We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel near marina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Marina Inn
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Tucson
Level Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Charming hotel near marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a charming very unpretentious hotel that is only a few minutes walk to the marina so it is obviously a favorite with fishermen. They even have a large chest freezer to store your catch if you are planning taking it home. It is far from luxurious and lacking somethings like a television that gets more than 3 channels. But hey we were there for the fish not TV. And for the price who's complaining. For $8 a person they will prepare your fresh caught fish in any number of styles. I think we tried them all and they were all good. The plates included steamed veggies, salad, rice, tortillas, and chips and salsa. The beach is a quick walk from the beach if interested.
The sad thing is the monster hotel being built between La Marina and the marina. What once must have been a very pretty view is now a vast white wall.
On the downside, things can get pretty loud with a lot of hard drinking fishermen since the rooms are arranged around the pool area and the restaurant/bar. Fortunately the room air conditioning units were loud enough to counteract most of the noise.
I would definitely consider a return visit.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AZRPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the La Marina Hotel (formerly La Playita) June 9th thru June 13th. Very clean, the AC was great, as was the food. The owner George was a gracious host and ensured we were comfortable.
Unfortunately, a new hotel is being built across the street which caused a bit of noise, but nothing that was overwhelming.
Reasonable rates and great people.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchman012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Such an enjoyable stay and you won't find better prepared food anywhere in the town of San Jose. That's something we verified during our trip. The prices may be 4 times higher in town, but the food is exponentially better here. Clean, hospitable, extremely affordable. The pool is very, very nice. The marina is undergoing major change, however, and I wonder how much longer La Playita/La Marina Resort will be able to stay.

We've been twice now and I want to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RockyRaccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed in penthouse c. My husband has stayed in all of them. This was my first time. It was great!! Huge space! Living room area along with a full kitchen.
The food was tremendous. We got up early, walked across the road to the marina, fished, then brought our catch back and had the chef at the restaurant whip up some of his specialties. Great 2 for 1 beers and margaritas for happy hour.
Perfect place if you want to be AT the fishing...beautiful beach...very nice people!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Great palce to stay and get away to fish. The food was not good but great! Not fancy if that is what you are looking for but clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmitch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

This place is a bit off the beaten track. We actually found it by playing the game of getting lost! It's right next to the San Jose del Cabo marina which sounds easy to find but it's not!. We didn't stay there but we did have easily the most delicious (and perhaps the cheapest) lunch of our week long trip. Simply prepared fresh catch that was utterly satisfying and delicious. Go...drink margaritas...perfect!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

Great room and atmosphere. The management is great and so are the locals. This is directly across from the new marina and is the best place to stay if you are going to fish with any of the local panga fleets.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Danon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
1.8 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#25 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Colli
Hotel Colli
#33 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
Hotel & Suites Las Palmas
#31 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#21 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Aeropuerto Los Cabos
Hotel Aeropuerto Los Cabos
#30 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina Inn

Property: La Marina Inn
Address: Calle Los Pescadores S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly La Playita Resort )
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Marina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
La Playita Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Marina Inn Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing