We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maximum Down Time”
Review of Baja Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baja Point
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Cabo is a fabulous destination, and the Grand Regina is a fabulous place to stay! We’ve been in the area before – the GR is right next to the Westin Hotel. Feb is the perfect time of year – perfect weather, lots of whales.

The GR staff was very attentive without being bothersome. All the locals were friendly - and they still all want you to come see a time share SOMEWHERE.
Great grocery store nearby makes shopping for home cooking easy.
You do need a car to get around, but driving there is not too scary.
The front desk can arrange anything you want to do.

Overall – really super visit!

Rob

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonicationrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2008

We booked this as an RCI Extra Vacation. We have stayed at the Playa Grande and Villas del Palmar in the past. It is our third trip to Mexico and 2nd to the Los Cabos area. The Grand Regina is part of 3 resorts at the same location in Los Cabos (Westin Regina and Club Regina). The Grand is quiet relative to the other 2. There is only one (open) restaurant and 2 pools (1 adults only). However, the amenities at the other 2 resorts are easily accessed on foot or by cart. The suite initially assigned to us was beautiful inside but situated above the paddle court, with minimal views and immediately adjacent to the elevator and main pedway to the pool, i.e. no privacy anywhere in the suite. If you get assigned to 441, we recommend you ask to be moved to a south facing suite. After 2 days of consistent pressuring, the reservations agent was kind enough to relocate us to an ocean view suite on the southeast cliffs. The pools are peaceful and clean. The suites are the attraction here. Free wireless, flat screen tv's, full kitchen (w/ oven) allowed us to prepare our own meals. This became a necessity. Suite was beautifully appointed w/ amazing views from every room. Laundry in each suite was convenient. We used the large jacuzzi every evening to enjoy sunsets and whales watching. The staff were kind, resourceful and pleasant. Housekeeping was responsive with great attention to detail.

The downside of this resort is the location and the cost of services. If you like to explore, you need a car in order for it to be cost-effective. Reasonably priced restaurants and groceries are a $30 cab ride away (roundtrip). The stop for the public bus is located at the entrance of the resort (1km walk). This is a great alternative to taxis "during the day" and provided you're not carrying groceries or other large items($5/roundtrip). Taxi from resort to airport should cost no more than $30. We payed $28 for a shuttle to the resort (booked inside the airport adjacent to the baggage claim). The shuttle company is owned by Club Regina and they will try to get you to the breakfast presentation during your travel to the hotel. We kindly declined and were not troubled by timeshare sales for the rest of the trip. The shuttle also stopped at a reasonably priced mercado to allow passengers to stock up on snacks and cold beverages.

Restaurants and poolside service at the resort were appaulingly expensive relative to other resorts we're familiar with. $13 for bar brand cocktails, $25 for burger and fries. Christmas buffet with 1 beverage each cost almost $250. This was more than triple we spent on a week's groceries for meals prepared in suite incl. alchohol and beverages.

The beach is heavenly. We took a 5 mile walk east one morning to the Hilton. The beach in front of that hotel is hard on the feet but the water is calm and great for snorkeling.

Il Chilar (San Jose) is an excellent, authentic Mexican restaurant and reasonably priced. There are many others in Cabo San Lucas and San Jose, typical of Canadian/American mexican food. The Lobster Pot in Cabo San Lucas is a great value for breakfast.

Overall, if you don't mind cooking your own meals and staying within the resort, this is a glorious spot to vacation in Los Cabos. If you prefer to explore the local towns, restaurants, markets, shopping, beaches and activities, there are many other equally appointed resorts in Cabos San Lucas that are more cost effective and conveniently located.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Spookemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Junto a la playa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carlosorendain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank SIrena17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ileana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vista al mar definitivamente!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arturo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
4.7 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos
#20 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
528 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Vill...
#24 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
140 reviews
1.8 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baja Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baja Point

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km. 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly Grand Regina Los Cabos)
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £135 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baja Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Baja Point we have plenty of options to meet your Los Cabos vacation needs. Choose the villa size that is right for you. We offer guest suites and one-bedroom villas. Enjoy comforts of home and the services and amenities of a luxury resort. Baja Point is sure to provide you and your guests with an experience that you will return for again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baja Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Regina Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Baja Point Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing