We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Food is cold not many choices bar opens at 11 am closes 11 pm don't try to get alcohol at any other time only ONE BARTENDER AT A TIME so you will wait and they don't like to give you anything for your room WASPS ALL OVER THE POOL BAR SO BE CAREFUL NO SMOKING and don't pay for upgrade because I believe all rooms are partial ocean view and lucky to get a fridge but you have to get your own water everyday and they will not stock it I've been to Mexico three times and this was the worst especially for 1000 dollars a week all inclusive

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces empty weedy lot not a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest;

We are sorry by not having fulfilled your expectation about our services.

You are right about the service of the beverages, we serve them from 11:00 am to 11:00pm. We have given this information to all our travel agencies.
Similary, we have given the information that most of our rooms have partial ocean view, but many of them with only garden view. If a Guest would like to change in a Partial or Front Ocean View, there is a small surcharge.

I have talked with our Executive Chef in order to be more careful with the temperature of the food serve. We appreciate the comment.

Please, accept our apologizes for the inconveniences.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    486
    229
    78
    63
See reviews for
310
512
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I've stayed at this property twice...once by myself, and once with my kids...ages 19 and 22.
It's a small, laid back property right on the beach, which is what I was looking for. No mega resort. The service was excellent, and there is usually entertainment each evening. I did the all inclusive, and the food was average. I would suggest do the plan that they offer that includes room and drinks, but not the food. That way you can explore San Jose and Cabo, and also have the luxury of having all the drinks you like poolside or at the beach while at the hotel.

I'm going back again in a few weeks, just to get a little sun. it's a great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

My mom and I recently spent just over a week at the Posada Real this Christmas. The hotel is older, and is in need of an update, but the rooms are bright and clean. The staff was very friendly, and the front desk was very helpful.
The pool area was beautiful, and very relaxed. There are no beach vendors allowed inside the ropes, and they seem to respect that very well. Pool was freezing cold the week we were there, but the ocean was nice.
Night time activities are very limited. Karaoke was fun, but that's all there really is for structured entertainment.

Tip: we only paid for their semi-inclusive plan (breakfast and domestic drinks included), which was phenomenal. The breakfast is simple, but good (the omlette/egg station was great). We had dinner at the resort on night, and the food wasn't that good. I suggest going into town for dinner. The walk is only 10 minutes, and we felt very safe walking back to the hotel even later in the evening. Shooters is great for lunch/beer/sports, Molly's has great coffee, and Herradero has amazing dinners (huge portions)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erex90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just arrived home from Posada Real. You just cant beat the value of this resort! Lets face it, you are not paying top dollar to stay here. The entire place is and was kept clean the entire time we
were there (8 days). The staff was top notch. They will bend over backward to make you happy.
The food was acceptable. Breakfast buffets every morning were really good. Yes there are bees
hanging around the honey and maple syrup bottles (who can blame them). But there was never
a danger of being stung. Burgers at the snack bar at the pool were great. Themed dinners every
night of the week were pretty good. At $1175.00 round trip airfare from South Carolina, 7 nights
accomodations meals and drinks included is hard to beat. It's just too bad they water down the
liqour, but thats an easy fix at the Mega Mart at the top of the hill 2 mins away.

Room Tip: Ground level ocean front best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is a great value. The lobby is a little dingy but the rooms and views are great. There is a really magical cool cactus garden with little iguanas scurrying about. I liked that we could sit on beach and not be harrassed by people hovering trying to sell stuff. Pool side food was great and priced well. Free drinks and free breakfast! The free breakfast is so-so but there were a lot of options: fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, pastry, coffee, yogurt, juice, sausage, toast, etc. The quality was basically what you would expect of a free breakfast buffet but I am definitely not complaining. We had such a pleasant visit. I would also recommend a trip to the art district on Thursday night for the art walk. Art district/ downtown is a 10 minute drive from hotel. Great location!

Room Tip: Cactus Garden is a nice view. We were on backside of hotel and still had a nice partial view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

There are some good things about this place, and some things that really need improving. First the good:

The Posada Los Cabos has some really great staff. The front desk persons were very nice and helpful (when needed) and the pool snack bar/pool bar staff were outstanding. The staff working breakfast in the morning were good. The grounds were very nice, and for the age of the place, the staff do a pretty good job of keeping it operating. The food at the snack bar is actually pretty good. While they don't have "top shelf" liquor they did have some variety and stuff like Bacardi Rum, Black Velvet Whiskey and Passport Scotch - overall wasn't a big deal. The beer was cold, and two types (Tecate light and Indio dark). It is the first hotel I've had to put a key into a slot to get power in the room - but it wasn't that big of a deal because it was pleasant during the day and evenings got chilly enough where air conditioning wasn't needed.

Needs improvement:
They say the pool is heated to 80 or so degrees - it isn't. The hot tub was 76 degrees and the regular pool around 75 to 78 when I checked them. The rooms are a little dated, but functional. The drapery on the patio doors could use some attention - they won't close all the way. The food at buffet is mediocre at best, but there is generally something you could find. Breakfast is probably the best meal at the buffet, because someone will make you an omelet and you can get fresh fruit. The room safe/removeable lock thing is a little odd. Invest in new room safes.

Unacceptable:
My wife had articles of clothing stolen from her suitcase.

We went to this place because the whole family was going there, and it would have cost significantly more to stay elsewhere in San Jose del Cabo. If it were just two people, I wouldn't consider staying here again - if it were a large family, I might consider it, but would definately think hard about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTBgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate it.

With regards to the pool, we have solar panels to heat it but some times in winter there are no sunny days. In that case we use to heat the pool with a boiler, but in the days you stayed with us the boiler was failed. Unfortunatelly is hard to find many equipments in Cabo so we have to request them in Mexico City and the delivery time is about a week or more. Fortunately the problem was solved.

We will talk with our Executive Chef to revise our menus and make changes to improve our variety and quality of food.

We are sorry by the theft of your clothing. Most of our employees have years working with us and it is not usual to have this kind of problems. Any way we are investigating what happened.

Please accept our apologizes for the inconveniences during your staying with us.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Travelocity adverts this as a 3-star quality hotel, but this is not even 1-star. The rooms were dirty (not just unclean, but structurally dirty). The hotel corridor, building and rooms are ugly. The room floor was not cleaned in months, and was dirty. The free internet gets disconnected often, and the breakfast area is humming with bees. The only comfort was king size bed. We spent 0 time at the hotel other than sleeping. Much of the hotel reception does not speak English.

The worst thing was, the key for safe in the room would not come out of the lock so we were carrying our passports and other valuables with us all the time. From US standards, this was worse than a motel, and they claim to be a 3 star hotel. If you want to have a vacation, this is not the place to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickFromSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Dear Guest;

Please accept our apologizes for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us.
I have talked with our Room Division Manager about the cleaning of your room to avoid in the future to have the same problem with our guest.

We had problems with our Internet service in November but we bought a new master device and since that date we didn´t have problems or complaints from our guests.

With regards the safety box, if we could have your name we can track your complaint in Front Desk, because the problem could be solved just giving you another key.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences and we just want to say that we will work even more to give a satisfied service to our guest.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,201 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing