We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, but a hiccup (-:”
Review of Alegranza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alegranza
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, but a hiccup (-:”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in Unit Allegria 202 from 8-14 February 2013.

The complex is well maintained and gated, and the concierge service is great. It is at the top of a hill, well within walking distance of the "old" town section of San Jose, and Walmart and the Mega store!

The unit itself was lovely. We had a view of the ocean and watched humpback whales from the balcony! The unit was well-stocked and lots of space for us [2 couples]. The only issue was that the hot and cold water in BOTH showers was backwards. We didn't realize this and called in the maintenance people who were also stymied. It took 2 days to figure out what was going on [NOT the maintenance people's fault] and that meant 2 days of cool showers. For the price we paid for the unit, it would have been nice to get a meal comped, but that did not happen.

Finally a bit of a warning. The rental rates for the various units are not set. There were equivalent units rented out at a higher cost than ours, and units rented out at a lower cost.

However, this is a great place to stay if you want some luxury (-:

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    22
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
42
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our second year of spending the month of January at the Alegranza. We love the place! The staff are friendly and very helpful. The grounds and pools are well kept. We especially enjoyed the on-site gym. They have a poolside restaurant which has delicious, reasonably priced food. It is a short walk, approximately 10 - 15 minutes to the beach or the downtown area. We often take the bus into Cabo San Lucas for a day of exploring and trying different restaurants. We feel safe walking or taking the bus at night. We are already planning our return visit for January 2014. I would recommend the Alegranza for couples, friends and families.

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in building A. The view of the Sea of Cortez is beautiful. The higher you go the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbieandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We love many things about Alegranza. It is wonderfully appointed with great amenities. A highlight of course is the view. From Alegranza you can easily walk into San Jose or if you like, you can walk to the beach (a secret we have discovered is that if you get the tide schedules you can schedule your daily walk on the beach for low tide when the sand is firm and flat). Javier and his team are most accommodating. We love to cook and the kitchens are fully equipped. A terrific place all and all and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfie-Traveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose Del Cabo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We choose Alegranza for a three month vacation. The sauna's haven't worked for months, the jacuzzis aren't always heated and the pools is cold. Overall the facility is good but the lack of heat in the above detracts from the whole experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bajapoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed at Alegranza at the end of October. We had purchased a Groupon for a 2 bedroom suite but were given a three bedroom which was a nice surprise. The rooms are gorgeous!!!! We're used to beachfront resorts but it really didn't matter to us here. The balcony was so nice to go out and sit on and even if you're not on the water, you get a great view of the Sea of Cortez. The pool areas were kept clean and the staff was very friendly. We had an issue with one of the tour companies we had booked with before our arrival and they completely took care of the situation for us (even though it wasn't their booking).

It is a bit of a walk up hills to get to things but we didn't really mind. There is also only one cafe on site during the day so you need to plan to get to the grocery store as the selections at the cafe are limited. They do have a nice restaurant for dinner but it's pretty expensive so we didn't go. I'm sure it's worth it but we just couldn't do it. They also have a gym on site which works just fine for a basic workout.

Overall, we really loved our stay and can understand why so many people live there!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrodx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We choose Alegranza for our two month vacation in 2012-it operates on nightly, weekly and monthly rates. As our third trip to San Jose del Cabo, we wanted to stay away from the all-inclusive resorts and Alegranza turned out to be the best idea and we would never stay elsewhere in the future. Relaxing, quiet, luxurious, safe and ideal for couples or families. Definitely five star.
We spent a little extra for the top floor condo which was more than worth it! Our condo, with two levels of balconies, had incredible, panoramic ocean views and looked over the golf course. The kitchen was very well equipped with granite counters, nice appliances and also a built in bbq, so we prepared most meals ourselves and enjoyed them on the balcony with the view. From the bed linens and towels to the double sink massive bathrooms, it was all luxury, including sky TV and wireless Internet.
On the property there are three beautiful pools and two hot tubs that are clean and well maintained, and very quiet. Nothing like a typical resort. The grounds were continuously groomed and nice to walk through with many tropical plants, palms and cactus throughout the expansive area.
There are great gym facilities and a well-lit tennis court as well as a small putting and pitching green for golf practice.
The location was great, close walking distance to the old town, the beach and groceries from either Mega or Walmart. Punts Sur golf course is a short walk away and with discounts from Alegranza, an afternoon round with cart and clubs was very reasonable.
All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful in all matters, accommodating any needs we had and the smiling 24-hour security at the front gate gave us a feeling of ease. For us, the fantastic concierge, Esther, helped make our time exceptional, arranging everything from reservations to excursions to rental cars.
The dining options on site were fantastic with fresh and unique menus- and very reasonable prices, quite surprising for such a high class place.
Our vacation and stay at Alegranza could not have been better and we would recommend it to anyone. A perfect choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This place has a great location, clean, friendly and cheaper than most hotels if traveling with a family of couples. Pictures at colormejulio.blogspot.com

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,736 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5,441 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegranza

Property: Alegranza
Address: Calle Paseo Las Misiones 927 | Colonia Club de Golf Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegranza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegranza Residential Resort is an exclusive community located on the serene residential golf course of San Jose del Cabo, one of the best places to vacation in Mexico, within walking distance to the beach and the historic downtown, where the best restaurants in Cabo and shopping can be found.From its hilltop location Alegranza dominates the entire San Jose Bay, from Punta Gorda to Palmilla, offering you magnificent unobstructed views to the Sea of Cortez, the best fairways and golf in Cabo, the estuary, the Puerto Los Cabos marina and the desert.Carefully designed by Carlos Herrera, the architect who built Las Ventanas villas, widely acclaimed for his tasteful Mexican touch, Alegranza is a celebration of splendid scenes, fresh sea breezes, incomparable location and architecture that will please your senses.This architectural masterpiece is the result of a detailed analysis of the most discerning clients’ needs, where comfort, open spaces, quality features and high-end finishes, perfectly harmonize with class, elegance and Mexican charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alegranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegranza Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Alegranza Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing