We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Cabo, just not the resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I just arrived home from a 7-day stay at Hacienda Encantada and was not impressed to say the least. I did my research before booking and read many reviews and it seemed like a good deal. My friend and I decided to go to the timeshare presentation on day 2, as we were promised $200 in spa coupons to do so. The presentation was not 1.5 hours as stated to us, it was closer to 2.5 hours which was cutting in to our vacation time. Our sales rep, DC, needs a class in customer service. He told us members do not like to hang out at the pool etc with non-members, which to me makes no sense. If you are a member and love the property why wouldn't you want to spread the word so others would buy? He said the reason we got such a great deal is because the Hacienda Encantada partners with Expedia to get people in for the sales promotion. He also said once you stay as a non-member you can never stay there again, unless ofcourse you buy. No worries, I would never want to stay again and/or recommend the resort to anyone.

In the evening of day 2, I got severe food poisoning!! I had to get the on-call physician to come to my room and give me a shot to stop the vomiting. Sadly enough, this is one of the positives of the resort, the physician was there within 30 minutes and he did a wonderful job. The following day, we saw DC on the property and told him how sick I was the night before and his customer service skills were off again. He said oh it's just a little Montezuma's revenge, nothing a jump in 69 deg ocean won't fix, you had some "tainted" food. He never once asked if I was feeling better, etc. None of the employees seemed to care that they were serving "tainted" food, their response was, no one else has gotten sick. I have travelled to several countries and yes it does take some time for your body to adjust to new cuisine but this was true food poisoning (which was the physician's diagnosis).

The resort itself is beautiful and very well maintained. It is perched on a sloping cliff and can be difficult to navigate. They do have golf carts to drive you around the resort, we opted to walk most of the time as we wanted the exercise. But for the elderly and those with any physical disabilitites it could be a bit challenging. Another positive, the guys that drive that carts are very friendly and helpful. I wish I could say more for the rest of the staff, but it just wasn't there and probably never will be.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,839 - 2,845 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our second visit to Hacienda Encantada was great! The resort staff is friendly and helpful. Everyone wants you to enjoy your visit. The pools were warm and inviting. The activities were varied and fun--cooking and water arobics with Fernan were my favorites. Our view of the Sea of Cortez provided us with the opportunity to see hump back whales every day! The unit we were in was clean and very comfortable. A great place to stay in Cabo!!

Room Tip: The top floors offer better views of the Sea of Cortez.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMT11_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Hacienda Encantada Resort is beautiful, no doubt about it, Now only if you could stay there! We had the same problem as Chandise A. We had to wait at least 2 hours before someone finally told us that they were over booked and we would have to stay at the Marina Fiesta. We too were compensated but not without a hassle every day. What made matters worse was that our friends, who are owners, were staying at the Hacienda. Nice way to treat your owners friends! We heard every excuse under the sun as to why this happened. We had booked our room in June of 2011. That didn't mean a thing. I've never heard so much double talk in my life. The Marina Fiesta is an old hotel and doesn't begin to compare to the Hacienda. I would guess at least 90 percent of the people staying at the Marina were people who had reservations at the Hacienda Encantada. It seems unbelievable but everyone we spoke with were in the same situation. We did however enjoy the Marina Fiestas location - right on the Marina where there are a lot shops and restaurants. Of course, that means noise! Cabo is beautiful but unless you are a member don't think that the reservaion you have for the Hacienda Encantada will mean a thing. Book some where else! There are many beautiful resorts in Cabo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank spmjks1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We just returned from a 5-day stay here through Groupon and it was wonderful. It is a timeshare property, but I never felt like they treated us any differently in terms of service, even though we were part of the Groupon package. Every staff member was very friendly and accomodating Our package included breakfast buffet every day (seriously the best I have had at a resort), a romantic dinner and a free bottle of wine. What a deal--this was the most affordable trip I've taken in awhile.

You will be staying in Phase 2 if you aren't an owner, and most of the rooms do not have the amazing view...but really, who wants to stay in their room the whole time anyway? We had a ground level suite with a large patio next to the community area where they have the lightly-attended nightly activities. We had a sliver of a view, but it also felt very private and I just appreciated the ability to sit on a patio in the middle of March. So just know that you may not get an ocean view, but it's pretty easy to walk up to the restaurant or the pool and enjoy the view whenever you want. I didn't find the golf carts necessary or intrusive. If you really feel the need to skip the great exercise in walking to dinner, just start walking and one of the friendly drivers will find you and give you a lift. It's really not that far of a walk anywhere in the resort and I feel it just adds to the charm.

The timeshare people here are relentless, but everyone is trying sell you something in Cabo--just wait until you go downtown, it gets worse. Just be firm with them and you will be fine. We talked to someone who got stuck in a timeshare presentation for 3 hours, so I would advise against it.

I was not impressed with Cabo San Lucas itself--the beach was nice, but you can't relax when people are trying to sell you something every 5 minutes. There's a little bit of Spring Break action going on, but it didn't seem as out of control as I would have expected. The price-gouging in town is horrendous. I found the hotel had reasonable prices on food and drinks, and the little store had comparable prices to the grocery store where we stocked up before checking in. After going into town, we didn't feel the need to leave the resort. The only cons I can think of is the smoking around the pool is kind of irritating sometimes and transportation costs can add up, since the resort is removed from the airport and all the action. Great vacation and I definitely recommend Hacienda Encantada for anyone looking for relaxation and great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room in Phase 2 if you want views. They may or may not give it to you, but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpediemology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The resort property is very beautiful. The infinity pool overlooking the Sea of Cortez was lovely. The weather during the day was perfect but it was a little cool and breezy at night. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean with a great view. The food at Las Marias was just average. Fernan, the activities director was great - so friendly and enthusiastic but not pushy at all - just a very warm and kind person. The whale watching excursion was well worth it!
My only complaint with the resort is that we felt railroaded into the vacation club presentation that took over 3 hours rather than 90 minutes. Other than that, the staff was great and we enjoyed our stay. Also, be careful of rental car rates. They don't warn you when you book online that some insurance is mandatory from the rental car companies.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor in Phase two so you will get a beautiful view and nice new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My boyfriend and I bought a Living Social deal to come here for a 4 night stay. It was absolutely wonderful. The staff are just lovely, so kind and helpful. The views are incredible, and it was great eating breakfast every morning at Las Marias with that view of the ocean and Land's End. I read complaints from people before our trip about how they were placed in Phase Two of the resort with "views of the construction" and how unhappy they were about that, and to them I say... they're being ridiculous. We were in Phase Two and yes, when you're walking from the elevator to your room you can see that they are planning construction of a Phase Three behind the tall, lovely, vine covered wall that separates the resort from the desert behind it. But its not a big deal, and our actual balcony view overlooked the gorgeous courtyard, pool, and a bit of the ocean. We were very happy with it. Also, its a drive away from the Marina where all the 'action' is, but they have a shuttle that take you there and it wasn't a problem for us either. We much preferred staying at the calm and relaxing Hacienda Encantada and taking the shuttle than staying near the crazy and loud and exciting marina.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We just got back from a month long stay at Hacienda Encantada and can't wait to get back. The resort itself is beautiful and very clean. The grounds are immaculate and the view is priceless. I always feel totally safe and secure at the resort and the surrounding area. The above mentioned are must have criteria for us to consider staying at a resort but what makes this place special are the people that work there. Fernan, the activities director, is absolutely wonderful. He is always upbeat and smiling and greets everyone as if they are his friends. Really knows how to get everyone involved and having fun. Now as for the bus boys an cart drivers I can't say enough. What a great group of guys. Victor, Francisco, Paul, Allen and on and on. From the front desk people, the wait staff, and the sales people they were all great. Thanks so much for a great time.

Room Tip: higher rooms best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your experience during your recent stay. It is with great pleasure that we have read your report filled with such valuable feedback and we would like to thank you for your high rating.
Hopefully you will be able to come back soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,047 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.5 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,815 reviews
1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
4.3 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £112 - £775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular contemporary hacienda style luxury all-inclusive resort located on the tourist corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing