We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort at a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Worldmark Coral Baja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First of all let me say that if I could give this place 4.5 stars instead of 4 i would. This is a well maintained resort with a fantastic staff of people. The pool is beautiful and the hotel is located right on the beach. There are plenty of activities, including a tennis court, a pool table, a foosball table, a putting green, and a gym. And there are also many other activities throughout the week to participate in.

The only reasons I did not give this hotel 5 stars were minor. As others have previously mentioned, they seem to run out of towels at the pool every afternoon. Ants were a problem in our room, even though we washed dishes and cleaned the counters every chance we got. Finally, the spa prices were a little high, but it's not all that surprising.

Overall, we really enjoyed this resort, and we definitely would come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at Worldmark Coral Baja, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our resort upkeep and staff. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the onsite activities we offer. We hope you come back to stay with us for your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed 10 days at Worldmark Coral Baja with friends. The room was beautiful and very accommodating. The staff were friendly and took the time to get to know you. Our favorite was the swim up bar, the drinks were delicious and very affordable. There was always something to do at the resort. We took the bus to Cabo several times and had a enjoyable ride. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandBMelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just finishing up a week at Coral Baja - lots of positives. The only downside to the resort is the strong recommendation to not swim in the ocean directly in front of the resort due to strong undertows and possible rough surf, but they have a very nice and very large pool. Also, you may read complaints of lack of beach towels and/or lounge chairs but if you get outside before 1PM you should not have any problems with either. We never had a problem finding chairs where we wanted to sit and we rarely got there before 10AM. One other minor complaint is that wireless internet is not free in your room. The cost is $16 for 10 days (2 devices), or $24 for 10 days (5 devices). A business center with internet is provided near reception. Also, the exercise facilities are OK but not extensive, consisting of 2 cross-trainers, 3 treadmils, 2 stationary bikes, 2 benches and hand weights from 5# - 80#. No weight machines, no bars.
We stayed in room 502, a 1-bedroom deluxe unit. The fifth floor view was excellent, right over the pool towards the sandy beach. Several times we saw whales frolicking in the distance. Another nice touch is that there is a roped off space on the beach with palapas & beach chairs for resort guests and owners only, in which beach vendors are not allowed to access. So no high pressure sales pitches to buy local products, although I will say generally the beach vendors are much less pushy than what I have seen in other areas of Mexico anyway. As with all Worldmark units, the condos are well maintained with full kitchens, a/c and washer/dryer units. Linens, iron & ironing board, dish soap & laundry detergent are provided. Everything we needed for a comfortable vacation. The bed was comfortable and the Murphy bed wasn't too bad, either - just a little squeaky. The bathroom is quite large with a shower and no tub, but only one sink. Maid service is weekly, not daily, but you can exchange soiled linens at the front desk. The staff was, to a person, friendly and very helpful at all times. The on-site restaurant, Mama Mia, is quite good and has excellent views, right on the beach, but is a bit pricey. The attached sports bar was a great place for us to watch the NFL playoff games, and the bartender (Pedro) went out of his way to treat us well. All in all a very good resort, most of the guests were what I would call hard-working middle class or upper-middle patrons who are quite friendly and not full of themselves. Mostly people in their middle ages with a few younger people and very few children - maybe due to the time of year? All in all an excellent resort with many upper end resort amenities like a concierge, spa, car rental desk and activities desk. We will be back.
Tips: Eat at least once at the Sardina Cantina right outside the front gate to the resort.
There is a "company store" mini-mart onsite at which you can buy drinks and groceries. If you walk right outside the front gate about 50 yards away, there is another mini mart that is cheaper on many items. Or travel a mile to the Mega store, a major supermarket.
Due to a new federal regulation, the resort's restaurant and store will not take US currency, but you can exchange dollars for pesos at the front desk for a good exchange rate with no fees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neilzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We absolutely loved the pool and the view from our room. The swim up bar was terrific. Hope Jose is doing well. He personally squeezed key limes for our margaritas. What a gut! Spoiled us on anyone else's margaritas. Now, as to the use of gray water on the grounds......whew! Phew! Glad our room wasn't on the first floor. Now, I confess this was a few years ago.... But if they are still using it...yecchh.

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank sailndayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at Worldmark Coral Baja, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the view from your unit and our resort amenities including the swim up bar and pool area. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with the odor from the water on the grounds. Please rest assured we will address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Again, thanks for reaching out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We enjoyed a week's stay over Christmas at the Worldmark Coral Baja. I have no complaints about the accomodations whatsoever. Our room was lovely with an ocean view, a deck from which we ate our breakfast daily, and the perfect temperature day and night, cooled solely by the fresh air - we never once used the a/c. I want to especially commend our first night bellhop, Alan Castro, who became an invaluable resource throughout our week's stay. He is the epitome of what I would look for in a hotel employee - always smiling, quick to laugh with you, ever ready to help you with your need for towels or directions or any type of tourist advice. His kindness and happy presence added a lot to our enjoyment of the facility.
Despite signs indicating danger, I swam every day in the gulf waters in front of the hotel. It is my understanding that the surf and undertow are a summer problem, not a winter problem. I grew up on a beach, though, and feel like I'm a good judge of water conditions. There were others swimming, as well.
If I had a couple of suggestions to make to management, it would be to limit the American rock and roll music played at the bar/restaurant and offer more Latin music nights. Most of us go to Mexico to experience Mexico, not to listen to 70's American rock. On karaoke night, I would have preferred a better DJ setup where you could actually see the lyrics and face your "audience." It would also be nice to not have to stand in the middle of a grass lawn to perform karaoke - I'm more of an "in the corner of a dark bar kind of karaoke singer" myself, which is a lot of fun because you don't feel like all eyes are on you.
It would also be fun to have some male dance hosts as most every women I know likes to dance and there's always a shortage of dance partners out there. If you had salsa nights with male dance leads I would have been out there all night long!
Thanks for a fun family vacation week!

Room Tip: An ocean front room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromCampingtoResorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was my first time in Cabo; the Coral Baja is in a beautiful location, right on the beach. Unfortunately, the beach is not safe for swimming, but there is a very nice pool and 2 large hot tubs. The facility is immaculate! Every morning staff descends upon the pool area to scrub it and prepare it for the day. All staff were pleasant and friendly. there is a small store located on-site, as well as a restaurant. Activities staff are available to help schedule trips etc... i would recommend attending the information session regarding the amenities etc if you've never stayed here/first time in Cabo. There are vendors every evening, often selling lovely things. However, my friend did get duped into buying what were hawked as sliver bracelets for $75, these turned out to be fakes that were readily available in Cabo San Lucas for $25. I used a credit card with this same vendor only to find 3 unathorized charges on my card upon returning home (all for over $1200 each). Caveat Emptor. Nearby are several restuarants and easy access to public transportation. There is a bit of a "cruise ship" vibe (perhaps that's part of staying at a timeshare; this was my first experience). There are scheduled activities if that's your sort of thing. And some people are obnoxious about taking far more towels than they could possible use for the pool. People start reserving prime seats at the pool very early. However, there are plenty of chairs for all. I really enjoyed watching the sunrise from our balcony every morning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaassouffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at Worldmark Coral Baja, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time for providing such great feedback including some helpful information for future guests. We are so glad you enjoyed our resort location on the beach and our pool area. It sounds like you had an amazing view from your balcony. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just got home from our stay at the Coral Baja. The property is very clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Whenever we called for a request, the staff was prompt in responding. The pool and 2 hot-tubs were very nice, however, there seemed to be a shortage of beach towels in the afternoon. We found that we had to go to the pool in the morning to grab a few towels for when we wanted to go in the afternoon. The only other negative, is that we stayed in a "queen" studio with a murphy bed. I'm 5'3 and fit on the bed just fine, however, my travel companion, who is 6'3, was not very comfortable on the bed; his feet hung off quite a bit. Pavel and the rest of the staff at Mama Mia restaurant (on site) were very good. Pavel gave us good drink recommendations and did not disappoint. His service for several of our meals was top-notch.

Room Tip: If you're tall, don't choose a studio with a queen, it is not long enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldMark W, Social Media Team at Worldmark Coral Baja, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We’re glad you enjoyed the hot tub and pool area. We apologize for the inconvenience due to the bedding. Feel free to reach out to our manager on site if this is an issue in the future so they can best accommodate your needs. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,517 reviews
2 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#25 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
351 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark Coral Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Coral Baja

Address: Km 29.4, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Worldmark Coral Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Coral Baja Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Worldmark Coral Baja Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing