We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week at Posada Real”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Posada Real Los Cabos
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
B.C. Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at Posada Real”
Reviewed 14 January 2011

This was our first trip to the Baha. We decided now that we are retired, let's look for a good price and it won't matter to where...for just a week...and try and time it with a predicted cold spell at home. We found a terrific price out of Vancouver Canada...all inclusive including air...359.00 plus taxes with Sell Off Vacations. 1300.00 complete for the two of us!! I expected maybe a seat on the wing of the plane and a damp back room above the kitchen. Well, were we in for a shock! Now first off...get this right...this is not for anybody looking for a high end, and high energy property. But for twice what we paid...this is a bargain! The rooms are clean and bright with terrific ocean view from the balcony. The beach is phenomenal. The pool area is beautiful. The entire resort is so calm and relaxing...zen music/spa type was flowing for the most part of every day. It never got crazy loud in the evening. Nice wine sipping evening entertainment in the lounge area. We did miss the Mexican evening, but heard it was wonderful.

The guests were families and couples of all ages. The meals (buffet only) are basic. Nothing to write home about and nothing memorable, but more than adequate at the same time. Breakfasts were the best with real bacon and sausage! We've been around the best in Mexico over the years and real sausage? Bacon?

The staff in all departments are beyond the best anywhere, and they all speak affulent English. Yes there is bar service on the beach. More than ample padded loungers on the beach and around the pools.Free interne. Stocked and replenished mini fridge in the rooms. No charge or deposit for the room safe. The towels are thick and thirsty so to speak. They must be new since one reviewer was there. And a good little hair dryer is supplied in the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom...some will grumble because the showere curtain is mildewed, and the ceramic tiles are cracked or the grouting needs repair. Grumbling can be a job for some.

And I'm done now. We would not likely return because our old bodies like our beach water warm, and for us that's Ixtapa and maybe one day Huatulco. I hear there is a Posada Real in Ixtapa!! For anyone who is ok with a heated pool and beach bar...and peace and quiet...you'll not go wrong at the Posada Real. We had an absolute wonderful week.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohmeohmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    498
    235
    82
    66
See reviews for
322
523
59
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Georgia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We enjoyed staying here and our friends have stayed here many times before. The service is great and the rooms and grounds are kept very clean. It's right on the beach and not far from downtown. Bus service and taxi service is also good. We enjoyed eating our dinners at other places, so I don't know much about the food here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angst340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Hotel was marked as a 2 Star hotel so we weren't expecting too much but we were very pleasantly surprised. The location is wonderful, right on the beach. The warmth and helpfulness of the staff made up for anything that some might class as negative. What's nice about it is that it is only three stories high and has retained its Mexican charm. Our room was quite adequate, freshly painted and kept clean. The hotel is within long walking distance of local restaurants or you can get the local bus for 7 pesos per person. It is a short walking distance to the local Mega market and Starbucks. We did not take the 'all inclusive' as we wanted to eat different places each day. We ate lunch around the pool a few times and that was good. The Mexican entertainment night was good. Internet was free. We would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Time4Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

staff at posada real was friendly and attentive -- anything we asked for, it was done ASAP. Live music in main lobby evenings was authentic tex/mex or mariachi -- an added plus. Restaurant Row on blvd Mijares was a minute away. All in all, a great value for the $$.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We were in Cabo to visit family and another family member chose this hotel. This is basically a Motel 6 hotel with a few amenities.

The beds were rock hard, the grout in the bathroom was very discolored with years of grime, the walls were paper-thin (we could hear our neighbor cough as if he was in our room). The towels were thread-bear. The refrigerator is kept off until a customer is willing to pay for it, consequently, it smells horribly (note to resort - turning off refrigerators and closing the door is a bad idea).

The breakfast buffet was pretty good but dinner was meager at best. Drinks were good. And the service was very good throughout the resort. Staff was very helpful and friendly. It has a decent pool and a good location on the beach. You can catch a bus or even walk to town and the Mega store is within walking distance. I did use the fitness center and it was decent.

Internet service was spotty and constantly cycled on and off so much my teenager finally gave up using it.

I'm am not a hotel snob but overall this is one of the worst hotels we have stayed at in years. It is very old and run-down, If it weren't for our other family members staying there, we would have switched to another hotel. Definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomewardBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Our first trip to Las Cabos was very relaxing. Our stay in Pasado Real was very quiet and relaxing. A small resort with great service in all areas. Aaron was especially helpful in the dining room and at the bars.Rooms were very clean and had great views.A great 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunn
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This will be our 16th year to the Posada Real. One year we went twice. We love the staff as we have made several good friends there. We do not even look any where else, Posada Real is just what we like, small, great staff, good food, drinks, and I fish from the beach every day. If you are looking for a resort, look some where else. If you are looking for a small, clean, quiet, friendly place, this is it. Urbano at the reservation desk is a class act! Any time we have had a question or concern, it was always handled right away. We usually go in Feb. because we love being down there over valentines day. There are so many great resurants in San Jose we elect not to buy the meal plan offered by Posada Real. We do however usually eat breakfast there. We are early risers and in Mexico there are not many places to eat breakfast early. As others have stated use caution if you are going in the water, I have seen some close calls with people who are not careful. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whopper-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
17.6 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#62 of 115 in Los Cabos
2,026 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
Royal Decameron Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
2,763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Real Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Real Los Cabos

Property: Posada Real Los Cabos
Address: Malecon San Jose S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Real Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach, a few yards from several of the many golf courses in Los Cabos area, close by the new marina "Puerto Los Cabos". With its low - rise structure, charming contemporary Mexican style and cactus gardens, the Posada Real blends perfectly with the rugged beauty of the Baja Peninsula The Posada Real Los Cabos Resort is a totally different property, because you can choose between two options of lodging: Our "All Inclusive" option, where you will receive breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack and a selection of domestic drinks from 11:00am to 23:00 hours; and our unique "Drinks Inclusive" option, where you will receive, FREE of charge, a selection of domestic drinks, from 11:00am to 23:00 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Real Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Real Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western San Jose Del Cabo
Best Western Posada Real Los Cabos
San Jose Del Cabo Best Western
Posada Real Los Cabos Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing