We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding again - nothing else compares in the region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
portland
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding again - nothing else compares in the region”
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This was my third stay at Casa del Mar, this time March 23-29. I accidentally chose spring break week, and was a bit concerned, but Spring Break did not affect the peace and quiet of this place at all. No crowds of drunk teenagers to be seen within miles of this oasis. First class experience, rooms, service, beach, pools and dining.

They make it easy to keep Mexico first on my list of 'must get back to' places.

Thank you again!

  • Liked — quiet. space. quality
  • Disliked — nothing really.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    177
    57
    28
    22
See reviews for
106
552
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, TX
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

This hotel was recommended by AMEX platinum travel services.
Once again, they did not disappoint. The hotel is on the corridor closer to the town of San Jose but only about 20 minutes to Cabo. When we arrived we were greeted and taken to our rooms with welcome margaritas. We had an ocean front room and everything about it was beautiful. There were bougainvillea blossoms around the bath & the view was amazing. The sound of the waves breaking lulled us to sleep every night in a big cushy bed as we slept with the balcony door open. The bath was stocked with Aveda products and there is also a mini bar/fridge. Breakfast was included in our price, On Sunday they had a wonderful buffet with cooked to order eggs, hot chocolate steaming away in a mexican pot and a great selection of food to choose from. We ordered from themenu the next day and it was the same great food. It's a great place to start the day as the view is as lovely as the table settings.
We laid around the beach pool one day. The staff was there for our every need. Drinks and nachos were perfect. This is a small hotel and although it was sold out we felt like we were the only ones there. We got massages the day we left. They did a great job, but we didn't have time to use the steam room & hot tub. We went fishing and they were kind enough to freeze our fish and help us with get our cooler ready for the flight home. I wish we could have stayed longer ..it was so relaxing and quite.
Just what we needed !!

  • Liked — The quite, out of the way location.
  • Disliked — Too far to drive from Cabo after a fun nite and cab fare is pretty pricey.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

We reserved a one bedroom condo through Hashem at LetsCabo.com. at the Casa Del Mar Resort. From the minute we arrived everything was perfect. There was a concierge waiting in front of our unit waiting to greet us and tell us everything we needed to know regarding our stay there. He showed us to our unit and left us his cell phone # if there was anything we needed. The resort itself is beautiful. The landscaping is unsurpassed and immaculate. We were yards from the beach where we walked everyday. The beaches are quiet and clean. I would highly recommend this resort. Just perfect in every way

  • Liked — Beautiful, convenient, quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LuLu3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcscheatzle
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

This hotel was fantastic. Our room was spotless. The staff was very accommodating. It was exactly what we were looking for. The resort was SUPER quiet and relaxing. The food while expensive, (normal for the corridor), was great. The hotel hosted a "Mexican fiesta night". It was a buffet full of authentic Mexican dishes and deserts. Another night there was Dinner on the Beach. Truly a wonderful experience.

  • Liked — Very Clean!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mcscheatzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

From the moment we arrived everything about Casa Del Mar met and in most cases exceeded our expectations. It's location was perfect. It's on one of the best stretches of beach in Los Cabos and is a convenient drive/cab (but not too close) to the party scene of Cabo San Lucas and a short trip to the beautiful and traditional Mexican town of San Jose Del Cabo. Days spent relaxing by the pool, walking the beach, reading in the shade, or enjoying cocktails with friends or family were perfect at Casa Del Mar. The food offered at the resort was always good, but not amazing. Taking in some of the excellent restaurants in the area balanced out our food experience in Los Cabos. The service at Casa Del Mar was always top notch and with a smile. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank errss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2007

We were recently married at Casa del Mar on November 3rd, 2007 and we can highly recommend this resort to other couples looking for an intimate, beautiful resort for a destination wedding or vacation.

Casa del Mar is a “boutique style” hotel, with condos surrounding, but it feels extremely private and is very quiet. The grounds are very well maintained and amazing! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I agree if you want action and partying, Casa del Mar may not be the best place. Cabo San Lucas is a minimum 20 minute cab ride and sometimes longer with traffic. You need to make sure to negotiate cab fares in advance and do not pay more than $25 each way, or $5 a person. Casa del Mar is more a couples getaway, however, kids would be fine and the main pool adjacent to the hotel is great for kids. The beach however, is not somewhere you want to swim due to the currents.

We really enjoyed San Jose del Cabo vs. Cabo San Lucas for dining. San Jose del Cabo is more charming compared to the nightlife in Cabo San Lucas. There are some fabulous restaurants (we loved Tequilas!) and wish we had tried a few other restaurants there.

When you book your wedding through Casa del Mar, you are expected to bring in some room revenue but on the upside they upgrade you to a beautiful ocean front wedding suite (blocked out for only brides/grooms), which was incredible with a huge patio with dining area, lounge chairs and was very spacious. The room was recently upgraded and was very nice – plasma TV in the main bedroom was a nice touch!

We worked with Claudia Morales, Casa del Mar’s wedding coordinator, since February. Claudia was amazing, we were extremely pleased with her customer service from the moment we spoke. We were leaning towards another resort before speaking with her. We chose Casa del Mar site unseen and could not be more pleased with the layout where both the ceremony and reception were. We were married on the beach and the walkway from the resort was very nice down a small landscaped hill. The Beach Club (the Private Adult pool area) is where the reception was and has been recently remodeled. It is a large palapa (adjacent to the sand, ocean and pool which makes it very unique). There are beautiful chandeliers inside the palapa which add an elegant touch. There is also a nice size dancing area and bar area adjacent. The cocktail reception after the ceremony was near the main pool and although we did not eat the food as we were busy, the overall response was amazing. The dinner was excellent, even better than many of the meals we had at the resort and the presentation was incredible. Claudia was also instrumental in securing very professional vendors from our Officiant, Photographer (highly recommend Alberto Misrachi from Helix audiovisual), Mariachi Band, DJ - all were excellent! We chose to use “The Flower Cart” in Cabo which did a very nice job with our flowers. Claudia was always very quick to respond and had very good follow up as well as great ideas to make our wedding very memorable. She had a welcome gift in our room which was a very nice touch when we checked in. The whole staff knew we were getting married there and treated us like royalty. Claudia was extremely organized on our wedding day. We chose to hire an assistant through Claudia to help with set up and details and it was well worth it. Claudia was instrumental and ran our rehearsal. Instead of a traditional rehearsal dinner we chose to have a “Meet and Greet” (Appetizers and cocktails for entire group) which was held in the Maquey bar and was great. Overall, Claudia made sure everything was perfect for us and her efforts were very appreciated!

A few tips (from my husband) - If you are getting married on the beach, request to have a server at the beach club for cocktails while bridal pictures are being taken before the ceremony as it takes awhile. Also make sure you have enough room or get an additional room for the groomsmen for getting ready prior to the wedding if you do not want to share the wedding suite with the bridal party.

Room service – overall very good but sometimes it took too long to pick up used dishes and to get ice but in their defense, we requested a lot of ice!

Main restaurant/bars - was very good, sometimes the breakfast service was a little slow. The bar areas were very good with our group – especially Raul and Christian. The hotel bars were very accommodating - they even reopened the bars and stayed open late to serve our guests. The margaritas are amazing! But…strong!

Other services - We used the surburban service each way from the airport through Casa del Mar, that we felt was a great value.

Our only complaint is when we were checking out, the management asked us to pay for a lamp that was “broken” the night of our wedding in the bar area. There were a few people in our group who were in the bar late and all of them insist they did not break the lamp, but the hotel asked we pay $150. If the management had let us know the next day and show us the lamp, we would have been more understanding, but it came out of nowhere when we were leaving Monday. Two of our guests were also checking out on Sunday morning early and they witnessed a lamp being broken by a hotel employee (by accident). Considering we spent about $15,000 on our wedding for 50 guests (without flowers and not including our room) and we had 11 couples/groups stay there an averageof three to four nights and each easily spend thousands of dollars per party, it seemed tacky. Anyone could have broken the lamp and with the amount of money that we spent and brought into the resort, and the fact they did not know who even broke it, we felt was a little disheartening.

Overall, we would not change a thing. Our wedding and experience was amazing and we owe Claudia a huge thank you! We do intend to return to Casa del Mar and we look forward to it. We would recommend this resort for a vacation or wedding. Feel free to email us with any questions.

*We are having problems downloading pictures so will add an entry for pictures when able to.

  • Liked — Felt very intimate, like a home.
  • Disliked — Did not experience any major issues.
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleStiegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

We went with friends for 5 days in Los Cabos. They stayed in a large fancy resort hotel, but we wanted a smaller more intimate, low-rise place on the beach. This hotel exceeded our expectations - beautiful room overlooking the water, large balcony, five swimming pools - and for regular swimmers, it was really terrific because the sea isn't very hospitable - undertow. The architecture and decor are lovely, beautiful grounds. You can also rent condos or suites as well. Very helpful staff. Nice restaurants, two outside, one inside, with good food. It's a great place to stay away from the craziness of Cabo. If you want action and partying, it isn't the place, although the bars are quite nice. For those who are nature lovers, it is a turtle hatchery sight, so they have a protected area and you can watch the baby turtles head into the sea. The beach is lovely and you can walk for miles in both directions. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
6.9 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,714 reviews
7.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,190 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,859 reviews
4.2 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 19.5 | Cabo Real, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#13 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the tourist corridor of Los Cabos conveniently on the beachfront, overlooking the Sea of Cortez, Casa del Mar Golf Resort and Spa, is your hacienda oasis in Los Cabos, Mexico. An intimate 50 room ocean view luxury boutique hotel where you can experience the warm Mexican hospitality and personalized service. Casa del Mar offers luxury amenities and accommodations, providing the perfect options and facilities for a relaxing escape, spectacular wedding or romantic honeymoon, a rewarding business travel experience, or a golfer's haven. The spacious rooms and suites are all entirely within a peaceful oasis of lush gardens, fountains and pools. Enjoy your quiet, relaxing vacation on an expansive beach. Rejuvenate body and spirit at our renewed luxury spa, enjoy our championship golf courses or venture out to explore the excitement of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Casa Del Mar Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Casa Del Mar Golf Resort & Spa Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing