We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Drinks !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
San Felipe, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Free Drinks !!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After a 4 day drive from San Felipe with multiple stops along the way, this hotel offered our group what we were looking for: A large pool and free drinks. Yes, I said FREE DRINKS. From 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. every day ! There was also a breakfast buffet included in your stay.
The property was well maintained with manicured landscaping throughout. The pool area was spacious and clean with a swim up bar and snack shack as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralphy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    494
    233
    81
    65
See reviews for
315
521
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We just got back a couple weeks ago. We went on a Groupon and got an excellent deal. I loved that the hotel was quiet and shut down earlier as we have a 3 year old daughter and that was a big reason we chose this resort. The food was average. No seasoning, no great expectations but the tacos in the Wahoo Taco Bar were excellent, the club sandwiches were great and the made to order omelettes in the morning were a plus. The room service on the all inclusive plan (45 pesos per service no matter how much you ordered) was extremely worth it and the food seemed a little better than the buffet.
Our first room seemed to reflect our Groupon pricing - it seemed extremely run down, there was a rubber band holding the shower head on. We upgraded to a suite the 2nd night and it was well worth it and the room was excellent with an incredible view on the first floor. Loved it.
The staff was extremely friendly and nice for the most part; although some things went by the way-side. I asked for an extra towel at the front desk twice and it never came but I think that can be contributed in part to communication. The pool staff was amazing - especially Benito!! He is awesome and seemed to really take pride in his job. We enjoyed his attentiveness and friendly demeanor. Everyone was nice to our daughter and remembered her name by the end of our 4 night stay.
The resort is old and definitely needs updates, but it's very nice for the value and the staff really make you feel at home. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel using it as an initial stop to get into the timezone (having arrived from the UK) and chill before moving onto a diving boat based holiday. We arrived around 9pm, were well received by reception and given help to our room with our bags.
We had breakfast and drinks included in our package. We were looking for a snack that first evening, but the only option in the restaurant seemed to be a full buffet for a set price. An alternative snack based option as offered by the snack bar which was only open during the day, would have been perfect.
The bedroom was clean and a good size. The bathroom decor a little tired, but functional.
The food in the main restaurant was served buffet style for both breakfast and dinner. There was good choice and we felt good value for money. The snack bar by the pool also served good value tasty food.
The massages were great and not too expensive. The pool was not crowded and we were able to get a sun bed with shade
The hotel served its purpose, offering us comfort, good value for money and good service. It gave us a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments.
We are happy to know that we had fulfilled your expectations.

About your comment of the food service at lunch, we offer options to pay only the salad bar or coffee and dessert or the soup. I will talk with the Manager of the Restaurant to demand him to offer these options to all our guests.

Warm regards from Los Cabos.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

OK....where to start...This is the worse place we have ever stayed at. Very disapointed. The staff is not helpful. Upon arrival the bell men wouldn't show us to our room, just pointed out that it was in that direction. The room was barely an ocean view. It was old and dirty. The floors are tile and you could feel the sand on the floors, they didn't sweep the room. The room key is used to turn on the electricity in the room. So every time you leave the room and return, the room has to cool down all over again. I'm pretty sure they are reusing the shampoo and lotion bottles in the bathroooms. Now...on to the buffet. I don't really consider myself picky, but I do have a problem with flys on the food and birds eating on the buffet. The birds fly around the buffet area and land on the food. The staff never attempted to get rid of them. The buffet included individually sliced cheese, like the Kraft sandwich slices. Also had slices of lunchmeat. Like Oscar Meyer lunch meat. And what appeared to be Vienna Sausages in some kind of sauce. I spent the whole 5 days eating fruit and the little bit of salad items available. The room they call the buisness center is a small room off of the Gym room that had about 5 pieces of equipment in a room that didn't have the air conditioner on and didn't look very clean. The buisness center had a very old PC with a key board that didn't work well and there was only 4 pieces of used paper to print our boarding passes on. We were every dissapointed and will not be returning. On our last day, even getting a taxi to the airport was up to us. The staff was worthless and didn't care to assist you at all. I'm not sure what the other reviews are talking about, but believe me, They place should be closed. They really send a bad message for Los Cabos.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Angela,

I am saddened that we have not met your expectations during your stay with us.
We always try that our guests are well served and feel like at home. Unfortunately with you, we could not achieve this goal.

In regard to your comments, I just want to make some observations. For example, in air-conditioning, we have a system to save energy in where each time you leave the room, the equipment shuts down. We are trying to help the environment.

On the food at our breakfasts we always have a variety of fruits, juices, breads, pancakes, stews, eggs cooked at the moment, coffee, etc. ; also in the other buffets we offer several options to our guests. I understand that some guests may not like the food.

I will talk with the personnel involved as the bell boy, to demand them to be more attentive and give a quality service, that is our commitment.

I appreciate your comments and I hope in a future you would give us the opportunity to serve you again, to show that we can do it much better.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

After I read many of the reviews I decided to make a reservation in this Hotel. Unfortunetly, the value that I'm getting is below my expectations. I find the hotel too expensive for the quality of rooms and building. I should also say that service is above average.

Noise is a problem with the rooms. I got many problems with other guests when arriving to their rooms. Walls are like paper, you listen everything!!!.

Will not come again!.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alcortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulchi, Gerente at Posada Real Los Cabos, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am really sorry because we did not fulfill your expecatations.

I will check over the noise in your room and look for the better solution.

As well, I appreciate your comment about our service.

Please, accept our sincere apologizes and I hope that in the future you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in order to show you our improvements.


Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just got back from the Posada Real and would recommend it for anyone wanting a small, quiet, low-key poolside vacation.

Check-in: Check-in was fast but I recommend taking your reservations and being insistent. I made only two requests (fridge and no first floor because of the kids) and neither was honored. "Maybe tomorrow," I was told when I asked to change rooms. After that, we were whisked off to a first floor room overlooking the tennis court's chain link fence. No garden view, no ocean, just a metal fence. Luckily, our air conditioner was broken, so they had to move us to a first floor room facing the cactus garden. Hmm...I thought no other rooms were available? The next day, we decided to upgrade to the suite. It was worth it. More on that next.

Rooms: You've read it so you know it...rooms are dilapidated. The furniture is old, the bathroom grout is dirty and cracked, the tile is stained...but, you hear the roar of the ocean so who cares. I am glad we updated to the suite. Less than $50USD a night upgraded us a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite with two porches facing the ocean. It was close to the volleyball court and pool, so it was great for running back and forth with kids, and gave us some adult time at night when the kids went to bed. We would just sit on the loungers watching the ocean. Money well spent.

Pool and beach: I loved the pool, especially the kids area. The kids pool is about 1-foot deep and separated from the adult pool by a short wall, so it is safe and close to parents. The swim-up bar was convenient and nicely shaded. There were always plenty of chairs and umbrellas (had to ask for umbrella), so no need to stress about finding a space. There was a volleyball net in the pool and some balls for anyone wanting to play. We brought our own floaties and shovels, so our kids were happy as clams. The beach is unswimmable but great for walking and building sand castles. Wifi was available everywhere and the palapas provided plenty of shade.

Activities: There are none :). The resort has a ping-pong table, a small mini-golf course, a beach volleyball area, and a pool volleyball net for anyone wanting to partake. Equipment is available at the front desk. The pool has light music during the busier parts of the day. I read that there was music in the lobby every night, but we headed up each of the five nights only to be told "No Musica." Is if off season? Dunno. We were traveling with younger children, so the activities didn't matter to us but I can see where others would be absolutely bored.

Food and drinks: Breakfast was lovely. They had cereal, bagels, fruit, yogurt, juice, an egg station, pancakes, and always a few hot dishes, such as potatoes, beans, a breakfast meat, etc. I never went hungry and thought there was enough variety for adults and kids. The pool bar was great for lunch. We had the chicken quesadillas several times and the fish tacos were scrumptious. The pool menu is limited so I can see how it would become one-note very quickly. We did not eat dinner at the hotel, so I cannot speak to that. Drinks were all-inclusive, and your typical resort fare....bottom shelf and watered down. How can you go wrong with a mojito, though?

Service: Pool and beach service was top-notch. Benito and Ismael were efficient and friendly. Our drinks were always filled and neither ever rolled an eye when bringing our twenty-seven ice creams (my kids were addicted). Housekeeping was also great. Breakfast service was OK, not overly friendly or fast, but adequate. Lobby service was a boo. I felt as if I were intruding. In the evenings, the lobby was dedicated to soccer on every TV and I was not "in the club."

Location: The location was perfect. The Mega was about a 10-minute walk. There, you could buy snacks and catch the bus to Chileno beach (which we loved for snorkeling!). In the other direction (right out of the hotel), was a strip of restaurants and the walk into town. The Urbano bus was frequent and inexpensive (10 pesos), and picked up right at the entrance to the resort or anywhere on the road into town (don't bother with a cab...you will pay $7 to go 1 mile). We ventured into town every day for dinner and enjoyed the variety (BTW, I highly recommend the Corner restaurant). Zippers is about 1.3 miles up the beach. Zippers was a long walk but a nice way to end the day.

Pros (for me): This resort is small. You will see the same 10 families there every day and everything is within line-of-sight. I liked it because I could keep an eye on the kids if they had to run to the room or the bathroom. I liked the location because we could walk into town and easily catch the public buses. Pool and beach were perfectly relaxing. Pool service was excellent. We tip well but I never felt as if my service was related to my wallet.

Cons: I felt unwelcome at the lobby bar. Also, if my air conditioner hadn't been broken. I would've spent my vacation looking at the chain link fence.

Room Tip: I know others have said that every room has an ocean view, but my first room was on the ground level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoEasyPeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just got back from our 3rd visit to the Posada. Love it! If you're looking for a relaxing vacation, with great service, right on the beach, then this is it! A small hotel, no escalators or elevators! Comfortable, not "snooty" or "hoity toity". The friendly atmosphere keeps us coming back, as well as the wonderful staff. Food around the clock, drinks served quickly, and with a smile!
Benito on the beach can't be beat, Francisco at the pool bar always remembers our favorites, and Ismael in the lobby bar has the greatest smile! For those of you who have been there before, Gabrielle "El Capitan" isn't there anymore. The only suggestion I have is to round those breakfast boys up, and get them to work. Tables weren't cleared, etc.

Mega is a walk away, as are buses. Taxis will pick you up at the door.

We're already planning our 4th trip to The Posada, and this time we're bringing our granddaughters. Its such a family friendly hotel! We can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for a View Room. Its worth the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#60 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,008 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,284 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing