We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort for peace and quiet”
Review of Baja Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baja Point
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This resort is gorgeous -- fantastic staff, beautiful pool, rooms and great and we had a corner with a perfect view. The opening window wall and corner hot tub (two-bedroom suite) were my favorite features. Sitting in the living room, we were close enough we saw only ocean. Fell asleep to the waves every night. Small enough property to easily get around. Very quiet and private -- perfect for me, a bit too quiet for my husband.

Biggest drawback is it's very expensive to take a taxi into either Cabo San Lucas or Los Cabos -- like $35 one way. We actually cancelled a dinner reservation we had made prior to our trip because it was going to be an extra $70 just for transportation there and back. I'd highly suggest renting a car if you stay here.

We also had the concierge set us up a fishing excursion with the local fishing co-op -- not a luxurious experience, but a blast! And the hotel chef cooked our own fish for us for the next few nights.

Room Tip: If you can, stay in a two-bedroom closest to the ocean. They have a hot tub on the huge covered pati...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DenaEokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Baja Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

At the Grand Regina you are treated like family and it is a wonderful place to bring your family. We rented a two bed room and it was huge. Big family room with well equipped kitchen and great terrace and hot tub. Every room has an amazing view, amazing view.

The pools are spectacular and the staff is even better, from Luis, Daniel and Carlos at the front desk, to Bernando as our pool attendant to all of the great bellman, they really made it a wonderful stay. They graciously handled all of our requests, and we had a lot!

They also have paddle tennis (they provide paddle racquets) -- so fun as our family of four loves tennis. The restaurant on premises for dinner, while not inexpensive, was very, very good -- both food wise and service wise. We usually avoid resort dining but we went back twice it was so good.

Only downside might be the serenity, if you want a bustling place with lots of programmed activities at the resort the Grand Regina is more quiet -- it could also be the time of year, we came in the slow season (july 29 to aug 6) and there we are not a lot of guests.

We will be back! Mark

Room Tip: any room is great room, just stay there and they will take care of you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

we have stayed at Grand Regina for 6 years and absolutely love greeting you get when you arrive "Welcome Home"!!! The entire staff treats you like Royalty and it is impeccably maintained. There's a hot tub on the expansive terrace and the adult pool is fabulous! Full Kitchen, Washer & Dryer too. Short cab ride or drive to San Jose or Cabo San Lucas makes it the perfect location!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We went to the Grand Regina with friends and fell in love with everything there. The staff is incredible and they know your name. Service is top notch and so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and have ocean views. We are sold on this destination for future vacations.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsander48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What an amazing resort. There are not many rooms so the people who work there really get to know you. They actually remember your name. It was incredibly quiet there even with kids. We hardly saw anybody except at the pool. At night the sound of the waves crashing helped us get to sleep. The amenities were phenomenal, the kitchen was fully stocked with pots & pans, paper towels, spices, etc. The refrigerator was huge and had water and ice on the outside. On top of that, there was a washer/dryer in room which was small, but worked great.

The beds were some of the most comfortable - maybe the most comfortable - of any beds I've ever slept on including my own. And we used the hot tub right outside on our own deck overlooking the pool.

There is adult pool which is very quiet and a family pool plus you can use the pools at the Westin, which we didn't use because they were doing construction on all the pools.

The restaurant there is pricey so we didn't eat there, but we ate a few things at the cafe and by the pool which were delicious.

When you come back from your day you'll find either ice tea or lemonade waiting for you at the front desk to cool you down.

The upstairs area, where you can sit overlooking the ocean had an amazing view of the ocean, Cabo, and Michael Jordan, Tiger Wood's and George Clooney's houses right next door.

It's also situated between Cabo and San Jose so we visited both, driving up to Cabo Pulmo one day which was completely worth the trip of you're snorkeling and heading to Playa Arbelitos. Amazing fish there. We also drove through La Pedregal, another place to see - where the rich and famous stay in Cabo. If you're coming from the airport, stop at the Mega on the way to the resort and pick up all the food you need because there's plenty of room for it. We usually eat breakfast in the room and then eat cheaply out all day.

Also, there is maid service daily and they're terrific.

I've never stayed in a place where I felt like such a celebrity. I would stay there again in a second.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crapschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were beyond happy with our stay at the Grand Regina in Los Cabos Mexico. Located on a ridge far above 2 other Westin properties, the views were amazing. From our room deck we could see the sea, the beach, and the El Dorado golf course. The course is part of an exclusive community where many stars have homes, including George Clooney and Cindy Crawford. Overall, the resort only has a small number of rooms, like less than 40..so the service and attention you get is amazing. Overall, we loved the property and would have to struggle to come up with something that did not please us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From beginning to end the Grand Regina did not disappoint. We were 2 families sharing a 3 bedroom 4 bath villa. Everything you could ask for including a washer /dryer setup. Lots of room and privacy for everyone. The staff knows your name from the first day. I look forward to staying here again on a future trip to Los Cabos. The property is about 10 minutes from San Jose and about 20 from Cabo San Lucos. We had a car which is essential to the area. There are lots of places to see including Chileno Beach, Santa Maria beach and Todos Santos. Mega super market is right at the entrance to San Jose and the toll road to the airport is there too. The pool are great. The restaurants are pricey as they are at any high end resort. We ate out. We did eat at pool side a couple of times and it was terrific. The main restaurant looked amazing but we did not go. The wifi worked great even for streaming videos. The beds were fantastic. Lastly the valet parking was very efficient. Javier, Eduardo and Enrique was amazing. BTW Michael Jordan and George Clooney have home next door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
4.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
516 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Vill...
#28 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
122 reviews
1.8 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baja Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baja Point

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Grand Regina Los Cabos)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £102 - £1,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baja Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Baja Point we have plenty of options to meet your Los Cabos vacation needs. Choose the villa size that is right for you. We offer guest suites and one-bedroom villas. Enjoy comforts of home and the services and amenities of a luxury resort. Baja Point is sure to provide you and your guests with an experience that you will return for again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baja Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Regina Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Baja Point Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing