We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation in 10 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midwest
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best vacation in 10 years”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Our travel agent suggested this resort for our 10 year anniversary and it was a gift to go. We selected to stay six nights and used the all inclusive plan. We are not time share members either.

Pros- if you like quiet, smaller resorts that are impeccably maintained, this is it! There are beautiful views of the Sea of Cortez and Mendano beach. Easy to get to the beach and water sports. Everyone is so helpful and friendly. Jorge was one of our favorite employees who was helpful with suggestions and chatting to us. Loved the pool area and drink service. Again we had all inclusive and very worth it if you want to have drinks and food! Otherwise you will pay big time. Since we were at Arco, we could ride the trolley to the resort, Palamar, next door and eat there too. We enjoyed the Italian restaurant called Bella there for breakfast and dinner but otherwise we stayed at Arco. They have two reservation restaurants and two very casual eateries. We had a studio room versus the suites but it offered a nice view and met our needs since we were at the pool from sun up to sunset. Love the pools. There are 3 wonderfully maintained pools and 2 hot tubs.the chairs are plentiful but we did get up early to get the spot we wanted each day. We enjoyed ocean views every day after swimming in the pool or ocean. If there is anything you ever need, just ask! A quiet resort at night making it a nice way to end the day if you are not into bar hopping and clubs. It shuts down at 10:30

Cons: very few... we got suckered into a 3 hour time share presentation. Granted it saved us $200 on our 4 excursions, but they were pushy by the end making us very upset as we said no thanks many, many times. No swim up bar and free water sports have been eliminated. Lastly, you will sign for everything if on the all inclusive plan and can't enjoy the drinks in your room fridge unless you buy them. Never have we had that happen at any all inclusive.

Activities: snorkeling with Cabo Escape. Sailboat with Tropicat. Parasail! Plenty of chances to sail around the arches too. Go to town to eat once. Vendors are on the beach. Walking distance to bars on the beach but be prepared to go a mile. I suggest The Mojito for a drink or Hacienda for great Mexican. We did this our last night and really enjoyed it. Get a taxi one way or the other. Water taxis are available during the day too so negotiate for a $4 pp ride. We took a water taxi to Pelican Beach and Lovers Beach but went back to Pelican Beach another day because there is GREAT snorkeling and sand. Vendors are ruthless but bargain for everything!

We loved this place. So much to do and enjoy. Minus being a timeshare haven, it is a beautiful and quaint resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdog612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,906
    537
    124
    64
    40
See reviews for
1,087
957
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at VdA in 2010 and thought it was great and we were hoping it would be as good this time. Enough food and drink ops on site for days you want to hang at the resort, but close enough to town to try out the great Cabo San Lucas restaurants.

Our hopes were met. The resort was in top shape, the staff was service oriented and extremely nice as usual. Other reviewers have complained about staff but I have never seen anything but great service at VdA. The Spa was fantastic, restaurants were good for lunch and breakfast (we went into town for dinner every night).

No pressure from the timeshare people. We are timeshare owners and we just said we weren't interested once and no one bothered us after that.

We (2 people) had a 1 bedroom suite, that was spacious and in perfect condition with daily maid service.

VdA has a great location. We walked up the beach for dinner one night, and walked into town the other nights.

We plan to come back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpinteria, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have had multiple trips to Cabo and this hotel keeps you a safe distance from the bars, but lets you participate in the wildness if you want to! Walking distance for downtown, Medano Beach, the Marina, if you are a walker. Short cab ride, if you are not. Don't miss the simple excellence of fish tacos at Gardenias in town, coldest beer at Captain Tony's. Lying by the pool or on the beach, your choice! Much safer roped off area for swimming than other hotels, not as steep a drop from the shore.Service is the best, friendliest and most accommodating you will find anywhere. Can't say enough about the excellent spa and gym too. Services are with the best products and very professionally delivered. Wet area(hot and cold jacuzzi, dry sauna, eucalyptus steam room,rain shower, waterfall shower) is the best ever. Separate men's area too.

Room Tip: Asking for a room that overlooks the garden on the ground floor tends to ensure a quieter room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was probably our best year at Villa del Arco in Cabo San Lucas. This was our 14th year to vacation in Cabo. Stayed at Villa del Palmar until del Arco opened in 2007 and have been at del Arco ever since. The view is the best! We don't walk to town, but for those with no walking problems, it is a nice walk along the beach or on the road. Great pool for children. Hope to take my grandchildren next year. Not much night life at the resort, but many opportunities in town. Have been an owner since 2000.

Room Tip: We prefer a unit on the ground floor because of mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visit yearly the end of June and are never disappointed. It has breathtaking views with quiet rooms and wonderful staff. We appreciate being able to cook in the rooms and usually do a Costco taxi run which is great for the week with a large group. Sometimes we are with our extended family and sometimes a group of adult friends. Everyone loves all the views from the various rooms. The local mini market on site is also convenient. We use the gym and the tennis courts and appreciate all the offerings. We don't usually use the spa services because they seem too expensive compared to what we pay in the U.S.
The staff is always helpful and we have a wonderful time with our large group that ranges from 8 - 16 people. Have fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123DOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After staying 4 nights at the Esperanza, we finished our week in Cabo at the Villa del Arco with my 3 children (ages 14, 13, and 10) and my husband and mother-in-law. We had a 2 bedroom unit that sleeps 7 comfortably. There was a small kitchenette area but we were on the all-inclusive plan so we really did not need to cool. When we arrived our room was ready early which was awesome! We had lunch on the pirate ship that sits inside the pool area. Very cool for my 10 year old son. Because I felt like we paid a very good price for our stay, I was not thinking the food would be all that great. I have to say we were all amazed at the quality of the food from meal one! From the burgers, guac and chips to the pizza and saw bass sandwich on the lunch menu, we all feasted like kings and queens during our stay. We ate at the seafood/sushi restaurant 2 of the three nights because the food was so amazing. The ambiance with the restaurant being right on the ocean was SO BEAUTIFUL and the service was first class. Whether we were hanging by the pool drinking fruity drink after fruity drink or eating at the breakfast buffet, everyone provided service with a smile and a willingness to please. It's obvious the employees here aim to please and take lots of pride in their work. I only used the exercise room once but was amazed at how big and clean it was and not to mention how nice all of the updated equipment was. 5 stars for the work out room for sure! We were sort of expecting to be disappointed after staying 4 nights at the Esperanza before moving to the Villa del Arco, but I have to say, it was the perfect place to finish our week in Cabo. It was much more lively for the kids, and I would DEFINITELY recommend the all-inclusive plan. No one, ever, made you feel like you were taking advantage of the system because you were wearing a wrist band that signified all-inclusive. I definitely think there is a whole lot of value in choosing the all-inclusive plan at this resort! My mother-in-law and I also got massages at Eden's on the public beach (their tent has the Trip Advisor logo on it btw). We paid 30$ for a very good hour long massage. I didn't use the Spa at Villa del Arco but can only imagine how nice it must be based off of the exercise facility. I think this would be a great place to come back to with several families. :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollTideMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is the 3rd time we have been here. I am 62 and my hubby is 63. This is the perfect hotel for us. It's not noisy at all. Laying by the pool is shear delight. Never overcrowded and they have a special pool the little ones can enjoy. It's mostly us older people by the main pool so it makes it so enjoyable. If you are new at the Hotel you will get the timeshare people trying to get you to go to their presentation. Just say no if you are not interested. We don't even get bothered anymore. Some friends were down at the same time and they stayed at the Villa Palmar next door. I walked over there and it is a lot noisier and crowed than the Del Arco. If you are young and like party time that would be the Hotel for you. I'm sticking with the Del Arco!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dudley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#22 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,183 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
1.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create magical memories the minute you walk into Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa in Cabo San Lucas, an idyllic and delightful retreat, where the staff is committed to ensuring you get the best of the 3 Rs: relaxation, recreation and romance. This sophisticated five-star, all-suite property, often referred by past guests as calming, beautiful and comfortable, offers secluded stretches of beach where you can shut out the world and relish in the surroundings. Our comfortable, yet luxurious suites feature unbeatable views of sand and sea, including the exotic El Arco rock formation, the official symbol of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing