We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet or menu?”
Review of La Cascada

La Cascada
Restaurant details
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buffet or menu?”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Some evenings the food could have used a little help. But overall the quality was very good and there was a complete selection.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank joy2fit59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
254 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food hotel style”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Buffets are over priced and regular menu is typical offerings of hotel. Westin ia a beautiful hotel. Better choice is the higher end restaurant or the restaurant by the beach.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ODtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good food and better pricing than other nearby venues.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The service at La cascada was very attentive. The bread basket was a nice touch as well as the chef samples that were brought out to us to try while we were waiting for our entrees. We both got the lobster ravioli which was a nice serving portion with an appealing presentation. The sauce was a nice blend of seafood flavor and pink sauce but not overpowering. The views are wonderful as well as the atmosphere and interior of La Cascada.

If you plan to try La Cascada come a half hour or so before sunset and get a drink then take advantage of the gorgeous seating area outside the front doors. It is an open air platform suspended over the edge of the cliff that the property is on. There's comfortable furniture, chairs and tables so meeting people or sitting down with a group is possible. It's the highest point around and offers stunning views of which I attached photos.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
1 review
“Great BUFFET experiences......”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We are PRC owners at Grand Regina and when at our 'home' in Los Cabos we generally dine several times per week at La Cascada. We have NEVER experienced any service/food issues as described in the previous rating.
Our last dinner there included our daughter, son-in-law & 3 granddaughters, ages 8, 5 & 2. We thoroughly enjoyed our al fresco 'Italian Trattoria'-style buffet which was accompanied by nicely-made margaritas. (Yes, we're aware of the dicotomy: Pasta con Tequila?!)
The little girls could choose their favorites from the ample buffet; antipasti bar was phenomenal and a wide variety of pastas & sauces with chicken & seafood skillet-grilled to order made for a lovely dinner. The dessert bar was abundant and delicious.

I'm not certain of our total bill as we charge all to 'our place', but we are Las Vegas foodies/wineaux and would certainly not regularly patronize any restaurant wheret we received poor quality food or service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judemeisterlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Terrible Terrible Terrible”
Reviewed 18 December 2008

This restaurant should be the place of choice only if you have crawled out of the desert after being stranded for more than 30 days.

They advertise a "theme buffet" each night. This isn't true. depending on the time of year there is no buffets. (we went there because we heard that we could order from the menu)

First of all service is horrible. Entering the establishment was met by a wave of the hand towards the empty tables by the staff. They were definitely too busy sharing Christmas stories to get up and help their only customers. We sat. We then watched three other tables come in during the next ten minutes all were met with the same "take care of yourself" attitude.

I got up and approached one of the staff to ask for a menu and was told I could get one from the hostess stand. OK When we anted drinks I had to go into the kitchen to find someone. It was a good think we weren't thirsty because that was the last time we got drinks or were offered drinks all night.

The waiter became incensed when we asked if he could take our order. I don't know what was going on but these guys did not want any customers that night.

The food was terrible, cold and greasy. After getting our food we NEVER saw another waiter. No bill, no how was the food, refills, desert NOTHING. We calculated our own bill from the menu and paid and walked out the door. Oh by the way, two orders of taco and one drink $75 US

This restaurant is designed for those trapped at the resort with no car and therefore have no choice. Rent a car, take a taxi, buy a car but don't eat here!

Helpful?
1 Thank ksiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cascada also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing