We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What we expected”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Posada Real and it was what we expected for a 3 to 3.5 Star hotel. Food was fine but got a littled tired in the 2nd week but you won't starve. Breakfast was great as there was fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, and made to order omellets plus suasages, pastries, etc. We ate lunch at the pool everday so can't comment on the lunch buffet. Lunch at the pool was the easiest and the menu is vaired. My favourite was likley the Nachos and the Cheese Burger. There was a different theme for dinner buffet each night and like I said you won't starve. I am a pretty picky eater and I managed to find at least one or two items I could eat each night we did eat there. We did walk to San Jose Centre and ate at Pasquales twice which I would recommend for some good Italien food and is owned by former resident of Vancouver.We also ventured into Cabo San Lucas by bus for all of 32 pecos per adult each way and ate at three different restaurants by the Marina.
As far as the rooms go they were clean, and yes in need of an upgrade but rooms, towels were cleaned and exchanged everyday. We had problems with our fridge, AC and pull out sofa and they were corrected in record time.
Pool and beach area were great and you didn't have to get up at 6:00 a.m. to reserve your pool side lounger or beach palapas (sp) as no one is really up and going until 9:00 or 10:00. Pool is solar heated so is a bit cool first thing but warms up bu 11:00 or so, never ventured into the hot tub but people seemed to enjoy it so it must of been fine. The servers (Benito and Jerimahs) at the pool and beach are exceptional and work really hard from 10:00 to closing 6 days a week.
All in all our stay was very enjoyable and we accomblished our goals which was to get tans, read a few books, walk the beach each, forget about work and just chill and this resort is just perfect for all those.

Room Tip: For $50.00 US per night you can upgrade to a suite which will give you a little bit more room and gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLOP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    497
    235
    82
    66
See reviews for
321
523
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed in Posada Real in Jan 2014. An older resort, the rooms look dated and tired, the beds were in need of updating (mattress smaller than the boxspring), the the tv was blurry and ,well, who came to Cabo for tv anyway??

A new resort is being built on the east side of Posada where our room was located, we tried to change rooms but the resort was full (so they said) so we stayed where we were. No big deal...construction began at 7AM and we were usually out of the room by then anyway ( Sunrise on the beach anyone?)

It wasn't party central at this resort, more like a relaxing place for older or quieter people and families. Not much in the entertainment department other than nightly live music (Wednesday karaoke). The beach is great for walking at low tide, high tides brought more waves and crashing and banging.

We enjoyed the food except of one night the chicken and pork were very tough and the last morning everything seemed to be cold. Like a recent reviewer, we aren't picky eaters but we WERE satisfied with the food here. Decent selection and quality.

Staff were usually very good although at breakfast service seemed to be a bit lacking at times.

We don't usually visit the same destinations twice, but if we were to visit San Jose again, I'd probably pay a couple hundred dollars more just to have a more modern room/ bed and a resort with more entertainment options. But for this stay at Posada, we were happy with it. What we saved by not staying at a more expensive resort we shared with staff in the form of tips.

Come on Canadians, don't be cheap in tipping when visiting such countries.

Room Tip: Just starting construction of a resort on east side of Posada, so ask for a room in the interior cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brrabo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, are very valuable for us.

With regards the TV signal, we are working on it and I hope to solve this situation this week.
Furthermore, we will update the wires to have a better signal and increase the channels from 16 to 28, in order to have a better selection.

We continue working and trying to improve our service in order to have happy clients.
We hope to have an opportunity in the future to serve you again and verify our improvements.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN DIEGO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is very nice and clean. They have good customer service. The have option to have all inclusive or free breakfast only, with open bar, free national drinks. This hotel is great for families and people that want to relax. It's 30 minutes away from San Lucas, downtown cabo. So if you need to go to Cabo San Lucas daily this hotel is not for you. Also, if you like the beach, you can' swim at the beach in Posada Real is "red flag" zone do to strong current and waves, so this is not for you if you are a beach swimmer. Overall hotel is nice and clean, great option for those that like the pool, open bar, and buffet. Daily live music all nights. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLAONROADTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The people were great, the grounds were very nice. The food was decent. It was a great vacation if you have no intention of partying and you just want to relax and get away. There was not a lot of food options but the snack bar at the beach was great for quick lunch and drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is an inexpensive option in San Jose del Cabo, right on the beach. Most of the other hotels on the beach charge much more for their all-inclusive stays. The all-inclusive rate, which we had, at this property is very accessible and for that price you get ok rooms, which could use some upgrading, especially of the linens and towels. The rooms were large enough, and the beds were fine, but not great. The bathrooms weren't too bad, but could use some sprucing up and a better hairdryer, more plugs. The doors are not sound-proof, so the sound level from the hallway is quite loud--doors slamming, people talking/shouting with no regard for other guests. All I can say is be prepared. Regarding the food, I would have to say there was a poor selection of food for the meals and most of the food was pretty bland and tasteless. We're not picky eaters, but we never once could say we were completely satisfied after a meal. The hotel was not at full capacity and the trays were always empty and when we asked if they were bringing out more, we always had to wait. Also, the setup for the food line is not very well-planned. Only two lesser-known brands of Mexican beer were included in the options for beer for the all-inclusive. The snack bar/pool bar selection of food is fine. The grounds are nicely landscaped, the pool is nice, the beach area is nice and the service at the beach and pool are pretty good. If you reserve on-line, be sure to specify the bed type in the requests or you may be assigned a room that doesn't quite meet your needs. We booked a Deluxe room and wanted a King and were assigned 2 doubles. The front desk tried it's best to NOT change our room, but they finally gave in and gave us a King room. I understand that a hotel can not always make these kinds of adjustments, so it's best to make sure to request it and bring a copy of your request/reservation to help support your point, just in case, which I admit, I had forgotten to do this time. We did appreciate the wi-fi, although the signal was not always great, it worked for being on vacation for a few days. I would consider this hotel again as a low cost option to stay, but not as an all-inclusive, and I would take advantage of all the great restaurants in San Jose for meals. If you want an all-inclusive experience, I would recommend you pay a little more to get a nicer room and better quality food and drinks at one of the other all-inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laGuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We loved this place. i read the reviews and went in with low expectations and i was pleasantly surprised! Yes the linens and towels need to be replaced and there is some wear and tear here...but for the prices..its awesome! Staff was great, breakfast was great with fresh fruit and homemade tortillas for the brekky tacos:) The beach was great and we swam and body surfed and had a blast! i would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a large construction project going on next door to the south so they started a little early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsoloSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spent 8 days at the Posada Real over Christmas and really enjoyed our time there. We had two kids, 10 and 12, as well as grandma-and everyone had a great time. The hotel is a bit older, but the staff works very hard at keeping it clean and fresh. Our room was very clean, well maintained, and had a nice view of the garden and ocean.
The food was always good. Breakfast had a good variety of fruit, juices, breads, made-to-order eggs and omeletts, and a few Mexican dishes. Lunch was pretty standard, but we did enjoy fresh tuna steaks griled to our liking one day-very tasty. Lunch was also available at the pool side snack bar. Dinner was always a good selection of fish, beef, chicken and pork, as well as ceviche, salad, and soups. The menu wasn't overly large, but the whole family enjoyed it. You could also get fresh made quesadillas almost every day-hand pressed torrillas filled with a good choice of fillings per your request.
The service was always great! Whether sitting at the pool, under a palapa on the beach, at the poolside bar, or in the restaurant or lounge, the servers kept you happy with food and drinks-always with a smile. One server, Joel, stood out as the best of the bunch.
The activities desk was a great help in setting reservations for the Dolphin Discovery at a nicely discounted price. The rental car agency on site made it easy to rent a car for the day (not cheap in Mexico).
Were there challenges? Sure. The water stopped mid-shower one morning, but one call to the desk and the staff was there immediately-great job! We also had to call for a AC that didn't seem to work and it was also fixed within minutes.
Customer service is taken seriously at Posada Real.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,025 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
576 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#22 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing