We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price for money in a downtown location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posada Terranova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Posada Terranova
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good price for money in a downtown location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had to stay overnight in San Josè del Cabo to catch an early morning flight. This downtown simple inn is very central and quiet at the same time, and not expensive. A few steps to the cathedral (see pict) and a lot of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the outside open land (called "garden")
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A last-minute booking, a late arrival, and very little Spanish (on my part) were no problems at this budget gem of a hotel. The concierge even walked with us to a late-night taco place, as he was going that direction anyway, and we practiced our languages on each other along the way.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was quite good. (I spoke with an ex-pat who said even locals like to eat there for the quality and price of food.)

Located on a quiet street in the historic center of the city, the popular Art District is just a few blocks away.

The hotel is old (historic) but has all the expected updates: grounded outlets, hot showers, TV, and air conditioning. The beds are really nice: plush pillow tops with new comforters and linens. The hotel also provides toiletries and luggage racks, unexpected at this price point.

Two small improvements would have a huge impact: A globe over the bare bulb of the ceiling fans, and better window dressings. Those plastic vertical blinds, with broken and missing vanes, belong in a much slummier place.

My verdict is *love* and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mjanean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The staff were great and the price was good. We just stayed here one night before heading off to other areas. The rooms are a bit worn but it felt safe and was in a close location to downtown San Jose del Cabo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We just stayed here for four nights upon arrival in San Jose del Cabo. This is not a resort hotel but rather a typical Mexican hotel and priced according. If you are ok with the previous sentence, then I would highly recommend that you stay here. If you are a seasoned traveler then you will absolutely appreciate this place. The rooms are comfortable, the beds are nice, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere very laid back. It is also located just a few blocks from the plaza but in a Mexican neighborhood so you are away from all of the tourists. The best part of this hotel may be the terrace out front which you are welcome to use/hang out in when staying here. The restaurant also serves a fantastic breakfast and I highly recommend it even if you don't stay here (breakfast IS NOT included in the room price). The prices at this hotel are low compared to other downtown options but the quality is very high. Definitely the best value for your money in downtown San Jose del Cabo, no question about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isaac K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I didn't stay at this hotel but had breakfast at their restaurant. Service is fast, staff is friendly, coffee is strong and breakfast is very good. Atmosphere is nice too. They have an outdoor area with nice shades and it's a delight to have breakfast there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTolentino, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Posada Terranova, responded to this review, 15 December 2016
Dear costumer,

I want to thank you for your time and comment about the restaurant.

Certainly our restaurant is one of the most tasty and delicious as to Mexican seasoning in San José del Cabo. Also, All the staff is very helpful and is always happy to please you.

The quiet terrace makes a very good match with the food and we guarantee that the coffee will be always hot, delicious and strong.

I appreciate your opinion and I invite you to come back to the restaurant Hotel Posada Terranova and it will be my pleasure to receive you personally in order to give you a tasty and wonderful experience.

Regards,
Jean Paul Avellaneda
Social Media and Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have only had breakfast there, but about 6 times....always good....service great.....reasonable prices.......My wife had eggs "divorcecado" and I had chileqitos, which in Tex-mex is called migas. ....I have also had just the fresh fruit plate........which is also wonderful......

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTolentino, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Posada Terranova, responded to this review, 15 December 2016
Dear costumer,

I really thank you for your time and comment but most of all, for your preference.

I am glad to know that you like Hotel Posada Terranova's Restaurant, certainly we have a very good service thanks to the staff that is very smiling and helpful.

The mexican food is the best in the menu and the fruit is always fresh to offer you the best products.

We hope to see you once again and I personally invite you to come back and taste another dish from the menu, I am sure you will love it. We will do everything to give you a wonderful experience.

Regards,
Jean Paul Avellaneda
Social Media and Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We (party of 4) visited this place twice on my stay in San Jose del Cabo during the
month of February. Both times had their great tasting Club Sandwich w/fries. We
met the owner and his wife on our first visit and on the second visit the owner
(Juan) came over and sat with us. He is fleurent in English along with many other
languages. It was his birthday on the 27th the day we were their. No I won't say
his age and he doesn't look it at all. Fine person. He also serves many seafood
menu's and wines and beers. Note he is open for breakfast and lunch only
Drinking ice tea from here you have no worry of the water as like many
Mexican restaurant's the water is treated. If your ever in doubt just ask they
always have bottled water on hand if you prefer it.

Room Tip: I have never stayed here but I was advised by friends that the rooms were very nice and clean at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandM-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisTolentino, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Posada Terranova, responded to this review, 7 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such a great comment!, certainly at Hotel Posada Terranova we do have great food!, drinks, always ready to serve!, all with reasonably prices!.

Once and again thanks a lot for your comment of the Hotel Posada Terranova!, your home away from home!, we look forward in seeing you again, and please check our great promotios for next summer!,

Best regards,

Jean Paul Avellaneda
Social Media and Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colli
Hotel Colli
#33 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#31 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#12 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Maria Hotel & Suites
Santa Maria Hotel & Suites
#32 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Terranova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Terranova

Property: Hotel Posada Terranova
Address: Degollado between I. Zaragoza y Doblado, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Terranova 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada Terranova is a Boutique hotel located at the heart of San Jose del Cabo Downtown in Baja California Sur. Lovely traditional Mexican style terrace and gardens, clean, quiet and super comfortable with high quality beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Posada Terranova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada Terranova Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing