We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Real Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Dryden, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Posada Real is a fantastic hotel for families or anyone looking for a winter escape. The hotel staff is very accommodating and helpful. The buffet has a large variety of choices each day and there is a different theme for supper each night. Live entertainment in the lounge area was loud but enjoyable. Large expanse of beach that is kept very clean. On the down side, the beds are extremely firm, and there is construction going on on the east side of the hotel which can be disturbing if your room is on that side. The beach is posted against swimming because of undertows, but we played in the waves with no difficulty. We will be back.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    476
    223
    77
    62
See reviews for
305
500
58
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel was pretty much as described by other reviewers so we weren't surprised. The hotel is old but kept very clean and the grounds are immaculate. The staff was spectacular with the exception of Juan who completely ignored us on 3 different occasions. We sat at a table at the beach restaurant twice for over 30 minutes while he waited on everyone else but us. Once in the dining room also but as it's all buffet, we didn't care too much. We did tip generously all the time but it made no difference. The rest of the staff were great, especially Benito, Simon, Ezekial and the captain at the dinner hour. The bartenders were great too. The food is ok. The second week it was a bit repetitious but we never went hungry. Breakfast was good with someone cooking omelettes and eggs if you wanted. The one complaint we had was the little kids in the hot tub. The mothers let them play in there all day instead of the kiddy pool which usually sat empty. One day there were no less than 10 kids under 6 years old in it all day. As a result, the tub was murky and probably full of pee. We thought we might get in at night when we first arrived but no way would I set foot in that swamp water. The age limit should be over 12 years for the hot tub. Otherwise, use in the kid's pool as it's for the little ones. And the pool was not cold. It was way warmer than the air which was about 29C. The other major complaint is that people saved beach chairs under the palapas every day. We went out to see the sunrise at 6:45 one morning and every chaise was already draped with a towel. Because of this habit, there were doors slamming and people in the halls every morning at 5:30 and 6:00 to get out to the beach. This practice should not be tolerated by the hotel. Beach chairs and shade palapas should be first come first served so everybody gets a turn. Some of these people didn't even show up until noon.
The hotel is in a great location on the beach and close to town, the big Mega store, and all the buses. The local bus was only 10 pesos each to ride to town or it was a 35 minute walk. Overall, you get what you pay for and we did have a nice vacation.

Room Tip: Every room has a partial ocean view whether listed as garden view or partial ocean view. Don't p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you so much for your comments.
I have read it carefully and I took notes about the food service and the palapa's reservations.

I will talk with the Managers of each area in order to take actions to improve our service.

We hope to see you soon in Posada Real Los Cabos.

Cordially

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Thinking of an all-inclusive holiday with a young one? My wife and I can definitely recommend Posada Real in San Jose del Cabo as your selection. From Alonso at the front desk to Jose Luis and the team in the restaurant to Jeremias serving up food and smiles on the beach, we felt like the staff went beyond expectations to make the experience as pleasant as possible for our little one. A special mention of Laura who went out of her way to make our son smile! They were all personable and genuinely friendly. The variety of healthy yet tasty buffet options, memorable ocean sunrises and warm afternoon sunshine also contributed to our favorable impression. We liked wandering the cobblestone streets of nearby San Jose but generally found the Cabo region overdeveloped and overpriced. The 5 km white sand beach is clean and uncrowded but the ocean was too rough to swim (a modest disappointment). Overall, this place will suit young families looking for a laid back winter holiday.

Room Tip: A semi ocean view room in the north wing will be bathed in more hours of sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrrrrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time in Posada Real Los Cabos.

Laura, Jeremias, Alonso and the whole staff will be happy to read your comments and that they had fulfilled your expectations.

Looking forward to seeing you soon in Posada Real Los Cabos.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent 2 weeks all inclusive at the Posada Real January 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The place has a much more authentic Mexicano flavor than many of the more Americanised resorts. Simply put American is fine but we go to Mexico to experience Mexico. We have not been to a friendlier resort, tourist or staff wise.Our room was not the best we've ever had, but it was clean, comfortable, and quite adequate, The state of repair was good all over the resort, and the toilets all flushed the first time!! Food choices may not have been as extensive as other resorts we've visited, but flavor and quality was excellent and always had choices for the pickier appetites.. The breakfast omelets and enchiladas are always good. The lunch bar by the pool was great with good choices. We ate there every lunch. Desserts have been somewhat disappointing in Mexico in the past, for some reason the cakes are always so wet as to be mushy. This resort was much better for desserts too. The cakes were much better and cheesecakes were great. The resort manager, Raul went beyond professional to make our stay memorable. Head waiters Jose and Benito are probably the best we have encountered. They, and indeed all the staff went above and beyond. Being a smaller resort means there is less fighting the crowds, and more relaxation. Weather was outstanding, the area is very arid, low humidity allowing more enjoyment of the heat without sweating. There are a multitude of cactus present all over; some being centuries old . The beach is the widest in terms of depth that we have encountered. From this resort you can walk one of the best walking beaches anywhere for several miles in either direction. From your lounger on the sand, it's not uncommon to see whales swim past. We had the good fortune to encounter newly hatched sea turtles scrambling to the water. If you watch the waves you should see manta rays jumping and swimming through the curls. It is an easy walk to Mega from the resort. Walmart is about 25 minutes walk, the artisanas market about 25 minutes as well. Our one complaint was the adjoining door in our room. We wish it wasn' there as it allowed a lot of noise from the next room. In terms of value for dollars spent this resort scores very highly. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are quieter. Ask for a room without adjoining door unless wanted. Take U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We went for 10 days. Our room was not ready when we got to the hotel at 4pm, so we went and had a snack then came back to be given a room that was not what we had a confirmation for. I was very disappointed b/c I had emailed in advance & our preferences were confirmed.The next morning, with the manager's assistance(& my confirmation email) we changed rooms and from then on our perception improved! The resort is very small but as I was recovering from knee surgery we had looked for a resort that was smaller to decrease the amount of walking. The staff is so friendly- we loved J. Manual & Benito. Our room was lovely, and large- the bed SO comfy- the bathroom could use some updating, but the shower had great water pressure, & lots of hot water. Liked the in-room safe, pool towels. Food was good generally- breakfast very good, liked the poolside menu choices. Supper was my least favorite- would recommend having a basic rice/potato dish available each night. Desserts were tasty- not our experience in other Mexican resorts. No problem getting a lounger- loved that the beach met the pool deck. Drinks were good, music at pool great. Entertainment in the lobby nightly was excellent. $3 each way on bus to Los Cabos or $1each way to San Jose- busses easy to connect with & close to hotel. Of note- it was tough to convert currency here-the banks wouldn't convert Cdn at all. We did manage to find a currency exchange close to the Mega with a resident's help- but don't expect to be able to change $ at the hotel.We did thoroughly enjoy our vacation here& will return to this resort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Arriving at the Posada Real we were cordially greeted and shown to our room – unfortunately not the “king room, garden view” of our reservation but with double beds and a view of the adjacent hotel. Returning to the lobby I was told that the double room was what was on my reservation and there was nothing else available – I produced my confirmation and suddenly a nice king, garden view room materialized! From other reviews it looks like this happens from time to time, so I suggest having a printout of your confirmation with you.

The property is in a good location on the clean and wide beach, with convenient access to both the local and San Jose-to-Cabo bus lines. A short bus ride or pleasant 15-minute walk gets you to the center of San Jose del Cabo, which is clean, with nice shops and restaurants, and without the frenzy you can find in Cabo.

Posada Real is probably one of the older properties on the beach. The design shows its age and there’s some wear and tear (particularly the bathrooms) but it’s generally clean and inviting, and charmingly Mexican, which I think is a good thing when you’re in Mexico. It doesn’t have any modern glitz or elegance, it’s not the Hyatt or the Wyndham, so if you expect to be in a place like that, don’t go to the Posada. The room is well-kept, the bed was OK, and as another reviewer stated, you shouldn’t be spending too much time in there anyway. The pool and beach area were nice, plenty of lounges, shade or sun as you desire. The only downer is that the beach is always red-flagged (no swimming) regardless of the conditions (which were very benign during our visit). I think the hotels just don’t want any drunken turistas drowning on their beaches.

A cool bonus from our all-inclusive package is that I get to be a food reviewer too! Food quality was all over the place. Breakfast was the most consistent, generally with all the usuals (eggs, pancakes or French toast, fruit, sweet breads, etc.). Most days there were freshly made tortillas (yum!) cooked to order, with your choice of cheese, meats, veggies, and salsas, and also a cook-to-order egg/omelet station. For lunches we were either out and about, or just snacked all afternoon from the pool/beach area. The outdoor menu was varied with chips and guacamole, ceviche, nachos, burgers, etc., and the service was outstanding. Our beer cups never went dry… Dinners were hit-or-miss. To their credit they do try to mix things up, with a different “theme” each night. Our arrival coincided with Chinese night, and I just don’t think it was a happy fit for the Mexican chefs. Most dishes were quite bland, the best bet for flavor was the cook-to-order stir fry with a variety of meats and veggies. Next up was Italian night, getting better, particularly the marinated tuna steaks grilled for you. Not sure if it’s Italian but the tuna was tasty, as was a bland-looking but really good penne pasta dish. Friday was Mexican night, the hit of the week! Not the usual tacos and enchiladas, but some great regional dishes including chicharrones en salsa verde, chile colorado, Yucatan tamales wrapped in banana leaves, and another variation of the grilled tuna steaks. Saturday was seafood night, which I eagerly awaited after Friday’s dinner and the fact that some really great seafood is available in the area. Unfortunately it didn’t live up to my expectations, with very little seafood available, and with the grill items being either chicken, steak, or a rather oily and rubbery white fish that none of the staff knew the name of. Barbecue night on Sunday was a little better (except for that same mysterious white fish again) with decent chicken, steaks, and burgers as the main fare. Service was generally good – getting coffee in the mornings could be a little frustrating, but in the evenings it seemed like we got more attention and they were happy to keep the wine glasses full.

Overall, I’d say this is really a 3-star property, but I give it 4 because of the nice Mexican feel and the welcoming and attentive staff. You probably can't find a more reasonably priced beachfront property. We had a very pleasant stay overall, if only the dinners were a little better. I think next time we’d be happy to stay here, but maybe not go for the all-inclusive and explore the options in town a bit more.

Room Tip: Insist on the room you paid for! The garden view rooms are very nice, all have a little ocean view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, It will help us the improve our services.

Looking forward to seeing you soon in Posada Real Los Cabos.

Cordially

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Posada Real is our go-to resort for relaxing. This year my husband and I stayed for 2 weeks end of Jan to mid Feb. As usual it was the most relaxing, perfect weather holiday. The staff is extraordinary: Urbano, Gabriel, Luis (our adopted son), Benito, Esteban, Francisco, Ismael, Jeremias, Simon, Jose, Enrique, to name a few. They make us feel so much at home. Food was great, as always - love the battered deep-fried fish, breaded chicken breast and flank steak the best. in addition to all the items on theme nights, there is always the choice of having chicken breast, beef, pork chops grilled the way you like it. The only thing I miss is bacon on the breakfast buffet. Drinks are good, Tecate beer is very mild almost sweet tasting. Beds and pillows are still hard - we went to the Mega and bought our own pillows and left them there, so the next people in our room will be happy. We got our maid to bring some foam pads for our beds - much better sleep. We usually end up renting a Cabana for $5.00 a day - very comfy and great ocean view to watch the whales. What more can I say, we love this place and these people and will return again, and again. Bonnie and John

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you had a wonderful time in Posada Real Los Cabos.

I have taken note of the bacon and I will talk with our Executive Chef in order to serve them in the mornings.

We will be glad to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#59 of 115 in Los Cabos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#16 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing