We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”
Review of Alegranza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alegranza
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is the second year we've spent a month at Alegranza and have booked for two months next year. We love the views, staff, amenities and the large, well-equipped condo. Watching the whales breaching from our balcony, walking along the Estuary or the beach or just swimming and reading by one of the three on-site pools, makes for an enjoyable, relaxing vacation. The historic town of San Jose del Cabo is a short walk away with it's fascinating shops, alleys, restaurants and genuinely friendly people. The two main supermarkets (Mega and Wal Mart) are an easy walk and a taxi back to the condo costs $5. The local bus service is well worth using and very cheap. We went by bus to Cabo San Lucas as well as our favourite beach, Palmilla. Renting a car is easy, but not necessary unless you are doing side trips to Todos Santos (well worth while) or elsewhere. If you are considering staying in SJD I highly recommend Alegranza for its beautiful grounds which are incredibly well-kept, the relaxing atmosphere, superior condos and helpful and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GJ387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Alegranza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I rented a three bedroom condo for five weeks. The kitchen was well equipped and organized. The views were amazing; we thoroughly enjoyed dining on the balcony watching the whales breaching out on the bay. We loved the way the windows reseeded completely in both the master bedroom and the living room, making you feel you were living outside. The grounds were beautiful with many types of cacti, palms and an amazing variety of flowering shrubs. We enjoyed using the three swimming pools, the two hot tubs and the fire pits. The Alegranza is well situated being about half way between the beach and the quaint, historical town of San Jose. The ladies in the office were very helpful when planning activities, rental cars or making reservations for dinner. They recommended some restaurants that most tourist would never hear about.

Room Tip: The ground floors have access to the grounds and look out onto the beautiful grounds. The upper floo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61,616,161,616,161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

As an invited guest of my family , I was fortunate to have stayed at this wonderful condo. Everything was great ; the view of the ocean , the grounds including three pools and the fact that it was peaceful and yet close to everything . You only have to walk down the hill to be in the heart of the shopping and restaurants . However , if you are an eat-at-home traveller , the kitchen is well stocked and the penthouse unit that we were in , provided dining seating for six and additional terrace sitting for 4 more on the main terrace and an additional 4 on the penthouse terrace . The penthouse area would comfortably hold 10-12 people or more for a gathering and featured its own barbeque , mini fridge , covered lounge area with sofa as well as table and chairs and then a few steps up , 3 further lounge chairs and a hot tub. This penthouse unit featured 4 bedrooms ( the fourth on the upper level ) each with either a double or king/queen and an ensuite BR. We visited Cabo San Lucas one day but for my money San Jose del Cabo is a much more pleasant destination unless you want the 'spring break party ' atmosphere .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We just completed our second stay at Alegranza on Saturday, March 16th, and I would once again say that it was amazing. We had such a good experience last year at Alegranza that we asked friends if they would like to travel with us to SJDC this year, and they agreed. Our family travelled as a group of five this year, and were upgraded from a standard three bedroom unit to a penthouse, which was very generous. The penthouse included a rooftop terrace with hot tub, BBQ area, and large seating areas, some shaded, and some in the sun. Views from the terrace were amazing, and we were able to see whales from our main terrace, and the rooftop terrace.
The unit we stayed in was extremely clean, and well stocked with all the standard amenities (toilet paper, Kleenex, dishwasher soap, dish soap, beach towels, bath towels, etc.). Each bedroom had its own bath with shower, and one master bath had a tub as well. The grounds at Alegranza are very well kept; pools are cleaned out each morning, grass is well manicured, even the flower blossoms are swept up from the grass. There are three pools (as others have said, the middle one is heated, but the others are very nice if the day gets really hot and you want a refreshing dip), two large hot tubs, fire pits, a nicely equipped little gym (which seems to be rarely used), tennis courts, an onsite restaurant, and more. Really, Alegranza offers everything that you would want in a condo accommodation. Our only suggestion would be to provide a few more plastic tableware items in the units, as we were concerned that some of the pottery dishes and glassware might be dropped and break on the floor or terrace.
Having the concierge service is wonderful. I stopped in many times to ask Lucy or one of the other concierge staff questions about restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. Any question we had was dealt with quickly and efficiently, in a friendly manner, and all of the staff in the concierge office speak English very well.
While many of the units were full, the complex is very quiet, and you never had to wait for a lounger by the pool, even in the middle of the afternoon. Alegranza is quite close to a Mega for groceries, and there are also a Walmart and Costco within reasonable distance (you require a car, or taxi/bus to go to the Costco). Lots of places to eat within walking distance, just ask Lucy for suggestions (we had a great time at a restaurant she recommended), but we ate most of our meals at our condo, since we had BBQ’s and so on right at our units.
If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, you should give Alegranza a try. Javier and the staff will try to make your vacation a memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 519snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in Unit Allegria 202 from 8-14 February 2013.

The complex is well maintained and gated, and the concierge service is great. It is at the top of a hill, well within walking distance of the "old" town section of San Jose, and Walmart and the Mega store!

The unit itself was lovely. We had a view of the ocean and watched humpback whales from the balcony! The unit was well-stocked and lots of space for us [2 couples]. The only issue was that the hot and cold water in BOTH showers was backwards. We didn't realize this and called in the maintenance people who were also stymied. It took 2 days to figure out what was going on [NOT the maintenance people's fault] and that meant 2 days of cool showers. For the price we paid for the unit, it would have been nice to get a meal comped, but that did not happen.

Finally a bit of a warning. The rental rates for the various units are not set. There were equivalent units rented out at a higher cost than ours, and units rented out at a lower cost.

However, this is a great place to stay if you want some luxury (-:

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M3452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was our second year of spending the month of January at the Alegranza. We love the place! The staff are friendly and very helpful. The grounds and pools are well kept. We especially enjoyed the on-site gym. They have a poolside restaurant which has delicious, reasonably priced food. It is a short walk, approximately 10 - 15 minutes to the beach or the downtown area. We often take the bus into Cabo San Lucas for a day of exploring and trying different restaurants. We feel safe walking or taking the bus at night. We are already planning our return visit for January 2014. I would recommend the Alegranza for couples, friends and families.

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in building A. The view of the Sea of Cortez is beautiful. The higher you go the b...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbieandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We love many things about Alegranza. It is wonderfully appointed with great amenities. A highlight of course is the view. From Alegranza you can easily walk into San Jose or if you like, you can walk to the beach (a secret we have discovered is that if you get the tide schedules you can schedule your daily walk on the beach for low tide when the sand is firm and flat). Javier and his team are most accommodating. We love to cook and the kitchens are fully equipped. A terrific place all and all and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfie-Traveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,171 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegranza

Address: Calle Paseo Las Misiones 927 | Colonia Club de Golf Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £129 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegranza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegranza Residential Resort is an exclusive community located on the serene residential golf course of San Jose del Cabo, one of the best places to vacation in Mexico, within walking distance to the beach and the historic downtown, where the best restaurants in Cabo and shopping can be found.From its hilltop location Alegranza dominates the entire San Jose Bay, from Punta Gorda to Palmilla, offering you magnificent unobstructed views to the Sea of Cortez, the best fairways and golf in Cabo, the estuary, the Puerto Los Cabos marina and the desert.Carefully designed by Carlos Herrera, the architect who built Las Ventanas villas, widely acclaimed for his tasteful Mexican touch, Alegranza is a celebration of splendid scenes, fresh sea breezes, incomparable location and architecture that will please your senses.This architectural masterpiece is the result of a detailed analysis of the most discerning clients’ needs, where comfort, open spaces, quality features and high-end finishes, perfectly harmonize with class, elegance and Mexican charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Alegranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegranza Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Alegranza Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing