We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the El Encanto!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love the El Encanto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We love this hotel! It is so quiet and relaxing with authentic charm. Whether poolside or in the garden suites/rooms, the setting is wonderful. It is right in the middle of the art district and a couple blocks from the town center. Great shopping and restaurants nearby. The staff is super friendly and the accommodations are very clean and comfortable. We have been many times and stayed in all the room types and have enjoyed each visit. We were even married there in 2010. We filled the entire hotel with our friends and family (65-70ppl), held the ceremony in the chapel, cocktail hour around the pool, and our reception in the courtyard (in front of the chapel). It was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank danamyohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
And A great Event it was!!! Great to hear from you and glad to know You are as happy as
you were in 2010. Was that a big smile!
Best to You and all Your Family. and Safe Travels
From all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    118
    28
    13
    16
See reviews for
61
163
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We have stayed at this Inn twice and are planning on another stay in the spring. We love this place! It is charming and everyone is so friendly. The town is also very charming with great restaurants. We have a timeshare in Cabo San Lucas and like to stay at the end of our vacation at the El Encanto. It is a slower pace there and close to the airport. The last time we stayed our room was in the inn adjacent to the larger inn ( we didn't even know it was there) and the room was every bit as nice as the room we had stayed in before.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank You for your return visit. We read the reviews each week with our staff and it very helpful to know they are appreciated.
Best Regards and Safe Travels from The El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We returned to El Encanto on our trip to Cabo/SJC....While the cabo area has changed so much that we almost didn't recognize it, the El Encanto has not. It has kept its charm, quality, serene gardens, accomodating staff..The pool was inviting. I think because the San Jose del Cabo village center is just outside the door, the Inn never feels full. There is always room at the pool or outside, and often with few others enjoying the setting. With all the greenery around, there is plenty of space and "separation" from all but the birds and flowers. We started with a reservation at the El Encanto suites (?) across the street, but when we were registering and saw the inside gardens and pool, we upgraded back to the Inn and were glad we did. We did experience an unhappy customer at checkout. They had not been clear on the terms of the reservation (same as ours) and were not happy. While the young man at the desk was doing everything he could to accommodate, other than comp them their stay, they didn't budget. The wife then said pay, we know how to fix this, we'll write about it on trip advisor. Their snootiness and obvious sense of the importance of the reviews made me uncomfortable. The check in person also was uncomfortable having us see this when we were just checking in. Fortunately we travel enough to read situations like this and said so to the check in person after the others left.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank goonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your kind considerations and complimentary comments on the staff.
We are all anticipating a great year and look forward to providing service to experienced travers like your self.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Those big resorts on the beach are so impersonal, and not our style. We loved the Encanto Inn, not only for the location, but the personable staff that helped us with changing our activity reservations and suggesting places for dinner. The room was spotless and comfortable and we took advantage of the free 10 minute chair massage at the spa downstairs. The hotel is walking distance to everything and yet just far enough away to avoid the noise. We'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kander27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Our staff enjoys so much the compliments from our guests. It is a real pleasure for them to know thier work is appreciated. The downtown Historic Center and Art District is full of fun activiities and peaceful walks. Enjoy the fine Galleries and Restaurants or go for a simple walk along the quiet cobblestone street!
Best Regards and Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

None of those American-type hotels for me. The hotel was small and charming and located in the centre of town allowing us to walk to fabulous restaurants and to enjoy the art walk on Thursday evenings.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms are across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Being located in the Center of Historical Downtown is always alot of fun for our guests.
Thank you for the time to review.
Safe Teavels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I had a room with french doors facing the pool area-- lovely greenery and easy to swim during hot summer days! The room was furnished very nicely-- we loved the tile shower area! We hadn't realized from the web info that we would have a small refrigerator in the room-- very handy for keeping extra drinks on hand.
Everyone on the staff was very kind and full of helpful tips-- whether it be for a "nice" restaurant for a fancy dinner, or a yummy tacqueria that was much less expensive. A bonus on Thursday evening was a small "farmers market" in a courtyard adjoining the chapel next door to the hotel. Overall, El Encanto feels like a visit to the real Mexico, which can be surprisingly hard to find in many parts of Los Cabos!

Room Tip: Our room by the pool was spacious and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greekgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
The small organic market on Thursday is new and has been alot of fun for our guests.
We are very happy you had a great visit!
Our staff sends thier best Regards.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were booked to stay somewhere that had, unknowingly to me, shut down. We found El Encanto Suites around the corner. The front desk was very helpful and the hotel was charming. We had a room on the ground floor, and when we opened the glass doors, we had a beautiful view of lush greenery and the pool. The room was simple but attractive, with pleasing decor and architectural details to match the exterior.

San Jose was a brief stop for us, mainly to be closer to the airport to fly out. It became a real part of the holiday, due in large part to the accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deenanaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff U, Guest Relations Manager at El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
We get alot of guest staying with us that are on there way to another part of Baja and our staff
alway tries to provide the best service possible to provide a relaxing transition.
Thank You for the review.
Safe Travels from all of us at the El Encanto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#30 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Property: El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing