We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but terrible service and experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

After an hour long wait to get through immigration, YES!! And I might also add an absolute chaos at the immigration section!! We arrived at Casa Dorada just to experience another hour long delay in getting our room. When we made our reservation, we were told we would get a section away from mango deck and possibly get upgraded. They ofcourse did not upgrade nor put is in a quiet section. We were assigned to 3xx section which is right where the lobby is and it tends to be very noisyduring early AM when you do want to sleep in! The view out the balcony was straight into the hut where the restaurant is, did get the view of the pool but if you know how this property is built, then you also know that all rooms face out to the pool area..so not a big plus!

Next morning, we decided to go to the restaurant for breakfast instead of fixing something in the condo. A word of caution, the only other people you will find around you at breakfast would be all the early morning timeshare breakfast appointments all around. A huge turn-off!!

I am glad I had read previous commenta on the beach/pool chairs being occupied by the time one got there. So, we did! Hated that we needed to wake up early to go get our chairs, but didnt want to risk not finding any too!

Later in the evening, we went by the concierge to get recommendations on some good Mexican food by the Marina or downtown. There was just one personand he was busy doing something on his computer while taking that one minute to talk to us. BTW, there was no one else around! He gives us one place and says its the best, we ask him how we could get there and he doesnt even make an effort to get a map out or show us the way. He tells us its close to the Marina which we knew how to get to, and then we should as around for directions!!! Never had that experience from
Concierge before! We decide to go by the restaurant with absolutely tired kids. When we get there we find out that they have about 1 hr 45 mins wait and that they couldn't do much for vegetarians! I wS furious by then. Any concierge would have known to call agead to check if it were a popular place, which it seemed it was!

It has been our worst experience by far at any vacation accomodation. I would hope that you read this review and know that if you do decide to stay here, come prepared for this kind of experience!

Stayed: April 2014
9  Thank born_to_travel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Casa_Dorada, General Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Having read your comments we feel very sorry for what happened and the inconveniences that you encountered while staying with us.

Regarding your room location please know that we do our best to accommodate room location and upgrade requests; however, sometimes we are unable to provide specific rooms due to certain factors such as occupancy of the hotel.

As for your additional comments We appreciate you sharing those with me since it’s this type of information that will help us improve. We do hope we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again the next time you are in Cabo.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Service is terrible. No hot water at peak times. Housekeeping failed to clean room, and only cleaned at 8pm in the evening after two requests. Manager not trained to remedy aforementioned situations. Hotel workers apply constant pressure to buy a time share. Not enough servers at the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back on the weekend and spent 7 days at Casa Dorada over Spring Break. Loved the hotel as it was clean and great service. Can't beat the view at this place and it's a very short walk to the marina and nearby restaurants. It was crazy busy on the beach at Mango Deck with college students but died down by 6pm. If you are by the pool you did hear the music and noise but wasn't that bad. I'm sure it's better when it's not spring break. I would recommend staying here but don't bother with the vacation club (timeshare). Not worth dealing with them. We did last year and got a temporary membership to try this place out at a good price. But I would never buy for good. Cabo is no cheap when it comes to eating out so expect to pay what you do in Canada (Vancouver). I did have some great meals at 12 Tribes and l loved Peacocks (must try).

Stayed: March 2014
6  Thank Sonita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing Casa Dorada during your visit to Cabo. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Casa Dorada in the near future.

Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Casa Dorada was an incredible experience from the moment we arrived at the front entry way when we were greeted with free alcoholic beverages (Drinks!!). The room was excellent, the pool was beyond excellent, the staff, security, food, drinks, and location right on the beach in front of Mango's was all just perfect!
We had a junior suite overlooking the pool, beach and ocean. It was more of home than it was a "room", or better yet, let's call it a condo, because that is what it was, it was far more than just a "room".
Highly recommended for families or couples.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with the Junior Suite's overlooking the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank partcentpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Here you are in the absolute heart of the Cabo San Lucas action, Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas. Easily a 4-star venue offering amazing beach views and beachfront access. Stayed with familty third week of March 2014. Nice fitness center, awesome pool and beach. Happy Hour 2X / day, 11AM - 12N and 4-5PM, 7 days a week. All the great places to go in Cabo are easily within walking distance including the Marina, Luxury Mall, great restaurants, shopping. Hotel staff helpful and courteous. I cannot really think of one negative aspect of our stay worth mentioning. OK, maybe the fact that Internet is not free in the rooms. Well, maybe you should shut it off anyway and enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 290markc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is one time share purchase we don't regret. Its a beautiful hotel right there where all the action is. You are walking distance to the mall, marina, and downtown shopping and also right there on Medano beach. It does tend to get a little wild and crazy during spring break month since you are right behind Mando Deck and The Office but the hotel is secured and has great security in order to keep things under control inside the hotel facilities. Great hotel for families as well since they also focus on keeping the kids happy such as a kiddie pool, Playroom for the kids with babysitters, and gelato bar. We love coming back every year.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor possible for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AggieJAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is my th stay in Cabo and decided to get a bit closer in and stayed at Casa Dorado a 5 star resort. Well I would not say 5 star but 4 star honestly. I love the location which is close to the Marina but it is right on top of a bar and the office resteraunt and the noise is significant and you have multiple locations playing music and not the same music. Kind of hard to relax. The rooms are nice but not great. I had a 1 bedroom 2 bath. The kitchen is a bit weak with not real stove top, minimal utensils, not even paper towels and they charge for everything. The fit and finsih is okay but not like other resorts like Pacifica or La Estancia which are amazing. When we arrived we had to wait 3 hours for a room and good news custmer service said they would give us some info. The guy that approached us was Jose and he was very nice and full of info but ah ha he is really a time share person. He says he sell memberships not a time share at all. Take my advice stay away from guest relations and tell them not even willing ot discuss a membership that is why you are booking througha hotel site. If you are intrested then it may be for you but we are not intrested in so called memberships or timeshares which usuallly can be bought for 25% of their origianl value on website. The pool is nice and the resteraunts decent. I would not eat from the pool bar and grill not good.

Room Tip: Ask a local for resteraunts and tips. Bring lots of $5 and $1 so you dont have to worry about makin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stevedenver033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.9 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
10.2 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £230 - £610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing