We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ideal place to stay in San Jose-you will not be disappointed!”
Review of Alegranza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alegranza
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We choose Alegranza for our two month vacation in 2012-it operates on nightly, weekly and monthly rates. As our third trip to San Jose del Cabo, we wanted to stay away from the all-inclusive resorts and Alegranza turned out to be the best idea and we would never stay elsewhere in the future. Relaxing, quiet, luxurious, safe and ideal for couples or families. Definitely five star.
We spent a little extra for the top floor condo which was more than worth it! Our condo, with two levels of balconies, had incredible, panoramic ocean views and looked over the golf course. The kitchen was very well equipped with granite counters, nice appliances and also a built in bbq, so we prepared most meals ourselves and enjoyed them on the balcony with the view. From the bed linens and towels to the double sink massive bathrooms, it was all luxury, including sky TV and wireless Internet.
On the property there are three beautiful pools and two hot tubs that are clean and well maintained, and very quiet. Nothing like a typical resort. The grounds were continuously groomed and nice to walk through with many tropical plants, palms and cactus throughout the expansive area.
There are great gym facilities and a well-lit tennis court as well as a small putting and pitching green for golf practice.
The location was great, close walking distance to the old town, the beach and groceries from either Mega or Walmart. Punts Sur golf course is a short walk away and with discounts from Alegranza, an afternoon round with cart and clubs was very reasonable.
All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in all matters, accommodating any needs we had and the smiling 24-hour security at the front gate gave us a feeling of ease. For us, the fantastic concierge, Esther, helped make our time exceptional, arranging everything from reservations to excursions to rental cars.
The dining options on site were fantastic with fresh and unique menus- and very reasonable prices, quite surprising for such a high class place.
Our vacation and stay at Alegranza could not have been better and we would recommend it to anyone. A perfect choice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannes849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

This place has a great location, clean, friendly and cheaper than most hotels if traveling with a family of couples. Pictures at colormejulio.blogspot.com

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family and I stayed at Alegranza with my wife's parents for 8 days, 7 nights of pure heaven. This place is a beautiful, well kept high class condo complex that offers anything you could ask for on a dream vacation. The staff are very friendly, helpful and the 24 hour front gate security makes you feel safe at all times. My two young children had an amazing time by the 3 pools, 2 hot tubs and even played around at the golf chip and putting area. We ate several times at the pool side restaurant which offers affrodable, great food and friendly service. We were able to spend a day at Cabo Azul, booked through Alegranza, which offered us a day at another beautiful resort, right on the beach, which was fun for everyone. The location of Alegranza is perfect as it sits up high overlooking the sea of cortez (amazing sunrises and whale watching), a short walk to shopping in downtown San Jose, which offers too many delicious restaurants to mention and if your interested in golf just ask the concierge as they have contacts for good deals both in town and out. The unit we stayed in had a gourmet kitchen which led to several tasty meals. Every room had a comfortable bed, spacious closets, private bathroom with a large glass shower and a flat screen television with satelite service. Access to Wi-Fi was simple and easy. You never had to rush down to the pools as there were plenty of loungers and umbrellas for everyone. My wife and I took an afternoon and went on a motorized Rhino tour organized through Alegranza which was perhaps the best off resort outing we have ever done. Both my wife and I were able to drive a Yamaha rhino through the mountains of the baja desert and then out to the beach and ocean, absolutely amazing! What makes Alegranza perfect are the people who managed it and the staff that work there daily. They are all approachable and so helpful to make your stay the best it can be. If you are looking for a high class vacation spot, Alegranza is the place to stay and San Jose del Cabo is the town for you to visit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in Alegranza for 2 months in 2012. This was a our third trip to SJDC and we chose Alegranza for its location and reputation. We also wanted a place with both tennis and a gym and Alegranza had both.
We were not disappointed. Alegranza has the best location in SJDC for what we were looking for; great views, quiet (waterfront places can be noisy), easy walking access to the old town, Mega for groceries and the Punta Sur golf course. The concierge at Alegranza can arrange a special fee there (we payed $48 including cart) and we played 11 times at the golf course, carrying our clubs to the course most times. We also played some other course that Alegranza has special fee arrangements with. The property is beautifully maintained and the pools and hot tub (3 pools..two hot tubs...very quiet) areas kept clean and welcoming. All of the units our high end furnished and finished. The actual furniture and amenities are dependent upon the owner that you rent from, but all are relatively high end. Our unit had a 52 inch TV connected to Star Choice...great for hockey games and Canadian weather and news! Some prefer the upper units for better view. Others the ground units for easier access to the pool and chipping green. We had a ground floor corner unit and liked the privacy, the access and the two way view...over the town and the ocean (we saw whales from our deck with binoculars). By and large we can't think of anything about the place to criticize...you can't go wrong here. But the best part about Alegranza is the people...I won't name them all because I'll leave someone out and they will be hurt!! But EVERYONE at Alegranza was friendly, helpful and patient with our feeble attempts at Spanish and our endless questions about
the area. I'm sure that we provided some moments of fun as they laughed at the crazy gringos carrying their golf clubs and back packing to Mega. But they were all wonderful....and accommodating.
So...a great place...in a a great place. 5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drdgmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked 5 nights at Alegranza to end our 12 night stay in the Cabo San Lucas/San Jose area. I found Alegranza through Trip Advisor and I am so happy that we chose it...even if our arrival started off a little shaky. We have been traveling to Cabo San Lucas for many years and every time we drive through the pretty town of San Jose on the way back to the airport, we always say, "we are going to stay here next time." This time we did.

Alegranza is a beautiful residential property. "Residential" being the operative word. I don't think I fully understood this at booking. People live here long term, for months...it does not really have the services of a normal hotel. For example, no front desk, no bell service, no daily housekeeping etc.

It is a fully gated and secured condo property. Fernando at the gate is wonderful and sweet! When we first arrived, I was a bit taken a back by the women at the concierge-check in area. The girls in reception were a bit "cool" to us as we arrived early and our room was not ready. The only welcome we really received was, "Your room is not ready-you can go to the pool. The balance on your room is...we take mastercard and visa."

They were good though to let us put our bags in their office-and they called a nice man who allowed my husband to put some groceries we had purchased that morning in our rooms refrigerator. Unfortunately, the girls told the man the wrong room number and he and my husband walked in on another couple in their condo! Ooops!!

Check in was advertised to me at booking to be 1:00 pm, but upon arrival, we were told it was 3:00. We were fine to go by the pool and wait it out. We had a bit of a hard time finding someone who could get us pool towels (they are only supplied in your room) but we found a nice food server by the pool to help us and he brought us towels and extra chairs.

There are 3 pools at this property. All salt water. 2 are very cold. The center pool is heated.

The food/drink service at the pool is AMAZING and part of what really made our trip. Our server for the entire stay was Carlos and he was simply perfecto!! ;) He was efficient and the food was always hot and delicious each day. The shrimp quesadillas and guacamole with homemade chips are to die for!! ;) He really made our stay wonderful.

The chef at this condo is really amazing. The new restaurant on site is impeccable. The food is just absolutely delicious. It has just been taken over by a 5 star chef who shops daily at the fresh markets for meats and produce. His menu changes daily depending on what is available and fresh at the markets. Great wine list as well. I hope he gets more advertising because he is a hidden gem.

The rooms in this property are huge! Our 2 bedroom condo was ample and so very clean. I am a neat freak and this property was top notch in the housekeeping department. Because they are all owned by different owners, each unit is furnished differently. The unit we stayed in was owned by someone who loves nice TV's, candles and a fully stocked kitchen and that was just perfect for this family! The cabinets are beautiful alder wood in this unit. So pretty and substantial. Our unit was also stocked with full beach equipment for our day at Chileno Bay. Chairs, huge Tommy Bahama beach umbrella, coolers, everything you would need.

The views are breathtaking. The glass doors slide and pocket into each other to allow you to have the feel of indoor-outdoor living. Beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez. We had 2 nights we stayed in and cooked simply because it felt like "home." Comfortable chairs to lounge in and our patio received sun all day. It was great.
There is a MEGA grocery store within about a 20 minute walk to buy fresh meat and produce and pretty much anything else you would need for your stay. You are also about a 15 minute walk from the beach. The waves at that particular beach are dangerous though...so be careful! There are Palapas there as well. Was never very busy.

The developer-manager at this property is Javier. He could not have been nicer. He came out by the pool to greet us the first day and make us feel welcome. Nice touch.

Overall a wonderful stay at Alegranza. My only complaint were the girls at check in who were a bit unfriendly. But, overall they could not overshadow me giving this property an excellent rating.
Thank you again to Carlos, our wonderful server, for all of his kindness!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Third visit! We love this place! This was our third winter at Alegranza. My husband and I stayed for 9 weeks and again it exceeded our expectations. It is an amazing place for anyone wanting to stay in a first rate facility with the most stunning views of the Sea of Cortez..The location of Alegranza is perfect especially for people who enjoy walking. You are about 15 minutes from everything, the beach, Mega grocery store, Walmart, Nova Scotia Bank, bus to San Lucas, hospital, downtown San Jose. If you really like to walk ...at least thirty minutes, you can get to the new Marina, the Container restaurant, and go watch the Dolphins or even swim with the dolphins . If you chose not to walk you can rent a car which the concierge will arrange for you or take the public transit . At the facility itself, the grounds are immaculate, the attention to details and the cleanliness is incredible. Alegranza has three pools, two hot tubs ,two fire pits, and a well equipped gym. What we really enjoy is not having to get up at 6 AM to go find a chair by the pool. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for everyone. It is a very welcoming place from the guards that greet you everyday to the wonderful staff that are always there to assist you. This year our daughter and her family visited us for a week. Our grandchildren loved it. A great place for families and children. We love the condo that is spacious and has all the comforts of home along with a fully equipped kitchen. A few new things this year at Alegranza were the new restaurant that caters to you by the pool from breakfast to lunch and snacks in the afternoon along with drinks. The prices are very reasonable and the quality of the food is excellent. The second thing, is the access to the facilities at Cabo Azul just a short walk from Alegranza. They have also increased the internet capacity. We were able to use our iPad everywhere. A wonderful feature. This year we also took advantage of the tours offered and went on the Rhino Tour....what a rush! a great way to see the real BAJA. We are already missing the spectacular sunrises and sunsets and quiet afternoons by the pool, the Thursday night Art Walk, the restaurants and most of all the people who make Alegranza great. Esther and Izmely are very competent, professional, capable and friendly staff. They go above and beyond to meet your needs and always do it with a smile. Pedro is always friendly and upbeat and looking out for your needs and willing to assist in any way from making recommendations to giving you driving information and maps. Javier has managed our rentals over the past three years and for next year. We can always count on him to be responsive, to be there when we need him,to provide information, advice and assist in anyway he can. We chose Alegranza partly because of him ...his integrity and the fact we have always felt we can trust him. Staff at Alegranza take pride in their work and this shows in the quality of this facility. We always feel very safe and are always well treated by all. We can't wait to come back for year four. We highly recommend Alegranza...you will not be disappointed in this beautiful, quiet and relaxing place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank cdl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our family of four just spent a week at Alegranza, and are already planning our return. The condo we stayed in was immaculate, and had everything we needed (beach towels, washer/dryer, BBQ, dishwasher, blender, Sky TV, etc.). The rooms were large, the bathrooms were extremely nice,and the terrace was lovely. There are three pools, two hot tubs, a nicely equipped gym, fire pits (we roasted marshmallows two nights), poolside service for beverages and snacks, and other amenities. All of the staff we met were extremely helpful and friendly, even printing off maps for us of destinations that were difficult to find.
Although we never walked to the beach nearby (we drove to Chileno Beach several times; very nice), our family did walk downtown on a couple of occasions, and it is an easy walk to the shops, art district, and restaurants. We did rent a car, and never had trouble finding a parking spot at Alegranza.
I think the whole time we were there, the largest number of people we ever saw at a pool was 12, and that included our family. We commented a number of times on how quiet and peaceful the location was, and we loved the fact that you didn't have to hunt for an empty lounge chair. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 519snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,413 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
413 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,397 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegranza

Address: Calle Paseo Las Misiones 927 | Colonia Club de Golf Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £158 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegranza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegranza Residential Resort is an exclusive community located on the serene residential golf course of San Jose del Cabo, one of the best places to vacation in Mexico, within walking distance to the beach and the historic downtown, where the best restaurants in Cabo and shopping can be found.From its hilltop location Alegranza dominates the entire San Jose Bay, from Punta Gorda to Palmilla, offering you magnificent unobstructed views to the Sea of Cortez, the best fairways and golf in Cabo, the estuary, the Puerto Los Cabos marina and the desert.Carefully designed by Carlos Herrera, the architect who built Las Ventanas villas, widely acclaimed for his tasteful Mexican touch, Alegranza is a celebration of splendid scenes, fresh sea breezes, incomparable location and architecture that will please your senses.This architectural masterpiece is the result of a detailed analysis of the most discerning clients’ needs, where comfort, open spaces, quality features and high-end finishes, perfectly harmonize with class, elegance and Mexican charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Alegranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegranza Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Alegranza Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing