We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMALL RESORT WITH EXCELLENT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Duncan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SMALL RESORT WITH EXCELLENT STAFF”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed at the POSADA REAL from Sun. July 15th to Sun July 22nd. 2012. This is a small resort, with some very important features. All the rooms have balconies, and the ones that face the courtyard all have partial ocean views. My room(B252 at the front of the building, facing the ocean and on the 2nd Floor) was extremely clean including the bathroom, bedding was fresh and clean, and the house keeping women did a great job every day. For those of you that watch TV it might be disappointing that the sets are OLD/not flat screen. For me this was not a problem, since I was on vacation, not to sit in a room and watching TV. The pool, swim up bar, beach area, all are very good. The food, was good, lots of it, and I enjoyed the different types of fish. Haven been to many hotels of all Star ratings, I would rank the Hotel staff in the Top
Five. Helpful, friendly, and there for you. Rating this hotel, I would say it is a high-end Three Star
Hotel, which some of the so-called Four Star Hotels, can't compare. I would recommend this hotel for everyone, singles, couples, families. You will all feel at home. A little tip, if you want to go downtown into San Jose, which has excellent restuarnats, and shops, just stand at the edge of
the Hotel driveway, a city bus passes every 20 minutes, just put you hand in the air and it stops
for you, the cost is just 85 cents US. You get back on the bus the same way, just stand on any curb and put your hand in the air, and they will stop for. I tipped one of the bus drivers and he was very helpful.

Room Tip: get a room at the very front, great ocean views, my was B252
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    502
    238
    82
    68
See reviews for
328
526
60
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed here in June, 2012 for a family reunion. Kids loved the pools and hot-tub and the swim-up bar. The pool-side restaurant is great for lunch as you can order chips and guac, a hamburger, or chicken tenders for the kids. The buffet had good variety each day, although after 8 days here we were ready for more of a variety.

The rooms were very well cleaned. We had some very small issues with our room, and they sent someone out right away. The cleaning staff was beyond good! They'd make little towel animals in the bathroom, and even organize our toiletries for us! Plus they were so friendly.

The resort was not too crowded. Only about 2 of the 9 days the pool seemed to have a lot of swimmers and the palapas were crowded. But typically there was no problem getting a palapa on the beach, or a table by the pool-side kitchen. LOVED the small kiddie pool next to the big pool.

I like the fact that this is not a huge mega-luxury resort. We could let our kids (ages 3-10) play in the resort without wondering where they went. We all appreciated that freedom. It's a manageable size for families and groups. There are no activities planned at the resort, and not many luxury amenities, but that is why I enjoyed it so much! It is a very down-to-earth place with all the basic vacation necessities. If you want super expensive, high-end, mega-resort this is not your place. If you like small, affordable and drama-free vacations, this place is for you.

Room Tip: The ocean-view rooms don't get much of the noise from the pool/bar music. They feel more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MN_Mom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Guest;
We are really happy to know that you had a wonderful time with your family.
We appreciate your comments about our services and the hotel.

Hope to see you soon again in Cabo and Posada Real.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The food in the buffet area was not good, moldy bread, wilty salad and left overs.
They charged $4.00 a DAY to run the fridge, Really! Thats a little much
Benito and Freddy were the highlight of this resort, 2 great guys. Also Luis the bell boy was very accomidating and always there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mividalocainmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest;

Your comment has been sent to our Executive Chef in order to take the pertinent actions.
We really appreciate your comments.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for almost a week and had a great time!
The rooms were of reasonable size and very clean. We had a nice view on the pool and the beach. This hotel cannot be compared with the huge resorts which you will find in Caribbean Mexico as the Posada Real is fairly small. The food is not the best but also not bad.
If you are looking for a very luxury hotel I would recommend to pay a bit more but if you are looking for a good deal than Posada Real is your choice!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Remcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Posada Real is a small resort on the ocean. The Climate is great.Not as humid as areas like the Caribean . The staff here are genuine and very friendly. I think they enjoy working here. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Walking distance to some big stores if you happen to need anything during your stay. Great place for families. I have seen allot of young families here having a great time. Take the bus to Cabo Wabo Cantina and enjoy the music of Sammy Haggar along with allot of guest rockers. The food here is great and fresh although I didn't like the breakfast that much. If you are all inclusive you can order room service for a mere $3.80 U.S dollars. It arrive freshly cooked. Overall a great place for the price.

Room Tip: Ask an ocean view room on the third floor to get a nice view from the balcony. You can upgrade to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed for a week on an all-inclusive package deal and loved our time there. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Highlights for us included:
- the pool, which was perfectly located near the beach and had a swim up bar;
- there was heaps of food and there was lots of variety;
- the rooms were clean and quiet;
- it was located near a mega centre, so we could easily wonder up and buy anything we needed;
- they have table tennis, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, tennis and a few other activities.
- the gardens were really well maintained.

All in all, i would say it is an ideal place for families or couples, especially if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoppyCottonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a small resort that probably caters more to nationals than the mainstream North American markets. It was very clean, relaxing and quiet. The grounds feature a cactus garden rather than a large pool, and it was very pretty, plus it attracted lots of birds so there was birdsong. Our room was large, comfortable, clean, and the balcony was a lovely treat - unlike some hotels the balcony is decent sized and pleasant to sit on. Beds and pillows were pretty hard. We were given a third floor room, and it was niiiiice, gorgeous view. Housekeeping was early, friendly, very efficient and helpful.
Never had any problems finding a palapa and loungers on the beach - each palapa had 2 adirondack type chairs and 2 loungers so that was really nice. There was drink service on the beach too- very attentive and pleasant. If you like walking or running on the beach you'll be in heaven - there is a bit of a slope down to a very flat and packed beach that goes for miles in either direction - very comfortable and happy to walk on. You can wade in the water but it was too rough to play in, and due to riptides and undertows it is not recommended anyway. There were gorgeous huge rollers coming in, and in the afternoon you can see fish literally jumping out of the water. We saw some dolphins one day, which would explain the fish jumping. There are some very upscale resorts sharing this beach in either direction.
Front desk staff were just amazing - super friendly, super helpful, super speedy service - gracias mujeres! Food at the beach and main restaurant was decent to darned good - the fish tacos and tuna salad at the beach bar were to die for, as was the fish every night in the main restaurant (and I am not a fish lover!) The rest of the food was OK, better than some places I've been. They also have excellent chilaqueles and papaya at brekkie, so who could ask for anything more?

The only downer were some of the waiters - slow, inattentive, absent, occasionally unfriendly. At least they were this way to everyone, so it wasn't just us, but they could spoil a happy buzz pretty quickly. We had to get our own coffee some mornings, and stopped by the lobbly bar to get drinks on our way in to dinner,as a way to deal with them. But there were some great waiters too - Freddy at the beach bar, and Lucio and Angel in the restaurant were wonderful, gracias amigos.
We found the Posada to be a very charming, peaceful and nice place to stay - great value and more authentic feel than some bigger places. We would be very happy to come back here again, and recommend it to people who are practical and unpretentious.

Room Tip: higher up rooms have more ocean view. there is an empty lot on one side of the building so rooms ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 116 in Los Cabos
2,032 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
600 reviews
16.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing