We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantasy Vaction - Beautiful, Relaxing, with Friendly Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Fantasy Vaction - Beautiful, Relaxing, with Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Knowing nothing about the hotel but it's pictures, it was GREAT to be so happy with our choice. The pictures do not do the hotel justice - it is far better in real life. The pools were relaxing and with stunning views of the ocean and most of the time we had the entire pool to ourselves! The waves at the ocean are EXTREMELY strong and even as a good swimmer I would not got in due to undertow and rocks on the beach. Food was great at the two restaurants that were open. The view from our hotel balcony was awesome. We were able to upgrade to get the services from the club room - breakfast and cocktails - a great value. If you are a Starwood Member be sure to check if there are specials being offered. Only drawback is there is no way to get to the Lobby with out walking up a ramp that was like walking up a 10% grade hill - we just tried to only do it 1x a day. Thrifty Rental Car is on site - a nice convience. There is nothing within walking distance from the hotel ... cab or rent a car or bus (long walk to bus stop) is how you need to get around - though you could just hang at the hotel the whole time and have a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    307
    122
    62
    55
See reviews for
193
417
24
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Brook, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Just returned from the Westin in Cabo San Lucas. We had the most relaxing time there!! Loved the views from the room - straight out twoards the Sea of Cortez, beautiful architecture, great breakfast and afternoon offerings on the concierge level. They are actually renovating all rooms on the concierge level within the next couple of rooms and we were shown it to give our opinion - BEAUTIFUL!!!!

There is no need for the private limo/cab service to and from the airport - it is far cheaper to get a regular cab, regardless of what you may hear.

It is costly to take cabs to and from restaurants - can be $30-$50 round trip on any given excursion away from the hotel.

Restaurants to hit: Lorenzillos, Tropicana, Nick San - all great!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLGinsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

The hotel room was pretty much what you would expect from a Westin with a nice heavenly bed. The architecture is what really makes the place though, its beautiful. We were there during the beginning of the off-season, where there was a conference going on, so the pools were pretty quiet most days. We opted for the Royal Beach Club rooms, which we would reccomend.

The good:

The views are spectacular, the room is nice, the bed is great and the shower is huge. The Royal Beach Club upgrade gave us access to a great breakfast buffet and happy hour - if you are staying on property and want to have some cocktails in the evening, this is highly recommended as we got more then our money's worth on those days. The people and the overall service was pretty good. Great fitness center too. Amazing 'roar of the ocean' for peaceful whitenoise.

The bad:

As everyone says, its overly expensive. Worse, the way they price in dollars (all over Cabo really) and manage exchange rates really puts a US traveler at a disadvantage. The food was barely ok otherwise, though the really expensive restaurant was pretty good actually, just 5x any other dinner in Cabo so not a real value. The beach is in a place that for several of the days it was not possible to get in the water, but the pool was nice. It is really isolated too, so you need to get on the shuttle or get a cab to go see anything. For as much as we paid, we should have gotten free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guruhuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

First time we had ever been to Cabo and we just returned yesterday. We were there for one week, and really enjoyed the resort. Service was outstanding, everyone is very friendly and is eager to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The resort is about 20 miles from Cabo San Lucas and the cab fare is about $30 one way, you end up spending more on cabs and food than you might think. All the reviews I had read before going talked about how high the food cost is... and wow... so true. if you eat three meals a day, it could cost around $175-$200 per day, (not including drinks). The food was oustanding and the breakfast buffet and dinner buffet was wonderful. Just pricey.. but, worth it, and if you go into Cabo, Edith's is highly recommended by locals and it was out of this world. Also about $100 for dinner for two with no drinks, but great experience!! We also played golf at Cabo Del Sol ocean course and palmilla. Both beautiful courses, but next time we go, it will be during the cheaper tee times!! Palmilla was a Troon course, we didn't know that until we got there, very manicured course and played tough, but my husband shot 73!
Can't wait to go back, Westin was a great place, very relaxing and secluded beaches offer a really tranquil setting. We will defintely return, will just take more cash next time!

Susie - Dallas, TX

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

This was a heavenly resort, and I wouldn't trade the experience. Lots of infinity pools. We were at the Westin for a wedding, which was really beautiful. The hotel did an amazing job with everything. The meal at the wedding reception was wonderful. However, during our stay, the food was typically only medium, as were the drinks (except for one bartender). The Italian restaurant was excellent, though, but you paid for it. My advice would be to go out to eat at the local restaurants in San Jose del Cabo or Cabo San Lucas. Be prepared to pay $26 to Cabo San Lucas and $20 to San Jose del Cabo for a cab. There is a shuttle to Cabo every hour for $20 round trip. The San Jose shuttle didn't run as often. The tour desk was amazing; they actually raised the bar for me. They arranged everything and really took care of you. It was easy to make plans. The surf usually had a black flag or at best red. It was too dangerous to put your toes into the water. Even still, this was a heavenly vacation and a great place to escape and relax. They really took great care of us and placed safety as a top priority. I would go back indeed.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J3ann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed for one night before we checked into the Hacienda. The place is huuuuuggge and tired. it took awhile to get pool service- finally walked up and ordered all 9 of us drinks and lunch. The people who work there are very nice- there is no problem there. Our room was just tired. Lots of white caulking, dented furniture, tired paint. Beds were nice and clean. We like the white washable duvets. No complaints there! It just lacks personality here. If you can stay here for free, by all means do! We love staying at the Hilton Cabo San Lucas when with our kids and all of their friends. The rooms are 10x better. Sorry Westin!!
PS our rooms (all 3 of them) were on a cart path that takes people from the vacation rentals to the resort and it was very, very noisy. Also, one of the elevators was broken so waiting for an elevator was annoying.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smsbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

I travel and stay in Starwood properties everywhere, but mainly north america. The Westin cabo is not worth the money, points & cash, or points. I used my points and cash. For a AAA 4-diamond hotel the rooms are outdated, the hotel is absolutely massive and layed out poorly, amenities not up to par and extremely overpriced menus. I'm gold and was upgraded to a decent view room, but other than the TV and Shower, nothing in the room was good. Toilets are from 1970, coverings on closets and A/C fan are from a 1975 garden and the decor needs to be updated big time. The pool views are great and the beach is great looking. The pools, however, need to be retiled. The staff was helpful. Overall it is not worth $250/night +. I think the Hilton or something else would be better. And forgot one thing, even though parking is free, they charge approx $10/day for "tax". Not sure what it is, but they charge it if you have a rental car.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.0 mi away
Club Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos
#24 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
7.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#19 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa

Property: The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#23 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magical setting overlooking the Sea of Cortez, The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas and Spa is an empowering escape from the ordinary. Seemingly intuitive service indulges the senses, while an abundance of amenities and activities energize and refresh. Scenic adventures await golfers, beach-lovers, and explorers. Whether your passion is golf, nature, or just the indulgence of a luxurious spa-the resort empowers you to immerse yourself in endless possibilities. Designed to provide the warmth of the Mexican culture with soothing colors, ocean views, oversized showers, private sitting areas on the balcony and an indoor sitting area, the rooms at The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas and Spa are an oasis that rejuvenate and replenish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Westin Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Westin San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Westin
Los Cabos Westin
Club Regina Los Cabos
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing