We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Enjoyable Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Drayton Valley, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Enjoyable Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We visited the Posada during January 23 - Feb 7, 2012. The hotel is quaint and small, clean, and the staff is amazing. The rooms were very large and clean. The beach was great. We swam in the ocean with our special needs daughter every day, not sure why they warned everyone to stay out. Check out the current and use your head, but we found it fantastic!! Very lazy crowd that stays there and we struggled to find enough people to play volleyball everyday. No animation crew, but I guess thats why the lazy people like it there. The food was great. No complaints from anyone in our group. We did the baja buggies and also the whale watching, and the beach hopping excursion. Liked them all!! Cabo was crazy busy when we were there, cruise ship people everywhere!!! Didn't care for it at all. Jose Del Cabo was great, nice little calm quiet place! We really liked it and would recommend it and would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhhclawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    486
    229
    78
    63
See reviews for
310
512
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We only stayed here one night, but had some frozen fish that we were concerned about. "no problema was the response when we checked in, we will put them in our kitchen freezer" A contrast to a hotel in Loretto that said it would be $10 a day to store them. Plus, alcohol is included in the room rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geezerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My girlfriend and I had taken our very first trip to cabo 14 years ago and wanted to go back for a reunion. We have both travelled to the Cabo/San Jose area several times since, with family or friends but not just the two of us. We decided on Posada Real after searching and searching and what an excellent choice! This is definately a small (148 rooms) resort and quite old, but the rooms are clean, the cactus garden is beautiful and the staff and most guests VERY friendly. It was like being at Cheers....where everybody knows your name. Drinks were good, food was okay, Mega store right there and town of San Jose close by. Chairs and loungers at poolside and beach were plentiful and venders only come in if you ask them! This is a very quiet resort, great for relaxation, and miles of beach to walk if you wish. Hats off to Urbano who was VERY accomodating when we had a few small issues with our room and he moved us up to the top floor with a lovely ocean and garden view. The cacti were in bloom and so beautiful! Thanks to all the staff.... some of whose names I remember...Benito and Freddy at the poolside bar...Freddy has the best smile EVER! Ismael, Angel and Luis, were also always happy to serve us. Ramon always ready to help us and Gabrielle was outstanding! I would definately go back to the Posada Real where the people are all genuine and proud of their little hotel! We met so many nice people there too.....most of the guests were Canadian when we were there March 5 thru 15.....seems so long ago now....wish I was back there!

Room Tip: Ask for garden view then you will see the ocean from 2nd or 3rd floor for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csurtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food was good and always hot (which is not true of most all-inclusives.) Good variety--every night there was chicken, pork, beef, and fish. One night we even had standing rib roast. I did miss not having traditional Mexican flan. They had a cake with flan on top and that wasn't nearly as appealing. We always ate lunch at the poolside snack bar and there was a good selection of sandwiches, fries, and snacks such as fish, chicken, or beef quesadillas, tortilla chips, salsa and guacamole. We never had any trouble finding a beach chair. Beach towels were plentiful and you did not have to sign them out. That was a big plus. Rooms were clean and spacious. We were on the third floor & had a view of the ocean from our balcony. We kept the doors open at night to hear the ocean waves. The way the buildings are configured would allow a view of the ocean from all the rooms on the second or third floor. I'm not certain whether you could see it from the first floor rooms. Hot water for showering was plentiful. Nights were cool enough that we did not need air conditioning. We just kept the sliding door open to the balcony. The cactus garden was beautiful and well maintained. The only complaint I had was that there was never any soap in the dispenser in the lady's room near the pool, and that was true for the entire week we were there. I considered this an important issue & had to carry a bar in my purse. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Second or third floor rooms definitely offer a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deloresedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest;
Thank you so much for your comments, encourages us to continue with our goal to give an excellent service. We have taken note about the soap and we will solve it immediately.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I had the most amazing week at the Posada Real. For about $87 per night, we had everything you could ask for on that kind of budget - including breakfast and watered down booze. The Ritz it isn't, but it was clean, had a great beach (not for swimming), kind staff and an excellent ocation near downtown San Jose. It was the most relaxing week of our life. Even the cheesy night entertainment was fun - especially when my husband surprised me with a song on karaoke night. I would recommend eating out at night. While we didn't have dinner there, one of the highlights of our trip was trying all the different restaurants (all were great!) in town. We loved hanging out by the beach all day and then walking into town for dinner. I am sure we will be returning to the Posada Real sometime in the future.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

While this hotel is one of the oldest beachside hotels in Cabo, you get a lot for what you pay. Good service and clean rooms. Nice location on the beach in hotel area walkable to historic San Jose del Cabo and restaurants. Option of all inclusive rates, if you want to just sit on beach and go nowhere. Entertainment in lobby restuarant most nights. Lots of Mexcan families so you feel like you are not in typical Gringo resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casacabanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I spent 2 weeks here. Breakfasts and lunches (at buffet) were good, dinners were terrible. Almost all the staff members were great, a few who need an attitude adjustment. The beds were hard as rock, entertainment was boring, and the "hot tub" was dirty and cold. Drinks were great though, all day service(bar closes at 11pm.........) . I enjoyed my trip but next time posada will not be an option.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#61 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,202 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing