We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute stay at this hotel”
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Our flight got canceled and there were no available flights until the next day, so we had to quickly find a place to stay in town. We found the Tropicana because we were shopping along the streets and ate breakfast at the Tropicana restaurant. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and even gave us a small discount off the regular rate. The hotel is very quaint and unique with a tropical feel. The beds are really comfortable and the room had everything we needed. There's even a nice pool and swim up bar. What we liked the best about this hotel was that there was free wi-fi in the hotel and the adjoining restaurant. We had stayed at the Hilton the week before where wi-fi is an additional cost and had so much trouble finding wi-fi anywhere else in the city. We got to catch up on our emails and use our iPhones. :)
We had a great one night stay at the Tropicana despite having our flight canceled. Thanks Tropicana!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ninerz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed at the Tropicana for 3 nights last week and I was so pleased I felt I needed to write a review! The property has about 40 rooms (a bit larger than I usually prefer) but since it was "off season" we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

We had no issues with check-in or our reservation (a common issue in other reviews) and were put into the type of room we requested at the correct price. We were on the first floor right across from the pool and this was very convienient. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful.

The whole area around the hotel rooms is very well landscaped and quite attractive. We found oursleves hanging around the hotel much more often than we typically do & the super comfy outdoor furniture had something to do with this. I imagine that during "high season" it would be difficult to get a seat but for us it was perfect.

The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The AC worked well and it was nice to have a fridge in the room.

Don't count on the complimentary "conntiential" breakfast being anything special--it is coffee (1 cup the only morning we went up for this), orange juice and plain white toast. I really don't care about this personally--just a "head's up"--coffee in the room is fine with me!

I look forward to staying at the Tropicana again when I visit SJD.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank notatuna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

The online pics and description do not do this place justice. Everything about the hotel from its classic colonial style, to grounds, pool, diing facilities and rooms were beautiful. Centrally located to plaza and shopping areas. Only bad thing is that it is not close to beach but I would rather stay here than some mega resort. Beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chapina1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We went to the Tropicana for dinner on our first visit to Los Cabos. We were greated promptly and seated around 8:00. There was an hour wait to sit outside and we were offered a table in the pation, but it was right under a very loud band playing Mexican music. We opted for the area in-between. The waiters were prompt and polite, quickly taking drink and dinner orders. The margartias were very average, but the Lobster Soup and Mexican style New England clam chowder were excellent. So was the grilled local seabass I ordered.

As we dined a younger, more bar focused crowd began to arrive. They were very under staffed and we were soon trying to flag down a waiter to get a desert menu. we asked the Hostess and the Manager to get our waiter to stop by and although he passed our table several times without even stopping to check on us. This went on about a half hour and I was finally able to get our check from the hostess. For the first tume ever I drew a zero with a line through it on the tip line.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Gty656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Just had breakfast there yesterday. What a disaster. Could not get any service whatsoever. Once the waiter finally took our order, it took 40 minutes to get food. We never could get the check despite asking for it several times. Seeing as how we were now running short on time to get to the airport, we just finally left some cash and left. The food...twice as expensive and so-so. Stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxB3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

My husband and I just returned from Spring Break in Cabo. Our trip started with two days at the Tropicanna Inn in San Jose. We absolutely loved this place! It was very clean, the staff amazing and the grounds absolutely beautiful. The location is right in the middle of town. We were lucky enough to arrive during a local celebration so we really experinenced the "real" flavor of the culture. Everyone in the town was very gracious and welcoming. The merchants were very fun and not pushy at all. I wouldn't hesitate to not only stay at the Tropicanna Inn but also stay in the sweet little town of San Jose. Special thanks to Daniel who was very helpful in arranging a private driver to pick us up at the airport. It made "running the gauntlet" when we got off the plane very easy. Daniel had told us that someone would be there with a sign with our name on it. It was exactly as he had said it would be. THANK YOU DANIEL!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I'm surprised that you had such a bad experience. I just returned from Cabo and was staying at one of the large resorts but walked downtown one morning for breakfast. The eggs benedict were second to none. The service was a little slow compared to our fast paced dining in the states but certainly appropriate for a leisurely meal. I will definitely have another meal at Tropicana and possibly stay at the hotel as it seemed a much more relaxed atmosphere than the resorts at which I usually stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank ColoradoSoloGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#33 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#28 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
378 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
279 reviews
1.3 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares No 30 | Col. Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £79 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana Inn Located in the Art District of San Jose del Cabo. Tropicana Inn offers our guests a great atmosphere and quality services. A colonial mexican hacienda-style meets tropical ambiance and the essence of a boutique hotel to put within your reach what we truly believe are the best dining and lodging services among Los Cabos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing