We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Mexico”
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Three days at the Tropicana made me feel like I stepped back in time. What a wonderful hotel, old fashioned courtesy, comfortable beds, quiet pool, what more could you ask for. The food was very good. We were not hounded by sales people while there, no time share representatives to make our meals hurried. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get away from the rat race.

Room Tip: I stayed in a lower room, the balcony rooms might be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I were looking for an inexpensive hotel for the last night of our Mexico trip. A local recommended the Tropicana Inn. The room was not anything special, but we found a clean room overlooking a nice swimming pool. The restaurant connected to the hotel was lovely and the food was excellent. A great location in the art district.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This little boutique hotel may only be a 3 or so star, but it's a 5 for me! I have stayed there neumerous times & i'll keep going back! Great hospitality & everyone is so freindly!
During the day, there are not too many people near the pool, so it's like a little oasis.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Great location, food, service and atmosphere. My wife and I stayed at the Tropicana Inn 3 nights after a week in Cabo San Lucas and we are very pleased we did. After the hustle and bustle of Cabo we were able to chill around a nice quiet pool, meet new friends and have any type of food or drink we wanted on site or at any one of many establishments in the art district. Oh, did I say art district? The Tropicana Inn is located smack dab in the middle of all the action in San Jose Del Cabo. The only thing that would have been better is to have a queen or king bed option available rather than being limited to two double beds. We are planning a week here after Cabo next year.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gabe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I am a flight crew member in a corporate flight department and I stay at many hotels throughout the year. I have stayed at the Tropicana Inn close to 20 times and have never had a bad stay. I love the fact that it is 30 miles north of the mayhem of Cabo San Lucas. The grounds and poolside are a tropical dream. The property is quiet and the restaurant is fantastic. Value for the money is excellent. Give this place a try, you will come home relaxed and your wallet will not be pillaged by some over priced cheesy property. Blessings.

Room Tip: In booking a standard (tamal) room request rooms in the range of 103 - 108 or 203 - 208. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We did not stay in the hotel but did come twice to have lunch and dinner at the restaurant. The food is excellent! such a fun place in the evening. We loved the town and haggling with the jewelry stores! A great little town and would definitely stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sungoddessstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just completed 3 great days in one of the best kept secrets in the Baja. Very quiet, great atmosphere right in the middle of San Jose. The staff are excellent. Special thanks to Christian and Elizabeth at the desk. They worked hard to be sure that we were well taken care of. The food at the restaurant is excellent. Free wifi helped during a problem back home. We will now move to Cabo to be with family and will miss the quiet and beauty of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TioTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#29 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#34 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
409 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#38 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Blvd Mijares No 30 | Col. Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £57 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana Inn Located in the Art District of San Jose del Cabo. Tropicana Inn offers our guests a great atmosphere and quality services. A colonial mexican hacienda-style meets tropical ambiance and the essence of a boutique hotel to put within your reach what we truly believe are the best dining and lodging services among Los Cabos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing