We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a great hotel. It's not all fancy, which is reflected in the price. It is clean and the staff and food are amazing. This is a NO PARTY type hotel, which is great for families like ours. We will definitely be going there again next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Tamara,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon again with us.

Warm regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    498
    236
    82
    66
See reviews for
322
523
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SUN CITY, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our fourth time staying at Posada Real. It always feels like home to us. Much of the staff is still there and we are made to feel like family. Yes, it is a budget hotel, but how much time do you really spend in the room? The rooms, by the way are large and clean. We had the fancy animal shaped towels on our bed when we would come back from our days adventure. The food was fine and there was always plenty of it. In the evening there was always some kind of entertainment. We checked out other hotels in the area and did not care for them. Some were just to big and noisy to enjoy. We love taking the local buses to attractions. One night we went into Cabo for a sunset cruise. We had a wonderful time. The CaboRey is a great sunset boat to go on. The bar staff at Posada is wonderful. Estaben, Ismael were fantastico. We can't wait to go back. BTW if you find the beds to hard they will bring a mattress topper for you. And all of the bed have been changed from the mattress on a concrete slab to a traditional bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FIREFLY60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Posada Real is a small hotel that sits far down in the TripAdvisor ratings for San Jose del Cabo.
We arrived here for a week, after previous plans were scuttled. It was relatively inexpensive and the reviews on TA looked ok.
We started by purchasing the most inexpensive package from home (garden view room) and then upgraded to a Ocean View Suite. It was two adjoining rooms, one made into a living room and the other, the bedroom. So we had two washrooms, two balconies etc. It is an older resort and yes it could probably use a massive renovation, but it is clean and comfortable. It is a place that Mexican's go to and despite the language barrier, I enjoyed having a drink with people other than just North American's. The food is superb, but I will warn you that if you do not like Mexican food or tire of it quickly, go somewhere else.
My Wife and I loved the hotel, we met some great new friends and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Heed the warnings regarding the Ocean. The current is extremely dangerous at the Resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsbeenawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Posada Real as a last minute change of trip plans while visiting Baja Sur. A tropical storm was predicted so we wanted to stay somewhat close to the airport without staying in Cabo San Lucas. The manager of the Hotel was very accommodating to our last minute arrival and Hotels.com price (but this was low season and perhaps we could have even made a better deal). The place was pretty quiet overall, but, again, it was low season. The staff were all very nice and gracious. The hotel itself is pretty and the grounds are lovely with cactuses and beautiful succulent plants. The rooms could use some help...nothing special at all about them. Bathroom was kind of dingy, AC worked, but blew right over the bed...it was an OK place to stay. We had included drinks/breakfasts with our room price. The breakfast each day was a buffet where you could order omelets and fresh homemade quesadillas were available. It was a little better than average for breakfast. The drinks were plentiful and the staff was more than accommodating in making sure you always had whatever you wanted. The location of the place was close enough to Centro San Jose del Cabo, and far enough away from Cabo San Lucas. The pool was ok and it is right on the ocean; however, the water is ill advised for swimming due to current and rip tides.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuszmahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest;

We appreciate your time to make your comments about your staying with us.

I have taken notes about the things that doesn't work and I will be working with the Room División Manager and Maintenance Chief in order to improve your suggestions.

Thank you very much and I hope you stay with us in your future visit to Los Cabos.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylmar, ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at posada real for our 3yr aniverssary on the 4th of July week. I must say this place is great. The staff is amazing they go above and beyond to make your stay extra special. We got the all inclusive plan, that worked out great for us. The food was good and there was a good selection. They always have fresh fruit juice and coffee.. My favorite part is the pool area. The have lots of beach chairs you can either sit at the pool or at the beach. Its not a swimable beach but the view is beautiful. They also have a swim up bar so u can sit and have drinks while you dip in the pool. Benito was our waiter at the pool for the most part, and I must say this man is amazing!!! He took care of the whole beach and pool are all by himself! Make sure you tip him everytime he works hard under that hot sun and he deserves it. Always service with a smile and very sweet. He even gave us a personal good bye on our last day. All the other bartenders and people at the lobby are also great and at your service. I do recomend this resort for couples or older people. There is not much for kids to do besides swim. Also the place completly stops at about 10-11pm so if you are looking to party and open bars this is not the place. Make sure you pay for a fridge and stock up on your drinks because everything will be closed at night time. This place is also about a 35minute car drive to all the clubs. I would for sure go back to this place. Staff and facility are wonderful. I had a great vacation with my bf.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mari s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Food and service are excellent,my wife and I went fishing on an excursion and caught 6 mahi mahi the kitchen staff prepared all the fish,we both had some and the rest we shared with the resort staff.The resort is older but it is well kept with the rooms being super clean,all meals of the day are excellent and the staff is always helpful,the resort is laid back and quiet so after a long day out its nice to come back and just relax and not have to listen to party animals,the Terramar staff in the front lobby to a great job booking day excursions and are very knowledgeable and helpful.All around just a great vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has one major flaw: the food is terrible. I got all inclusive (breakfast and drink only) and I am glad I did not go for the whole package. Water down drinks, and the food is just tasteless and with very few choices. We finally skipped the breakfast too, and preferred to cross the street and had lunch in a restaurant.

The hotel has a nice view and all rooms have an ocean view. And at night one can sleep all night without noise which is a big plus for me. The beach area has plenty of palapas and chairs, any time during the day and the pool is not crowded. Nighlife is nonexistent.

The area is very safe and there is a commercial mall about 2 blocks away open until about midnight. There are also stores like 7 eleven, called OXXO that open until 2 am.

Beautiful beach "El medano" in Cabos San lucas, which is about 20 minutes away by bus.
"El CHileno Beach" is also nice, but don't go there on weekends (too crowded). Finally the beaches I loved "La Playita" and 'Palmilla" just about 3 miles from this hotel.

Cabos San Lucas is one the most expensives places in Mexico. Taxis and car rentals are not affordable for a lot of people. Just one day rental at the hotel cost 72 USD plus gas! And such a small car that a tall guy like me couldn't get in!
Thanks God they have a great bus system which we used daily.

In general Posada Real is located in a nice area, with a beautiful beach and between Barceló hotel and El Faro, two mega resorts. Their all inclusive is not a good idea. And if reservations are made online, call the hotel to double check your reservations were made.

Room Tip: all rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larryreina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry because we didn't fulfilled your expectations during your staying with us.

We will continue to work in improving our food quality and services in order to get always happy clients.

We appreciate your comments.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 116 in Los Cabos
2,027 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing