We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but avoid the timeshare salespeople”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but avoid the timeshare salespeople”
Reviewed 31 January 2009

The hotel is well located and has great amenities. The rooms are large, great views and the service is great. Unfortunately, there is no way to avoid the timeshare sales atmosphere at this hotel. The first person to greet you as you enter the hotel is a host who wants to set you up for a timeshare breakfast and who won't take no for an answer. Everywhere during the stay guests were being hustled to buy timeshares. Our next visit will be to a hotel that has no timeshares, but if you want to buy one, this is the place.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank dcorkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    422
    123
    60
    52
See reviews for
578
873
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

My wife and I are one of three couples who have traveled together for a few years. One of our group has a time share at Casa Dorada and we all went there the first week of January. We have been on cruises together, and have been to more islands then I can count, along with the east coast of Mexico, we love to party and eat well and relax. Casa Dorada was just wonderful, we all booked again there for this coming May. Cabo is fantastic and truly has it all. Casa is so close to everything that we never felt the need to rent a car, and taxis are plentiful. You can also just walk the couple of blocks to the harbor and downtown Cabo. The resort is very clean, with a huge pool area comparable with the best you would find at any 5 star resort, but the real star at Casa Dorada is the people who work there. I have never had better service from nicer people anywhere I have ever traveled. A day at the pool is pure joy, you can quickly and easily get drinks or food delivered to your lounge chair and this service is there even if your on the beach. We ate at a few restaurants that were all good, but for ourselves the real favorite was Twelve Tribes located at Casa Dorada. The food and service there are outstanding along with being right on the beach! Rooms are large with fantastic beds, full kitchens and room service 24/7.
I never write reviews but I was so impressed with Casa Dorada I just wanted people to find out how wonderful it is.

  • Liked — the pool area
  • Disliked — Its a long flight from my area, but worth it
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rickyandtherockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We spent a week here just prior to Christmas and had a great time. the location of the hotel is fantastic, the rooms are huge and the views are spectacular.
the only negatives we have are the timeshare - we finally gave in and didvone, it took over 2.5 hours (not the 90 minutes they promise you) and once we had finished there was somebody waiting for us to try and get us to do another one in San Jose.
The main disappointment was the budget rental in the lobby. DONT USE THEM. go to a company in the town (dollar is meant to be good). they were hopeless to deal with, kept insisting on charging us more than what was quoted and when we checked our visa statement they had charged us triple for what we signed for. very dishonest and cheeky.
the hotel itself is a beautiful property and the restaurant was delicious (we had a bbq dinner there) with prices comparable to those in town.
Paco - the pool concierge was the best staff member there who tried to help where he could.

  • Liked — view and location
  • Disliked — timeshare push
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank chevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement01, Guest Services Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2009
Dear chevey,
It is great to know that you had a good time at Casa Dorada! Nevertheless we are sorry to read about your incidents with Budget Car Rental. At Casa Dorada we are very conscious that third party providers influence guests’ perceptions of our hotel; that is precisely why we selected highly reputable companies as our partners to provide certain services. We have brought up this subject with Budget; they are most apologetic and contrite for the issues that you had to go through.
By the way, we have commended Paco for his efforts and dedication!

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We spent 6 days at Casa Dorada in Dec. 2008. The resort is on the best stretch of swimmable beach in Cabo with activities for the whole family within walking distance. The hotel is amazing, 5 stars, the rooms are modern, comfortable, meticulously clean, with amazing views. Our room was the studio with kitchenette. We had a rental car and went to Costco (greatest store ever) to get plenty of snacks and drinks. There are fantastic restaurants surrounding the propery and the hotel's 3 restaurants are great. The poolside grill was our lunch location with delicous and affordable food and drinks and a great sirloin burger. 12 Tribes sits overlooking the ocean with amazing food and service. The service at the hotel was excellent, and the conceirge service goes above and beyond to accomadate any of your wants. Our son is 2 years old, he had a great time and loved the glass bottom boat ride to lovers beach. My wife and I enjoyed the relaxed and family atmosphere around the hotel. My favorite service was not allowing reserving poolside chairs with towels and books. If chairs are unattended for 30 min. the pool conceirge clears them so they can be used. We never had a problem getting poolside seating! We will definitely be will going back to Casa Dorada - next time deep sea fishing and golf!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Kitchenette needed larger fridge and an oven would have been great.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank travelkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement01, Guest Services Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2009
Dear Travelkam,
We are glad to read that you had a wonderful time with us! Incidentally, we understand how annoying it can be not to find a lounge chair or pool bed, so it’s wonderful to know that details as the first-come-first-serve policy on lounge chairs is noticed and appreciated.
Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We arrived in Cabo on the 14 of December and we stayed 8 nights. The weather could not have been better. Casa Dorada is a beautiful property. The Hotel is in a perfect location. No car or taxi needed to go most places. Here is my best summary of our trip!

RESTAURAUNTS

Peacock, GREAT food, amazing atmosphere, one block from the hotel. The courtyard setting only added to the delicious food that was presented. Make sure you have the lobster dumplings. Ther were wonderful

Salvatores. A MUST. Family run and operated. Simply the best italian food I have ever had. In fact we went baack two times. The portions are huge, and the quality great.

Patagonia. LOVED IT.. Great for a steal or a hibachi filled with lamb, sausage., flank steak and more. Again, family run and delicious.

HOTEL

Very nice rooms with HUGE balconies. We spent hours watching all the activites on Medano beach. The water and view of Lovers Beach could not have been any better.
We had a two bedroom unit which was alm ost 2000 sq feet. Immaculate and relaxing, with inviting colors.

WATCH OUt FOR the concierge. She will try to sell you on local restauaunts where she receives a kickback. Stay away. Make your own decisions based on other peoples reviews. We heard they make a few bucks per person to recommend certain restauaunts. The only other negatives, the bed. VERY hard, uncomforable, and the time share people, well, lets just say they never go away.

Cabo is a beautiful beautiful place. It has gorgeous weather, nice people and great food!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tstier5625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement01, Guest Service Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2009
Dear tstier5625,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as Casa Dorada’s spacious rooms!
Nevertheless, we are sorry to read that you were disappointed with our Concierge services. As you may know, some restaurants at Los Cabos –as in many other destinations– offer incentives to foster their business. In order to avoid venue partiality, we monitor Concierges’ weekly/monthly reservation patterns, as well as guest feedback from restaurants suggested by our staff. We will be frank in saying that this is the first report of its kind and, quite the opposite, we usually receive praise from our Concierges; nonetheless, we will be closely observing our team. If there is a specific associate that proved unethical, do not hesitate to report him/her at quality.assurance at casadorada.com, as this is not an attitude sponsored by Casa Dorada.
It will be a pleasure to host you back at beautiful Los Cabos.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Just returned from a 4 day vacation in Cabo with plans to return soon. Wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else—the Casa Dorada is perfect. Quick summary:

Airport arrival and transfer: We had pre-arranged airport transportation already coordinated via Gray Line (graylineloscabos.com). Highly recommend the use of their services. Minimal wait leaving the airport (and were on-time picking us up), great customer service, and cheap prices. (TransCabo was another transportation service that also appeared to be popular.) For two people, we booked via their website for ~$80USD roundtrip for two people. Quick word of advice—expect to be greeted by timeshare vendors all offering a “free ride.” Navigating through them was not a problem—we just continued to walk until we reached outside and find Gray Line. Not a big deal.

Hotel: We booked a regular single room and were upgraded to a two room suite with Jacuzzi. The rooms were absolutely amazing. The hotel is 6 months old—everything is clean and brand new. We ordered room service two of the nights. The food is better than average—typical room service quality—and the prices were reasonable. The hotel is located directly behind the Mango Deck (never went to it but it was popular) and The Office (went there 4 times—more below). Even more impressive than our room was the free usage of the Saltwater Spa. It has a better than average fitness center and a fantastic steam room, whirlpool, and sauna. Very impressive, especially since it was free.

The pool was very nice. Lounge chairs were especially comfortable and were never a problem reserving. They had happy hour (2x1) and the swim-up bar was relaxing. Quick note—recommend going early since the sun will set behind the hotel at 3pm or so.

Activities. The only activity we did was to rent a taxi to take us out the Lover’s Beach. For $10/person, the guide took us out and around the rocks and back. It took about 45 minutes and would recommend it. Some people get off and spend more time at the beach—we chose to go out and come back without getting off.

Food. We only went to two places besides our hotel. La Europa and the Office. First, with La Europa, it was a great deal. It is like a European Deli in which you order your sandwich, grab a bottle of wine/champagne, and sit out on the patio. We ordered a cheese and meat plate, a bottle of wine, and a Greek Salad for $30USD. It is located next door to the Ruth’s Chris in the Marina.
We also went to The Office. The food is comparable to On The Border but the service is fantastic and the setting is memorable. Advice: I would not sit on the row of tables closest to the water as you will be interrupted by street vendors. Sit on the second row and will not be bothered.
Other restaurants available are Ruth’s Chris, Hard Rock, and Edith’s (highly recommended by those who go to Cabo frequently). Edith’s is directly across the street from the hotel and Ruth’s Chris (in the Marina) is very walkable and only four blocks away.

After reading many of the reviews, two things surprised me. One, the timeshare push was not as bad as I expected (thought Kauai and Jamaica were worse). We were very direct upfront and they left us alone. Second, we found Cabo’s prices very reasonable. The lunches at the Office were ~$50USD for two meals and 3-4 margaritas. Room service was about the same.

There is a small grocery located in front of the hotel we used to purchase water and alcohol. They also had some snacks available. Milk-size container of water was ~$3USD.
In all, Cabo was fantastic. It is definitely a more thirty-something crowd with a strong California feel. In comparing it to other beach vacations (Cancun, Cozumel, and Kauai), I would put it at the top. Cabo is much more trendy and a good time.

  • Liked — Spa and Hotel Room
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank ClarkWGriswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManagement01, Guest Service Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 January 2009
Dear ClarkWGriswald,
We are happy to know that your vacation at Cabo and your stay at Casa Dorada were so good! Indeed, it has been frequently mentioned that the location of our property –so centrally located and close to, well, almost everything in San Lucas– is perfect. Thank you for your praise!
Best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

I love this place. Its located on the beach behind the Mango Deck and The Office. You can pretty much walk to all desired locations from here. We would walk daily to the downtown area or walk along the beach to get to the marina. There is no need to rent a car if you stay here.
The 1 bedroom that sleeps 4 is nice if you end up on the bed. As an adult you do not want to end up on the lumpy sofa sleeper. As for the rest of the room its all very nice. Great view from the bedroom, tub,kitchen / living room area of the ocean. We really enjoyed the terrace that had a lounger and table with four chairs.
I cooked a lot in the little kitchen and it was ok. My only issue was the small fridge.
We really enjoyed the pool area. It was nice to have staff come by with ice chilled hand towels on a very hot days. Volleyball and free tequila was great.
The beach lounge area is full of vendors. It seems that if you have keep shaking your head every 5 minutes. Best not to make any eye contact if you have no intentions to buy any items. Despite all of this, we still loved hanging out in the chairs or cabanas.

  • Liked — Its location is great. Everything is within walking distance. Are maid was the best wish i could remember her name! She was so sweet.
  • Disliked — The small fridge.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dulcemanzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#32 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,530 reviews
10.2 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa

Property: Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing