We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

For our first visit to Cabo, we wanted to be sure we stayed somewhere with a swimmable beach and after reading all the TA reviews, we chose Casa Dorada. Got a really good deal through Orbitz for a Jr. Suite room. The property is beautiful! As soon as you walk into the lobby you can see the ocean and it seems that every room has an ocean view. We got lucky and our room was upgraded to a 1 bedroom (possibly because we agreed to sit through the 90-min presentation). The room was basically right next to the lobby and I was worried that it might be noisy, but it wasn't at all. They have great soundproofing. We really didn't even hear the party noise at Mango Deck which was good news for us as we aren't really the "club" type of people. The room was huge and had a full kitchen and the bed was super comfortable for us. We loved the lounge chairs on the balcony by the bedroom. My only critique on the room would be that there is no shelf or anywhere in the shower to place your soap, etc., so the soap gets kinda melty really fast. Also, they should put some kind of rug to wipe your feet when you return to the room because no matter how hard you try, you still track in sand from the beach. Minor things, but thought I'd mention. Also, wifi here is not free. This is a pretty pricey hotel, and you would think they could include the wifi. The good news is that we were even able to get the wifi coverage down on the beach so at least we got our money's worth. :-)

The service here was great! We had lunch a couple of times at Trattoria and the pizza were yummy. The servers on the beach were super friendly. Especially Martin, Laura and Silvia.

We were very happy to see how many chairs and umbrellas they had on the beach. We were always able to find a spot. It was also nice to see that the beach vendors are not allowed in the roped-off area unless you are buying something from them. It's a very entertaining parade of vendors that goes by all day long.

We would definitely stay here again when we go back to Cabo. It was so hard to leave!

Room Tip: We had room 319 which is right at the lobby/front door of the hotel. Great view and not noisy at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 2hounddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 2,089 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Awesome property!!! Beautifully maintained. We didn't want an all-inclusive because we knew the food really wasn't worth the added expense. Instead, we chose to invest in our accommodations (vs a buffet). Great choice on our part!! And...we fully stocked our kitchen with items from the nearby Wal-Mart. Back to the property...we waited 2 hours because of our early arrival which was fine (we hung out poolside), and it was worth the wait. Check in was fast and courteous. Bags were handled accordingly. We upgraded to the 1BR unit on a whim and found it to be as stunning as the views themselves. Our unit was huge, clean, super clean, and the bed was more comfortable than my own (all good things to say about everything else as well). 2 large balconies overlooked the pool with the rock formations in the backdrop. If you're looking for a rowdy party, this may not be the resort for you. This is where people go to relax. Families and couple abound. However, if you want the party vibe, the Orange Mango (local restaurant and bar) is just down the steps (literally). We spent hours in the resort's pool meeting fellow guests while at the swim-up bar (get the nachos from the swim up bar!!) and later walked to the beach....then right back to the property! The hotel has a roped beach area but if you decide to venture beyond the ropes towards the water...BEWARE OF VENDORS :-) Again, we loved the property, zero complaints. It was like being in a luxury apartment for 4 days! Going back

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view. We were 6th floor (of 8). Not sure how the regular rooms look, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here in January for 5 days, a great anniversary trip and first trip leaving our two young children! It was great! Upon arrival we were given the choice of keeping our reserved room or upgrading to a 1 bedroom suite on the ground level. We opted for the suite and it was so nice. We didn't have a view, but we liked being so close to the pool. We had great service, good food and a lovely time. We were on the side by 12 tribes (away from Mango Deck) and never noticed any noise. You could hear some of the music during the day when by the pool but it didn't bother us. We actually liked being so close to the beach bars - when we got tired of lounging by the pool we went down for a drink a some entertainment. This was definitely a more mellow crowd - no college students or rowdy groups. Just couples and a few families.
We enjoyed the coffee bar for breakfast and the pool bar for lunch. We went out for dinner-try Edith's, Los Tres Gallos and Tacos Gardenias. The Office Restaurant on the beach was nice for people watching but the food was just okay.
One downfall was the Wifi - I had to keep logging back into the wifi every time we left the resort. We were using wifi and facetime to keep in touch with our kids, so that was a little stressful. On the last day there I talked to someone at the front desk and she showed me how to prevent that from happening - something about cookies? I should have gone to her on the first day!
We were only bothered by the timeshare people on check-in. After we checked-in we were asked to come sit in the lobby and he would give us an overview of the hotel. He went through all the amenities and where everything is, but when he started talking about a free breakfast and tour we knew it was the timeshare guy. We just politely declined and they never bothered us again. It was a little awkward when we were sitting by the pool relaxing and they would bring tours through, though. It felt a little like we were on display.
We would love to come back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rb4595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

For couples and families! Great location and environment! Food is good, pool is wonderful and perfect location! The pool prices for drinks is not bad at all, they have a two for one special during the day! I love this place, Highly recommend it!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hathah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We are owners here and came back for our 3rd stay at Casa Dorada. The front staff were welcoming and accommodated us by giving us 2 rooms next to each other. We ate at the breakfast buffet twice and liked the custom omelet/pancake station as well as fresh squeezed juices. The location of the hotel is excellent since the walk to the marina and several restaurants are close. We enjoyed the pool service. Many of the pool servers remembered us from our past visits. The pool staff were very helpful in moving umbrellas around to shade our chairs. The only downside about the pool is that people wake up early to reserve seats, but most people don't get to the pool until after lunch. Despite that, we were about to find 3-4 seats together when we went down to the pool around 10am each day. The hotel also had more water toys/noodles/float tubes than before so we were able to get these whenever we asked, which was nice.

The housekeeping staff did not do as good of a job as before. They often forgot to replace our hand and face towels as well as shampoo and toilet paper.

My husband and I had massages at the Saltwater Spa which were excellent. Eduardo and Lucy provided wonderful service.

The hotel does need to update their towels as many of the towels are stained and gray. I did notice that the pool towels have all been replaced since last year. They also need more dining options to make the all-inclusive option more attractive.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and had a relaxing vacation. We will definitely continue to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsleang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We have been there One week on july 2014...perfect location , very big strutture but not dispersive. We received an upgrade to a superior room too:))
The hotel is located few minutes (walking) far from the Marina, restaurant and shopping. It has a private beach with ombrellas shades and a bar services. The beach is swimmeble with very warm water. The only little negative aspect is that is a very busy sea area around there because of the taxi boat and water scooter activities. But if you want in 5 minute by taxi boat you can reach the beautiful arch area with the Lovers beach, the pelican beach and the divorce beach (pacific side).
In 15 minutes by taxi(car) you reach the Santa Maria beach ( a pubblic but very well equipped beach) with wonderful water and a couple of diving spots.
The hotel has a choice of restaurant if you don't want to go have lunch and dinner outside of the hotel.
We had a very positive experience there!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Clean rooms beautiful pool. This hotel is in the prime location. The beach directly in front of the hotel is calm and warm. Swimming in the ocean is so relaxing. The Office restaurant is a three minute walk. The marina is a 5 minute walk. I love this hotel and would definitely recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Nicki_Nazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: £165 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing