We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location to get married!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2009

we had our wedding at the chapel and it was so beautiful. blanca (the owner) was great with helping us plan everything. the ownly downside was that they don't have a bridal suite and i had to book a $99 room to use for 3 hours. the room was clean and very authentic mexican. i would stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle89488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2009

We recently went to this small hotel based on the other reviews on this site. We would have to add all sorts of positive messages about it. It is a charming place with lovely rooms, lots of space, nice furniture and so on. The location is excellent for people who want "Mexico" and not the nasty, westernised coastal resorts. Access to all local facilities is on foot, so it's a good location, peaceful and so on. The staff are friendly although sometimes not about (no help with bags etc) and, as mentioned by some, the billing is quirky. They charged more for our deposit than they should have but the final bill was correct. It's only a small complaint and we would go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieK2.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

My husband and I had a nice stay at El Encanto. The staff was polite from the moment we walked in. The grounds were lovely and our room (Luna Azul) was spacious and clean. The room included a coffee maker, tv with some english channels, lots and lots of storage space, robes, and a hair dryer (no iron so plan ahead). As others have mentioned, the restroom wall does not reach the ceiling, so you can't have absolute privacy in there. No big deal to a couple who has been married 5 years, but others may find it uncomfortable. The pool was heated and there was ample seating and umbrella coverage. We both had good massages at their small spa.

While I was pleased with the hotel especially considering how economical it is, I was most pleased by its location. It is on a charming and safe street, and you are within walking distance of everything in town. There is free parking across from the hotel if you rent a car, which I highly suggest.

The only thing that I found frustrating was that there wasn't a bar of any sort on site. It would have been nice to be able to order drinks while by the pool instead of having to go upstairs to our room everytime we wanted something. Anyway, a small price to pay for such a bargain in the lovely San Jose del Cabo.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Initially I made a reservation three months ahead, then canceled the reservation, still months ahead of time, because they required a three night minimum and we were only going to be there for two. As our trip approached, we looked on Expedia and it allowed us to reserve a room there for two nights, so we did. We arrived with our printed itinerary from Expedia along with the confirmation number to a smug front desk clerk whose first words to us were: "You were supposed to check in yesterday." We showed him our reservation information and he said, oh well we have you for two separate reservations three nights and two nights so he manually had changed the charge expedia had sent him to bill for three nights. He told us we hadn't canceled our original reservations and asked us for proof, a cancellation number. We are there exhausted with all our bags in tow and sit down to the computer to look for the email correspondence between us. At this point a guy came in and checked in for one night, no problem. The clerk had told us the wrong email name to look for, and when we eventually found it, the correspondence was directly with the owner, so it should have been gold. We clearly wrote: "sorry we are no longer able to stay with you because of the three night minimum,could you please suggest another hotel nearby that doesn't have the minimum?" So the man at the desk makes us print the emails, we do and leave it at the counter, he then makes us sign the charge for saying "I can't give you a refund unless you sign this," and he finally gives us a key to our room and tells us to come back tomorrow. The next day we deal with a nicer clerk who says ok you will get your refund just come back tomorrow I have to talk to the owner about it. Then the third day we go to checkout/get our refund and are told we could have a credit for a future night stay. It was our last night in Baja and if I am lucky enough to go back I'm definitely not going to stay at El Encanto.

The hotel itself was ok, fairly nice landscaping but you got a weird feeling when you realized the plain little ash tray was bolted to the table outside. I spilled some clear soda and mopped it up so the floor wouldn't get sticky to find the previously white towel I had used was quite dirty for mopping a 2 square foot area. We left the maid some money, on the card saying we'd like the bed to be remade. She left it on top of the 15" TV which makes me assume the management is overly strict about stealing if they are too afraid take a tip.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
3  Thank TravelerDBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

we had our wedding at el encanto last month and it was wonderful. the courtyard was beautiful and the entire staff was very friendly, particularly the ladies in the spa.

there was a threat of rain as hurricane norbert passed through to the north, and, even though we had only payed for the use of the courtyard, blanca, the owner, opened the chapel up just in case we needed it, which we didn't.

we stayed two nights in the honeymoon suite, a large two room suite with lovely furnishings, which I LOVED. Overall I thought the inn was very charming and in an ideal location in the heart of san jose. a number of our guests also stayed there - and no one was double charged.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mr_mis_mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

This little inn was wonderful, i was so cozy, the rooms were filled with such love and detail, rooms were not numbered they were named "Beame Mucho" "Kiss Me a lot" was our room, and that's what the romantic rustic style made us do. =). Pool was clean, great temperature, has a quaint chapel in the back, beautiful landscaping, fountains, yellow walls, Magenta bugambillias. I can go on forever! Nice people. great little cantina across the street!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algounico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Our stay at El Encanto Inn was a very good experience.The hotel is conveniently located very close to the central plaza in San jose del cabo, and on the same street you can find at least 5/6 good restaurants. The rooms are charming, ad show a great taste. The style is Mexican/Spanish/ European. We had three pool area rooms, used the pool too, the pool is kind of small but nontheless enjoiable. There is a free intenet access in the lobby, having to share this with a limited number of people makes it valuable and useful.
We got a slash price by walking in with no reservation: 30% less than the nominal price.
Overall a great stay. I do reccomend this place...enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mattia.R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#34 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
97 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
276 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Terranova
Hotel Posada Terranova
#38 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle Jose Maria Morelos 133 | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#23 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £120 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the historic downtown and art district of San Jose del Cabo, on Thursdays you can enjoy the Art Walk, just a few steps from the mission of San Jose, surrounded by craft shops, galleries, restaurants and bars. Located to less than 500 meters from the transpeninsular highway and just 5 minutes from the beach by car. On Saturdays you can enjoy the organic market located to 5 minutes by walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Encanto
El Encanto Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing