We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at Zoetry from 4/2 - 4/9. It was exactly what we were hoping for and expecting. We wanted an all-inclusive in Mexico that was not going to be too crowded and predominantly adult focused. We weren't interested in excursions, just wanted to relax. We paid just under $700 per night (AAA rate) for a Jr. Oceanview Suite. I think the price was high due to Holy Week/spring break/season. Rates right now are closer to $500/night.

When we arrived we were placed in building 17, not the main building. We asked for the main building at check-in, but no rooms there were available. In hindsight, we preferred the room we were in since there were a number of families who used the timeshares that were in the main pool at an early hour. We had a perfect ocean view obstructed by only 2 palm trees and could hear the waves crashing as long as the balcony door was open. King bed was great, but soft. There is also a noticeable distinction between the timeshare folk and the all-inclusive folk.

Food-wise, we didn't expect 5 star quality. We weren't disappointed by the food either. Meat quality is fine at the restaurants but may not be the cuts one is used to in the States. Service was always quick and we did not feel rushed at any time. Breakfast was always terrific. No complaints about lunch and dinner. I had the rib-eye and filet a few nights for dinner at the beach restaurant and, aside from being a bit fatty, they were cooked well and tasted fine. My wife typically had chicken, shrimp or salad. I really miss the guacamole though...and the various juices that they had at breakfast.

Service was terrific. We ate via room service about half the time we were there. Regardless of time of day, the service was prompt. Yaser was especially helpful and would often bring a bottle of wine to our room at night after seeing us at dinner. Gaudencio and Yuliana at the lower pool were also fantastic. We observed the staff kindly informing timeshare guests about the rules of the resort several times during our stay. The staff stayed entirely professional, even in the midst of being berated by those guests.

Alcohol available included: Corona and Pacifico for beer, Absolut and Stoli for vodka, Tanqueray for gin, Jack Daniels and Johnny Walker Red and Black, Herradura and Don Julio for tequila, Bacardi for rum. I know I am missing a bunch, but that is what I can remember.

We had read various reviews on tipping. We tipped on a few occasions but did not notice an appreciation in service. Maybe because it was always great.

We used the workout room 4 times during the stay. 2 treadmills, 2 stairmills, 2 bikes, dumbbell rack, 3-4 leg machines and a universal machine. A bit older equipment, but if you know what you are doing, you can get done what you need to. No complaints.

Didn't use the spa while there. We were relaxed enough already.

There was no rush for beach chairs either. Regardless if we went to the pool at 9 AM or 2 PM, there were always plenty available.

We did walk over to Dreams once. Way too crowded. Buffet food looked bad. Very noisy with all the kids/music. There was nowhere to sit either. It definitely looked and felt activity/excursion oriented as well, similar to a cruise. We didn't stay to eat at any of the restaurants. After walking through the property once, we were so thankful to be able to go back to Zoetry and have a drink with a plate of nachos. In a beach chair. On the beach. Quietly.

All in all, we will probably be back to Zoetry in the future. Especially if prices are $500/night/couple for all-inclusive. Splurge on the private car from cabosanlucastours.net to get you from the airport. Completely worth the $150 round trip.

All in all, if you have no desire to go into either Cabo San Lucas or San Jose del Cabo, then this is a great choice. Having been to Cabo 3 times before, I know that there are really good restaurants off-site. However, the food at Zoetry was more than sufficient for what my wife and I wanted. This resort totally deserves the tripadvisor award for best relaxation. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to have a great ocean view. Shoot for top floor of whatever building you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

If you are looking for a honeymoon retreat look no further. I did a ton of research online as you are doing and decided on Zoetry. I have never made a better decision. The attention to detail is second to none and the service is incredible. As you enter the main building the view of the Sea of Cortez and the immacuately manicured landscaping immediately take your breath away. Check in was a breeze and it was off to the ocean view master suite. The room was as advertised with a ton of room and beautifully decorated. The same view waits to greet you from anywhere in the room. The food and drinks are exquisite and do not resemble what you would expect at an all inclusive resort. All of the waitstaff are extremely attentive and have great attitudes. Zacarias and Ismael really helped make our trip as great as it was. You can't go wrong at any restaurant or bar however we spent most of our time at the main pool bar. We did not experience a bad meal until we ventured outside of the resort. Don't expect nightlife as this resort is about relaxation and privacy. If you need nightlife it's a short walk next door to dreams. As you step into dreams you will realize Zoetry was the right choice. I highly recommend Zoetry to anyone who wants a serene retreat with incredible scenery and extremely attentive service, a very romantic place for couples.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Devon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This one is a little complex; the resort is lovely, but not really 5-star. The hotel (main building) has the nicest rooms. There are lots of condos around the hotel. talk about quiet.....rest, sun, relax. Service is very good, but agin, off the mark from true 5-star. our room had a weird open plan, with no true door to the toilet; so forget privacy....you have to chase your sweetie out to the porch when you do your business; I got tired of the lack of privacy. However, the room was truly beautiful. the food was excellent, with many healthy choices and calorie/nutrition breakdown, so it was easy to not gain weight. But, the food is limited, and you do tire of it after few days. We wandered over to Dreams next door and did not like that vegas-style property; it was dirty and cheap; the food there looked abysmal. For a 700$ per couple fee.. on top of our time share trade, it turned out to be just way too expensive and not a great deal. If you want to sty there for cheaper, go to VRBO and rent by the week for about 250$ per night, of course no food included. Overpriced, but it realyt was a very nice escape.

Room Tip: The suites were nice for 100$ per room extra, but they were full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmrussellphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Perfect hotel for a romantic week long getaway. Food was outstanding, service was agreeable enough, and the grounds were immaculate. The spa was absolutely fantastic. A must stay at kind of resort.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaseballandTiaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for a week in April 2012. We had a beautiful suite and after a long, fun day in the sun, it was so nice to be able to stay in for dinner. Yaser, from room service, made our dining experience so excellent that we chose to eat in every night!! He prepared our meals accommodating our special requests. All our meals were delivered hot and delicious!!! He even surprised us with special desserts!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

All we have is superlatives to describe our time at the Zoetry!
Our "ocean view" suite provided us a panoramic vista of the ever changing Sea of Cortez from the beauty of the sunrise, the fishers (both lines and nets), the cruise ships passing by night complete with fireworks and the ever present sounds of the waves crashing upon the beach! The suite was exceptionally clean and well equipped, all of the appliances worked and the housekeeping staff served us admireably.
The restaurants, as far as we were concerned, were excellent. We alternated between the beach restaurant and the more formal restaurant in the main building. All of our meals we well presented, warm and tasty. We particularly enjoyed dining on the beach by the firepit (which really contributed to our comfort on the cooler evenings). "Kennedy", the head waiter made our experience special throught his charm, good humour and superb manners.
We are "beach people" and the facilities were superb, we sat on the concrete slab adjoining the sand and in front of the pool and hot tub. The service was fantastic and we did not ever experience any delays in the delivery of both food and beverages.At no time we we required to rush out in the early morning to obtain decent positions at the beach as we have been required to do during our vacations at other Mexican facilities.
The Conciege and its people we very accomodating in arranging taxis and transportation.
We went to rest and relax and those objectives were fulfilled. The Zoetry is not a "party" place, unlike others we have stayed at in Mexico. We did not go there to experience hordes of people, loud concerts and inebriated guests! We wanted peace and tranquility and both we delivered in style!
One, negative aspect of our trip was the Cabo airport! We have experienced Newark and thought it was as bad as an airport could be, until we arrived at Cabo! It is a disgrace! There is no reason why it should take more than 2 hours from de-planing to leave the terminal! Why the authorities insist upon bagage x-rays on the way out is beyond comprehension! Why they allow the number of nefarious individuals to "greet" travellers as they leave the secure area and badger them into considering time shares and condos is ridiculous! In all the airport is a horrible way to commence a vacation!
We had read many of the negative reviews of Zoetry before leaving on our vacation which made us slightly apprehensive about our decision to stay there. However after our enjoyable week, we can only wonder if the critics really attended at the facility or if they are pathalogically negative?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmarchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My family and I traveled to Casa del Mar Feb.27-March 5th. Perfect time to visit Cabo, as the weather was perfect, low 80's, sunny with a beautiful ocean breeze.Whale watching from your seat at the pool or beach ;o) But enough about the weather-lets talk about Casa del Mar. First, a little background. We have never stayed at an all-inclusive and this is not why we chose CDM. We typically stay at Las Ventanas or the Ritz in Cancun, yet found CDM to look and sound enchanting so we took a risk, a risk that turned out to be a reward! The grounds are impeccable-next door to Las Ventanas, so those of you that are familiar know you cant get a better location. The hotel is a charming, old world mission style and the smell of white tea in the lobby is heavenly! We were pleasantly greeted with a room upgrade upon check-in and we were able to access out room at 12noon. Yet what really makes CDM is the gracious staff, you will never meet better people! Alberto, Jesus, Ismael, Yaser many thanks to you once again.
Alberto took care of us at the beach club every day, Ismael assisted him. These are two of the most beautiful, kind, patient human beings you will meet. With a graceful approach to customer service they go above and beyond to please you. I wish I could hire Alberto here at home, as he is the epitome of a servant leader! This is the way to lead a team and to treat your customer-Alberto is ahead of the game. Ismael's kind diposition was appreciated and it was a pleasure to spend each day with him. We miss seeing them-and will go back because of them.
Jesus took care of us the evening that we ate on the beach and what a charmer!! He was such a charismatic, intelligent, witty server and made our night a dream-this is how it should be. He too went above and beyond to meet our needs and exceeded our expectations every time he presented to the table. Last. but not least Yaser in the dining room, polished, professional and ready to please. Yaser organized an incredible Mexican dinner for us, with all the traditional items. As we sat down we were presented with a platter that would blow your mind. Thank you again Yaser!!!
For those of you that are concerned about the food-do not be my husband and I are quite picky and we loved it, but you ned to speak and ask for things the way you like and expect them. Eat simply, fish tacos, grilled fish/shrimp, ceviche-this is what is best!! Much better than re-heated commercialized food in Cabo san Lucas. Thank you CDM-you spoiled us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelley25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
6.9 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,517 reviews
9.7 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5 | Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £172 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the tourist corridor of Los Cabos conveniently on the beachfront, overlooking the Sea of Cortez, Casa del Mar Golf Resort and Spa, is your hacienda oasis in Los Cabos, Mexico. An intimate 50 room ocean view luxury boutique hotel where you can experience the warm Mexican hospitality and personalized service. Casa del Mar offers luxury amenities and accommodations, providing the perfect options and facilities for a relaxing escape, spectacular wedding or romantic honeymoon, a rewarding business travel experience, or a golfer's haven. The spacious rooms and suites are all entirely within a peaceful oasis of lush gardens, fountains and pools. Enjoy your quiet, relaxing vacation on an expansive beach. Rejuvenate body and spirit at our renewed luxury spa, enjoy our championship golf courses or venture out to explore the excitement of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Casa Del Mar Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Casa Del Mar Golf Resort & Spa Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing