We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back”
Review of Alegranza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alegranza
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a great condo in Cabo, my husband and I enjoyed getting up in the morning having our coffee on the large verandah watching the sunrise and whales breaching in the ocean. We were close enough we could walk to downtown San Jose and enjoy the wonderful restaurants there. A special place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Alegranza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently completed our ten week stay at Alegranza. This property is one of the finest in San Jose del Cabo. All of the units are very professionally appointed and well equiped. The views of the Sea of Cortez from the balcony are unsurpassed. We stayed in a unit on the top floor of B building and had the additional advantage of a sun deck with tables, lounge chairs and a grill. On a daily basis we were able to see whales from our balcony. There is also a very fine restaurant on the property. Alegranza is only a 15 minute walk to the main square, where you will find many attractions, shops, etc.

The fitness center has been rennovated and includes a steam room and sauna. The pools and hot tubs offer a perfect place to relax and soak up some rays.

The staff at Alegranza is extremely cordial and attentive to your every need. We have already booked our next stay and will be back for the 2015 whale season. This will be our third stay at this magnificent property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon60950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Alegranza is the answer to many of the questions about where to stay in San Jose. Great location (10 min walk to town, beach or estuary), well appointed - spacious accommodations, beautiful views, pet friendly, and a OUTSTANDING Staff. The time passes just to quickly and each year we've added additional time to our stay. Looking forward to 2015.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20_retired_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just came back from a month's stay at Alegranza. This was our second year there and we will surely be coming back. The view is amazing. Condos are well equipped and spacious. Staff friendly and very helpful. Really enjoyed the proximity to the estuary and the old town.

Room Tip: We loved the penthouse units (views of the Sea of Cortez amazing from the penthouse deck which is ab...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfritz2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We loved the town and our accomodations so we decided to go back agiain. Unfortunately on such short notice we were not able to rent a condo at Alegranza although we tried. Lucy was the best in assisting with anything we needed. The unit is beautiful. All marble floors in and out. Lovley kitchen and very spacious. We did not have to turn on the AC once as it stayed lovely and cool. The beds are comfy and it has everything you need, even to entertain. The nicest holiday we have had. We even watched whales spouting from the deck. The veiw is spectacular. Loved every minute.
Patti & Don

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

After a lot of research we came up with Alegranza. We were a little apprehensive of the location (10 minute walk to beach) but found the property to be perfect! We had a beautiful view of the water and were only minutes walk to the city San Jose del Cabo. What a great stay and very friendly people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Alegranza. The good points and the not so good.
POOL & LOUNGS ..3 pools, two are ice cold and unswimable, the one that is heated, is comfortable for swimming
(It is the middle pool), heated at night only.

Pool Lounger..UNCOMFORTABLE, DO NOT ADJUST FOR READING, PLASTIC NO PADDING, for a hi end place, this unacceptable. No wonder every one stays on their balconies.

The condos are beautiful, our was nicely furnised with very nice balcony furniture,

BALCONIES are large.

GROUNDS ...PRISTINE, well maintained, very nice staff

NO RECYCLING.....just throw your garbage in a locker set up. NEED TO RECYCLE! OTHERS DO?

I would stay on the beach next time in san jose del cabos

Although on vrbo the individual condos are listed at rediculously high prices $399 per night, monthly should be $3000. to $3500 a month. Very good value, would be excellent if they heated all the pools and bought some decent loungers for the pool area.

Room Tip: Cabo adventures offer well organized tours, good value, they provide transportation.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier N, Manager at Alegranza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your comments

Regarding the lounges at the pool areas, as of Feb 5 2014, there is 5000 usd more reinvested in lounges so that is not going to be an issue again.

Finally please be aware that out of the 3 pools, we heat phase II and III pools (not the one in phase 1 because the heater is being replaced )- That is probably the pool you were in.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,175 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,293 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alegranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alegranza

Address: Calle Paseo Las Misiones 927 | Colonia Club de Golf Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £130 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alegranza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alegranza Residential Resort is an exclusive community located on the serene residential golf course of San Jose del Cabo, one of the best places to vacation in Mexico, within walking distance to the beach and the historic downtown, where the best restaurants in Cabo and shopping can be found.From its hilltop location Alegranza dominates the entire San Jose Bay, from Punta Gorda to Palmilla, offering you magnificent unobstructed views to the Sea of Cortez, the best fairways and golf in Cabo, the estuary, the Puerto Los Cabos marina and the desert.Carefully designed by Carlos Herrera, the architect who built Las Ventanas villas, widely acclaimed for his tasteful Mexican touch, Alegranza is a celebration of splendid scenes, fresh sea breezes, incomparable location and architecture that will please your senses.This architectural masterpiece is the result of a detailed analysis of the most discerning clients’ needs, where comfort, open spaces, quality features and high-end finishes, perfectly harmonize with class, elegance and Mexican charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Alegranza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alegranza Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Alegranza Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing