We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small LOUSY Hotel of the world, not "small luxury hotel of the world"”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Natalia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Natalia
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small LOUSY Hotel of the world, not "small luxury hotel of the world"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

the biggest disappointment in my life, having been to the best hotels around the world, and generally trusting the SLH designation and Conde Nast opinions, which rated this boutique hotel very highly and one of the best in Mexico. i simply could not believe how someone can get this sooooooo wrong. checked in no one at the lobby, waited. shown to my room on the ground floor, which felt like a coffin, with ants all around the bathroom floor. Bed sheets looked and felt very very old and i was almost afraid of having bed bugs. bathroom needs major renovation, the shower water was not hot enough, and the pressure was very weak. i promptly left the hotel and stayed most of the time away from it. AVOID this hotel. the advertising/awards for it are highly highly DECEIVING. Discriminating traveler

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmnNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    78
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
38
277
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

This was our second stay at Casa Natalia and the first one was so wonderful we were worried the second visit would be as nice. What a needless worry. The second visit was every bit as spectacular as the first. Extraordinary service, clean rooms, great ambiance, and the nicest people. We also ate in the restaurant and it would be very difficult to find a better romantic dinner spot anywhere, especially one with great food.

The village of San Jose del Cabo has matured since our last visit in 2005. There are more restaurants and a whole new art scene, but the village has not lost its charm. We watched the holiday festival on the plaza while a wedding was taking place in the nearby church. What fun!

We will definitely be going back to see Nathalie and Loic. Perhaps yearly from now on.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoronadoYalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

My wife and I got married at Casa Natalia in June 2009, and the hotel (in cooperation with our wedding planner) could not have done a better job with the reception. Everything was absolutely perfect! The staff really went out of their way to make sure that the two of us, and our guests, felt at home in the hotel during the wedding weekend. We enthusiastically recommend Casa Natalia as a wedding or honeymoon destination.

Other reviews on this site do a good job of describing the hotel, but I think two points deserve emphasis. First, the service at Casa Natalia is truly exceptional. Everyone from the front desk managers/concierge to the maintenance staff does a great job, and their helpfulness and professionalism create a very relaxing atmosphere at the hotel.

Second, the food at the hotel restaurant, Mi Cocina, is outstanding. The chef put together an amazing tasting menu for our wedding reception, and other dinners at the hotel were consistently excellent. Even if you decide not to stay at Casa Natalia, I would strongly recommend that you include in your Cabo plans a trip to Mi Cocina and a stroll in the Plaza just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_MK_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

It's a very small hotel (16 rooms), not party-oriented, and I can only imagine a couple really enjoying this place, but for a couple on their honeymoon, like us, it was WONDERFUL.

The staff was super friendly, spoke great English.

The rooms were divine. Positively luxurious.

My partner/wife and I spent the last night of our 13 day trip in the Baja here and it was an amazing end to the trip.

Some things to be aware of:

No wireless in the rooms, but they do have it in the lobby!

Pretty small little pool. No sauna, no hot tub!

Our standard room did NOT have a bathtub (maybe the suites do?).

Not beachfront.

But this little place is worth every penny if you want to be in the center of the little city of San Jose del Cabo. The hotel is just off the center square of the city, near great shopping, art galleries, and restaurants. Of course, San Jose isn't the party city that Cabo San Lucas is, so if that is what you are here for, probably try something in Cabo San Lucas itself!

But if you want quite romance in a divine setting, this is your place.

Also, we came to Casa Natalia after our horrible disappointment in the all-inclusive Royal Solaris. Casa Natalia was exactly the change we were looking for. I will note that the male staffer who showed us a room at Casa Natalia before we decided to check in was very pleasant, thorough, and friendly, as was the female front desk staffer who actually checked us in later that afternoon. This is notable as we were two FEMALES on our honeymoon. Since Mexico in general and Cabo particularly definitely does not specifically cater to a gay clientele, I thought it was very wonderful that they did NOT question us or say (as had happened before in the Baja)--"sorry, but we only have rooms with one king-size bed". Not that we were obvious about being on our honeymoon--we didn't mention it and didn't show affection in the lobby--but I still think it's great that both of these Mexican staffers just treated us like they would any straight couple. A welcome change! :)

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claired13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

We were there to attend a close friend's wedding and got a chance to experience this hidden gem. The staff is "OUT OF THIS WORLD".They are extremely attentive and make you feel special at every encounter. This is very conveniently located in the small downtown district. The hotel is clean and very well maintained. The pool is small but offers a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

We decided on Casa Natalia mostly because it's a member of Small Luxury Hotels and didn't regret it. The hotel is absolutely charming! All together there are 14 rooms and 2 suites, which makes for a very quiet and intimate hotel. They have a complimentary breakfast brought to your room and served on the private terrace - sooo good!
The only downside is that this hotel is not on the beach but rather in the city and in order to get to the beach you have to take a 20 minute ride. We knew this was the case so there were no surprises. The restaurant is very good, but I wouldn't say great. Staff were all very friendly and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for relaxing, intimate, and quiet time.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF, CA
Level Contributor
245 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

Casa Natalia is the perfect vacation escape. Staff is helpful, courteous, and always willing to go the extra distance to keep guests happy. The entire facility is immaculate, common areas and the delightful bedrooms and verandas. The hotel restaurant is one of the best in town. The bar snacks are good too. I loved being in San Jose del Cabo. There is plenty to do, including gallery night on Thursday. It is a huge plus to have free transport to the Beach Club. I’m planning my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#25 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Natalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Natalia

Property: Casa Natalia
Address: Boulevard Antonio Mijares 4 | In the heart of the Historic Downtown, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Natalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Natalia is an intimate 19 room European-style boutique hotel located in the historic village of San Jose del Cabo in Baja California Sur since 1999. Nestled in the art district of San Jose del Cabo, Casa Natalia is right in the midst of Spanish Colonial buildings, quaint shops, romantic restaurants and a lush nature preserve estuary. The grounds are an oasis of 39 full-grown palm trees and tropical bougainvilles. The outdoor palapa lounge indulges guests with views of the hotel's cascading waterfalls, heated swimming pool and open flame braziers. Here, you can meet the owners and staff of this gem of leisure, luxury and romance. We are proud of our working family, and enthusiastic to meet with you at our 'Casa'. Casa Natalia is renowned for its personalized service and attention to details, as well as for its innovative cuisine served at Mi Cocina Restaurant and Baja Oyster Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Natalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Natalia Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Casa Natalia Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing