounges, and umbrellas and food and beverage service. Although there are a handful of locals walking the beach selling silver jewerly and other Mexican goods, compared to other places I've been in Mexico these folks were very low key and didn't bother you if you said you weren't interested.

If you want a great value trip at beautiful place stay here! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for this amazing review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar in Los Cabos. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Our hotel provides lovely views of the Sea of Cortez and the intricate artwork displayed in our architecture and design. We hope you will visit us again, some time in the near future. Our staff anticipated your return. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Although I am not a resort person normally I really enjoyed this resort. Before I get to the many positives, the only con for me would be that the in room wifi is not free. However, free wifi is available in the lobby for 30 minutes a day and they have several computers available for use.

The resort is not located in the main town which may be a positive or negative depending on your point of view. You cannot walk to anything but taxis are readily available and the hotel offers a shuttle to the town.

I enjoyed the facilities, friendly service and food at the resort. The resort has 5 pools (including an infinity pool) so there is plenty of space to lay out. There are multiple restaurants. There is also a grocery store at the resort which was very convenient for purchasing snacks and drinks. There are also 2 great golf courses nearby..

The rooms were clean and housekeeping cleaned them early. Bathroom had 2 vanity sinks, a separate shower and tub. The room also had an empty minibar for storing food and drinks.

For more details and pictures see the detailed review here:
http://thetravelsisters.com/?page_id=44

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelsis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear our staff made you feel comfortable during your stay. Glad you got the opportunity to try the food at our award-winning restaurants, as well. You took some great photos of the resort, and we hope to welcome you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our family consisting of 6 adults and one child 3 months old were at this resort the week of 12/16/13. Our 3 bedroom 3 bath unit was extremely large and pleasantly appointed. It had a large balcony with a whirlpool tub which could be filled for usage. The pools were very clean and inviting however when we were there 5 years ago the main infinity pools were much warmer. When we were there 5 years ago the hotel personnel would not let you swim in the ocean because of the undertow but to our delight this time we could go in. I was able to snorkel right off the beach. The far right side of the beach where there are a number of large rocks was particularly good. The ocean is still quite rough at times so I would be cautious if you are not a strong swimmer. Being avid players we were disappointed that the tennis courts that were there at our previous visit are no longer in existence. I would hope the management would look into building new ones. The grounds are very pretty with many beautiful plants and flowers. The resort is also small enough to walk around comfortably without the need to call golf carts for transportation from one area to the other. I would return again to this fine resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting such a nice review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. Our resort is a great place for a family vacation. We have several kid activities and specialized suites for children. It's a lot of fun for the family. Glad you enjoyed your spacious room as well and we surely hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Pros:
- This is a beautiful property. Great layout. Beautiful pools and the grounds are all well-maintained. Everything seemed clean and nothing was really "dated."
- We had a basic room, king, pool view in one of the out buildings. The room was spacious and clean and despite not having an "ocean view" the view of the pool and golf course were nice enough.
- The staff was generally excellent. The housekeeping staff was friendly, concierge was helpful and after an issue with one of the restaurants (we'll get to that in the "cons"), the manager that helped us was very accommodating.
- Great location. Closer to Cabo in the corridor, an easy cab ride/drive to Cab/San Jose and very safe/secluded.

Cons:
- We ate at Tomatoes, Sirena and Girasoles. Generally, the food was a bit overpriced (expected at a resort) and just ok. We had better meals off property.
- Service at Tomatos was a real issue. We ate there twice. The first time, the restaurant was empty and the service was a bit slow. We didn't really mind, but I wouldn't call it attentive at all. The second time we went for dinner and had a real issue with the service and a specific server. I addressed it with the food and beverage manager on site at the time, and didn't get much resolution, so we brought it up to the general manager the next day. She was great and understanding.
- A minor quibble, but it would be great if the front desk carried more USD and could accommodate change requests. Most businesses and vendors take USD, it's common, but the front desk would only exchange for pesos at a fairly high rate.

Overall, it's a great place and we would definitely go back. I probably wouldn't even think of another place in Cabo. Note to the management though - please fix Tomatoes Restaurant. It sits in the heart of the hotel, gets a lot of traffic and should be a real indication of the property's service standards. In our experience it was the outlier. Everything else was stellar and Tomatoes was the weak link.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar in Los Cabos. We are glad to know we are your go-to hotel, when you plan to return to Los Cabos. We take pride in exceeding our guests' expectations, so your feedback is greatly appreciated. Overall, we are happy you enjoyed your stay here and can't wait for you to return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.1 mi away
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,276 reviews
5.4 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
2.1 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Address: Corredor Turistico KM 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £142 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. Our hotel in Los Cabos, Mexico features a full complement of guest services to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. We present perfect accommodations in a spectacular setting on the oceanfront near Lovers Beach and the Arch of Cabo San Lucas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing