We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My mom and I recently spent just over a week at the Posada Real this Christmas. The hotel is older, and is in need of an update, but the rooms are bright and clean. The staff was very friendly, and the front desk was very helpful.
The pool area was beautiful, and very relaxed. There are no beach vendors allowed inside the ropes, and they seem to respect that very well. Pool was freezing cold the week we were there, but the ocean was nice.
Night time activities are very limited. Karaoke was fun, but that's all there really is for structured entertainment.

Tip: we only paid for their semi-inclusive plan (breakfast and domestic drinks included), which was phenomenal. The breakfast is simple, but good (the omlette/egg station was great). We had dinner at the resort on night, and the food wasn't that good. I suggest going into town for dinner. The walk is only 10 minutes, and we felt very safe walking back to the hotel even later in the evening. Shooters is great for lunch/beer/sports, Molly's has great coffee, and Herradero has amazing dinners (huge portions)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just arrived home from Posada Real. You just cant beat the value of this resort! Lets face it, you are not paying top dollar to stay here. The entire place is and was kept clean the entire time we
were there (8 days). The staff was top notch. They will bend over backward to make you happy.
The food was acceptable. Breakfast buffets every morning were really good. Yes there are bees
hanging around the honey and maple syrup bottles (who can blame them). But there was never
a danger of being stung. Burgers at the snack bar at the pool were great. Themed dinners every
night of the week were pretty good. At $1175.00 round trip airfare from South Carolina, 7 nights
accomodations meals and drinks included is hard to beat. It's just too bad they water down the
liqour, but thats an easy fix at the Mega Mart at the top of the hill 2 mins away.

Room Tip: Ground level ocean front best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is a great value. The lobby is a little dingy but the rooms and views are great. There is a really magical cool cactus garden with little iguanas scurrying about. I liked that we could sit on beach and not be harrassed by people hovering trying to sell stuff. Pool side food was great and priced well. Free drinks and free breakfast! The free breakfast is so-so but there were a lot of options: fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, pastry, coffee, yogurt, juice, sausage, toast, etc. The quality was basically what you would expect of a free breakfast buffet but I am definitely not complaining. We had such a pleasant visit. I would also recommend a trip to the art district on Thursday night for the art walk. Art district/ downtown is a 10 minute drive from hotel. Great location!

Room Tip: Cactus Garden is a nice view. We were on backside of hotel and still had a nice partial view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Florence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

There are some good things about this place, and some things that really need improving. First the good:

The Posada Los Cabos has some really great staff. The front desk persons were very nice and helpful (when needed) and the pool snack bar/pool bar staff were outstanding. The staff working breakfast in the morning were good. The grounds were very nice, and for the age of the place, the staff do a pretty good job of keeping it operating. The food at the snack bar is actually pretty good. While they don't have "top shelf" liquor they did have some variety and stuff like Bacardi Rum, Black Velvet Whiskey and Passport Scotch - overall wasn't a big deal. The beer was cold, and two types (Tecate light and Indio dark). It is the first hotel I've had to put a key into a slot to get power in the room - but it wasn't that big of a deal because it was pleasant during the day and evenings got chilly enough where air conditioning wasn't needed.

Needs improvement:
They say the pool is heated to 80 or so degrees - it isn't. The hot tub was 76 degrees and the regular pool around 75 to 78 when I checked them. The rooms are a little dated, but functional. The drapery on the patio doors could use some attention - they won't close all the way. The food at buffet is mediocre at best, but there is generally something you could find. Breakfast is probably the best meal at the buffet, because someone will make you an omelet and you can get fresh fruit. The room safe/removeable lock thing is a little odd. Invest in new room safes.

Unacceptable:
My wife had articles of clothing stolen from her suitcase.

We went to this place because the whole family was going there, and it would have cost significantly more to stay elsewhere in San Jose del Cabo. If it were just two people, I wouldn't consider staying here again - if it were a large family, I might consider it, but would definately think hard about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTBgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate it.

With regards to the pool, we have solar panels to heat it but some times in winter there are no sunny days. In that case we use to heat the pool with a boiler, but in the days you stayed with us the boiler was failed. Unfortunatelly is hard to find many equipments in Cabo so we have to request them in Mexico City and the delivery time is about a week or more. Fortunately the problem was solved.

We will talk with our Executive Chef to revise our menus and make changes to improve our variety and quality of food.

We are sorry by the theft of your clothing. Most of our employees have years working with us and it is not usual to have this kind of problems. Any way we are investigating what happened.

Please accept our apologizes for the inconveniences during your staying with us.

Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Travelocity adverts this as a 3-star quality hotel, but this is not even 1-star. The rooms were dirty (not just unclean, but structurally dirty). The hotel corridor, building and rooms are ugly. The room floor was not cleaned in months, and was dirty. The free internet gets disconnected often, and the breakfast area is humming with bees. The only comfort was king size bed. We spent 0 time at the hotel other than sleeping. Much of the hotel reception does not speak English.

The worst thing was, the key for safe in the room would not come out of the lock so we were carrying our passports and other valuables with us all the time. From US standards, this was worse than a motel, and they claim to be a 3 star hotel. If you want to have a vacation, this is not the place to stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickFromSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Guest;

Please accept our apologizes for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us.
I have talked with our Room Division Manager about the cleaning of your room to avoid in the future to have the same problem with our guest.

We had problems with our Internet service in November but we bought a new master device and since that date we didn´t have problems or complaints from our guests.

With regards the safety box, if we could have your name we can track your complaint in Front Desk, because the problem could be solved just giving you another key.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences and we just want to say that we will work even more to give a satisfied service to our guest.

Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My wife and I spent a week in November 2012 at the Posada Real Los Cabo. This was our first time to this part of Mexico and we were impressed. The hotel is nothing fancy or new but this is a beachfront property with a nice pool and beach. We had internet service the first few days then the wireless signal had problems with intermitant service. Drinks were includes in our room rate and the grill at the pool had very affordable lunches.

You can stay next door for triple the cost for a 5 star luxury resort. We often took the city bus for under a dollar in the evening to the downtown LosCabo area for several fine Mexican restaurants and shopping for jewelry and souvenirs. The cost for a car ride to the airport is about $20.00 plus tip, We arranged our incoming trip through the LosCabo Concierge and were charged over double the going rate through one of their buddies they recommended. There is also a great store called the Mega which is about a 2 block walk that has food, bakery, expresso bar that is huge, well stocked and much more than just a grocery store. If you are a beach lover on budget, the Posada Real is a good choice. Over the general area is clean and safe with paved roads.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bob1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Needing some miles to maintain MVP status, a trip to Cabo seemed in order. Chose to stay in San Jose to explore art scene. As other reviewers have stated, the service at this hotel is outstanding. The food is just okay but plentiful, the drinks are better. The rooms are in need of updating, but are clean, and the air conditioning works very well. My view of the cactus garden and ocean was relaxing from my balcony. The pool is pristine, as are the grounds. The beach chairs are very comfortable and there are enough for everyone and service around the pool and beach is prompt. Provided beach towels are large and fluffy. Walking distance to town. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#33 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £62 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing