We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great service.”
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We ended up in Tropicana Inn after 5 days of hard work in Santa Rosalia. Here we found fantastic atmosphere and managed to recharge batteries using excellent ambient and services. There is a great pool, spa, restaurant, breakfast in front of the reception and room cleaning twice per day. We even managed to get flat tire during our excursion to a desert sand beach 20km nord-east from San Jose del Cabo. At the reception (Laurent) helped us to get in contact with our renta car company and sorted out all necessary paperwork, whereas parking guardian (Hector) exchanged the tire for us. Those two guys made our emergency situation so simple and easy to work out. Thanks guys for your fantastic support and we defenetly recommend this hotel.
Admir, Ali and James

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Loved the pool and courtyard area - they have some aviaries with birds and interesting sculptures. Restaurant/bar was good and very clean. Room was clean and beds were comfy. Good location if you want to be in the heart of shopping and restaurants. Good quick drive over to the airport (which is why we stayed there the last night of our trip). TV was an old school one that didn't work all that well. I'd stay there again though. They won't check you in even 1 minute prior to 3pm, so keep that in mind for your arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank junipermine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Tropicana Inn features style and decor that evoke the charm of old Mexico, yet with all the modern conveniences, such as WiFi The staff is gracious. There is a beautiful in-house restaurant & bar with great food, but you are also within walking distance of shops, cafes, and historic attractions of San Jose. Clearly there were guests there who were relatively local and were regulars. I too hope to become a repeat guest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Tropicana Inn is reasonable priced, clean and in walking distance to great restaurants and Art Galleries in the lovely downtown of San Jose. I had a massage while there and was very happy with the service I received. (Thank you, Luis) This was an overnighter for us and we had a relaxing enjoyable stay. Will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank florencemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

For people that visit Cabo for the first time it’s important that this hotel is located in San Jose del Cabo, which is about 35 minutes from Los Cabos which is a much bigger city.
This hotel is in the art district, amazing local restaurants, such a charming city. Los Cabos is full of 5* hotels, drinks, clubs and tourist attractions, a lot like Las Vegas on the beach.
The breakfast in the hotel was good pastries, and coffee..,Full breakfast available in the hotel for extra $ which is very tasty. The pool and the rooms are very clean, so quiet, amazing way to relax. They clean the rooms 2x a day, and the room had a good size fridge in the so we could buy water and groceries.
Renting a car is not necessary, local bus goes to the grocery store and near the beach. Walking distance to the beach although the pool is much more relaxed way to enjoy the sunshine.
Overall I would do Tropicana Inn again. What a nice place, excellent staff!

Room Tip: rooms are spacious and have AC. Very clean and everybody is so helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agness_davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Three days at the Tropicana made me feel like I stepped back in time. What a wonderful hotel, old fashioned courtesy, comfortable beds, quiet pool, what more could you ask for. The food was very good. We were not hounded by sales people while there, no time share representatives to make our meals hurried. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking to get away from the rat race.

Room Tip: I stayed in a lower room, the balcony rooms might be a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginny60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I were looking for an inexpensive hotel for the last night of our Mexico trip. A local recommended the Tropicana Inn. The room was not anything special, but we found a clean room overlooking a nice swimming pool. The restaurant connected to the hotel was lovely and the food was excellent. A great location in the art district.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#30 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#34 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
94 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#24 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#38 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares No 30 | Col. Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £77 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana Inn Located in the Art District of San Jose del Cabo. Tropicana Inn offers our guests a great atmosphere and quality services. A colonial mexican hacienda-style meets tropical ambiance and the essence of a boutique hotel to put within your reach what we truly believe are the best dining and lodging services among Los Cabos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing