We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic winter escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic winter escape”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from my 4th stay at Hacienda Del Mar. The staff is courteous and attentive. The rooms and grounds are very clean. The pool and beach areas are beautiful and relaxing. This is NOT the place for "party animals" There were a few families with children, but they did not overrun the common areas.

We rarely dine at the hotel restaurants, so I can't comment other than they are pricey. We prefer to drive the short distance into town to explore and experience Cabo San Lucas. Walmart is close enough to find the typical groceries Americans might want during their stay.

The ONLY criticism is that free WIFI is limited to 30 minutes per day. But, it is supposed to be vacation, right?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen_46239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for posting this wonderful review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you choosing us to host your recent stay. We hope you will come again to visit us soon, maybe during one of our festivals during the summer. Happy we made it on your list of fantastic winter escapes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    489
    150
    87
    48
See reviews for
441
601
42
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Sheraton for 5 days. Everyone at the hotel was super nice from guys in the front lobby (thanks Osi and other guy i forgot the name of in the AM shift) greeting us as we arrived to the staff at Tomatoes who we saw every day (Roberto, Gorge, German, Adelina - thank you!).

Whenever we were walking to and from our room, which was one of the farthest at building 33, if someone was driving a cart, they would offer us a ride to the lobby or wherever we were going. The property is beautiful and they have multiple pools, hammocks, and chairs/umbrellas on the beach. They also have free activities each morning on site such as bartending, spanish classes, volleyball, yoga, etc. The hotel also offers a shuttle to downtown for $5 each way that runs 9am-9pm. They drop you off at the mall downtown which is close to the bars and clubs if you are looking for nightlife.

Rooms were big with double sinks in the bathroom. Our room was cleaned and restocked with water and toiletries daily. Turndown service left mints on our bed. The only time it was loud was during the day since our room overlooked the pool. During the evening, we had a good night's sleep.

The only complaint we had was when we dined at De Cortez. This is their fine dining restaurant on property, but the service was horrible. First we asked the hostess to sit inside, but she seated us outside. She only brought 4 menus for the 6 of us. She said she'll bring 2 more menus, but never came back. We did not get greeted or water or anything for at least 15 mins. It took another 30 mins to order. We also asked for water refills 4 times and one of us even got up and walked over to the staff to ask for a refill and nothing happened. The staff would just stand around and talk to each other. When appetizers came, they only brought 3 plates for 6 of us. Getting plates took another 5-10 mins and by that time, our foie gras got cold and did not taste as good. They did not check on us except at the end when we were one of two tables left in the whole restaurant. The only positive was the food was decent. The staff needs more training. If the manager is reading, the meal was on Feb 8th, 2014 dinner time.

Room Tip: For oceanview rooms, stay lower than building 30 so you don't get palm tress blocking you. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghetoangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar in Los Cabos. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your visit to De Cortez restaurant. We appreciate your feedback and will definitely look further into the matter. However, we are happy you enjoyed your overall stay and encourage you to return soon! We can't wait to show you we provide exceptional customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel Dec 23, 2013 for 7 nights. Two rooms were reserved, one king
for my wife and myself and one room with two queen beds for my son and daughter in
law and their two daughters age 10 and 13. The reservation was made by my travel agent
through a respected booking firm that packaged the deal+ airfare +transfers (Travel
Impressions). Deposit and accommodation were acknowledged April 8, 2013. Full
payment was tendered 6 weeks before we left home. We arrived at the hotel at about
6:20 PM with an on time air arrival, luggage claim and pick up by the transfer agent. On
check in, the duty manager was called and advised us that we were the last ones to arrive, we "should have come earlier", they were full and had only two rooms left, both kings. He further stated " The only thing we guarantee is the room view."

About an hour and a half later we were advised they found a roll away, but only had one, but "it was big". Well it wasn't big, but a small single -ok for the 13 year old, but not both grandchildren. The 10 year old tried to sleep that night on a one armed loveseat, with her back at a 60 degree angle and her legs hanging over the edge. We were promised they would move us in the morning if there was an opening, or find another roll away bed. After 4 trips to the front desk by 3PM they had found a second roll away! But once installed the two roll away beds were flush with the edge of the king bed and the window, completely blocking access to the desk and
telephone. We bumped into a couple and their two older teen daughters who had bought
a 3 day package from Costco Travel and arrived December 24. Their reserved accommodation was not available so they were given a three bedroom suite.

We paid up front 6 weeks in advance, we reserved 8 months in advance,we flew from
Minneapolis to Cabo. We arrived on time when we were scheduled to arrive. They knew there were six but had bedding for 4.

This is not acceptable. My travel agent has spent a month trying to contact guest relations for
Sheraton in Mexico by email with no response. For a $15,000 week (with economy air)
we deserve better from Sheraton. We arrived when we were booked to arrive (from some 2000 miles away). We paid for confirmed accommodation way in advance and were told we came too late to claim what we paid for.

Room Tip: Only come here if you all expect to share a king size bed. That's what was offered for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We deeply apologize for any inconvenience this miscommunication may have caused you and your family. Our management team will contact you via email in hopes to resolve this matter. Once again, we apologize for this occurrence and we appreciate your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great place for a vacation stay. Great property on the beach with a great pool area. The vistas, beach, weather were phenomenal. SPG Platinum upgrade to to bi-level two bedroom room on the inner courtyard with a view of the ocean. Nice room. Buffet was decent but without the SPG Platinum discount it would be darn expensive for the food. No other options nearby. Service was good and no complaints. Checkin, like most every international hotel, takes 10 minutes longer than in the US. Bellmen were very friendly. English may be the first language for most locals in Cabo; often I had a hard time picking up any discernible accents! I know for certain the USD is the local currency. ATM at the hotel charges 7% so bring cash.

Some things to keep in mind. Location is not close to downtown Cabo and it is a $20 USD cab ride to and from the hotel which I find very expensive and I am from Boston. They have a shuttle but runs every 90 minutes which is almost useless. The taxis are 8 person vans and they go nearly empty into town. Seems like an area for improvement.

$90 USD from airport but $55 USD to airport from hotel (odd). There are no meters on the taxis in Cabo and negotiation is a negative. Taxis have spread the word and no chance to find better options. You need cash for taxis--and a lot of it.

Sheraton guests receive 10% discount at the Del Sol Ocean and Desert Courses. Played both of them. Ocean Course was probably best golf experience of my life. Postcard on every other hole. Ocean Course gives you tacos on the turn! Delicious.

I would definitely go back.

If it were closer to Cabo it would be a 10

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you chose us to accommodate you while visiting Los Cabos. We hope to see you back at the resort real soon. We love our SPG members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar for 5 days in January, the third consecutive year we have vacationed there. We stay in the hotel part of the property, as opposed to the time-share part. We are preferred guests with Starwood, so enjoy an upgrade to a suite. The beds are comfortable, the rooms roomy and very nicely appointed. The staff is first-rate across the board. Our stays have been peaceful and relaxing. The dining options are a good match for us, and the price comparable for a restaurant of equivalent quality at home (Washington, DC.) Our favorite, especially for a quality breakfast is Girasoles. which is atop on of the time-shared buildings. A meal at the Pitahayas restaurant is a great experience, with a location overlooking the beach to match. The De Cortez Grill has an equally impressive location. On previous visits, De Cortez had some shortcomings, particularly in service. Still a notch below the Pitahaynas, but now a good steak-type restaurant I will be happy to visit again. Same goes for the Sheraton itself. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batesczsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar on TripAdvisor. We are honored you chose us as your favorite vacation spot, and even more thrilled you loved the property. We can't wait to service you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We have been going to the Hacienda since 1996, and it still looks like a new resort every time we go. The staff are friendly and always willing to help. Even though they are constantly adding new buildings and pools etc. you never feel like it is annoying. The restaurants are very good, some a bit pricey, but on par with any nice restaurant in Cabo. Garasoles has a great breakfast deal, it is one price for all you can eat not a buffet just order off menu, and if you want more just order like if you order an omelet, fruit, toast, and then you want more like French or pancakes they bring you that. Best part is it includes Bloody Mary's and Mimosas. The property is located between San Jose ( which is growing) and downtown Cabo. It is best to rent a car if you plan on leaving the resort much. There is plenty to do in the area. Fishing is great, ask around at the hotel, they should be able to give you name of reputable Captain. Many restaurants will cook your catch for around $10/$15 per person, they provide the sides. Would def. recommend eating at The Winery in Cabo for a nice dinner, but if you just want some good food reasonable try Latitude 22.
There is a Costco, Sam's Club and Wall Mart where you can get groceries (if you are in a time share) also alcohol.
Speaking of Timeshares you will be approached as son as you arrive at airport, be careful, they try to lure in at car rental stands and everywhere around. If you rent a car, go to the kiosk that is for that company and make sure your name is on their list. Just about everywhere you go in and around Cabo there are Timeshare people, including the hotel. If you are willing to give up a couple hours if your vacation they offer some nice perks, like restaurant vouchers, car rental, golf. Just be careful who you talk to, some are really pushy.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for the amazing review of the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos on TripAdvisor. We're delighted to hear you loved your stay with us. Our staff works very hard to make sure all of our guests are accommodated by providing them with first-rate service. We hope to see you here again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed the first week of February and throughly enjoyed every minute of it. The resort is pristine, constantly being maintained by housekeepers and landscapers alike. Everyone -- from the pool towel clerk to the restaurant servers to the front desk personnel -- is courteous, warm, welcoming, and eager to serve. The food at Tomates and De Cortez is 5-star, and the service parallels that quality. I'm picky about details, and this place exceeded my expectations!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Comber_0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for providing the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar, Los Cabos with this stellar review on TripAdvsior. We appreciate your compliments and thank you very much for choosing us to host your vacation. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
5.4 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
15.5 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
4.7 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar

Property: Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Grand Los Cabos, Hacienda del Mar captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing