We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right for me”
Review of La Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Marina Inn
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Reviewed 31 January 2007

If you want a clean room for a low price thats walking distance to the sportfishing pangas then this is the place. There's a large chest freezer for your fish. It's well removed from the majority of the tourists.

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank unclejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2006

We stayed here for one night (8/16). The room did not lock, the manager was unavailable after 8 p.m. and when we first arrived, had to go from one room to another to find her.

We requested an additional package of coffee and she was extremely rude.

Additionally, she gave us her name as Myrtle and then her son told us her name was not Myrtle but Kelly.

Except for a very nice fisherman from Waco, TX who was staying there and with whom we enjoyed some conversation, the place was a waste of time and money.

It took me days on end to actually make the reservation because the manager's telephone never seemed to work.

Sarah R. Belletto (srbelle@aol.com) San Rafael, CA 94901

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank srbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed 16 June 2004

I absolutely loved this little Spanish style inn! Highly recommended if you are interested in fishing, relaxing and being away from tourists. Clean tiled floors, spacious air conditioned rooms and friendly staff makes for a comfortable setting. A small pool is centered in the courtyard and nearby a pair of iguanas inhabits the wall that overlooks the other side. Don't worry, they're too busy sunbathing to bother anyone.

It's off the beaten path, but if you're looking for something different from the tourist filled resorts, this is it. 200 yards and a dirt road separates you from a beach filled with pangas and locals awaiting your arrival to go fishing. You won't find any bikini clad bodies, but what you'll find are local children playing in the sand and swimming in the ocean. It's a bit secluded from restaurants and shops, but its a 5-10 minute drive into town. Having a car may be ideal. There is a mini mart footsteps away where you can fill up on beverages and snacks.

After a full day of fishing and if you catch any fish, you can take it to the Rusty Putter Restaurant/Sports Bar and they'll prepare it anyway you like it. They staff is friendly and the menu items are delicious.

I came down Cabo to go fishing. And not only did I catch fish, I found a place to come back to.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2003

We wanted a place a little off the beaten path and a little out of the major tourist destinations, so La Playita sounded great. The hotel itself is lovely. Nice Mexican-Spanish style courtyard with a small pool. Nicely decorated clean rooms. Staff is nice and nearby resteraunt is good (though only open til 6pm). But, it's not right on the beach, but rather 100-200 yards away with several dirt roads in between (and cars driving by kicking up dust and parked in front of the hotel....quite an eye sore). There's some fenced off land in front of the hotel (also dirt) and the beach is full of pangas (small boats) and local fishermen hanging around (not ideal for relaxing sun bathing/swiming). Besides a small resteraunt and a food shop, there's nothing else around and it's a $5 taxi ride into San Jose. I would recommend this place if you are into fishing or as a stop over on your way out to the East Cape. But, there are better options if you're just looking for a nice, quite place near the beach.

PS -- Buzzards is not assocaited with La Plaita, but is a small resteraunt/B&B a few miles up the East Cape road.

16  Thank TravelPronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sisters, Oregon
114
Reviewed 17 February 2003

Judi and Denny have created a comfortable oasis on the east cape. The rooms are delicious! Cool tile floors, ceiling fans and shuttered screen windows. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The food at Buzzards is affordable and outrageously delicious. Their shrimp with garlic and tequila is perhaps the finest shrimp meal I've ever had. Breakfasts are substanial and range from fabulous pancakes to a breakfast burrito that will keep you fueld all day. Delicious margaritas and friendly conversation all while dining on the sand under a gorgeous palapa. Did I mention it's all sparkling clean? And friendly? Friendly! Off the beaten track with a spectacular beach and miles of open sky, water and beach...feels remote while being just 8 miles from San Jose. Wonderful! We had a great time. Highly recommended.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2002

Title says it all. Clean, comfortable, close to the beach and fishing boats. Great staff good food. Very relaxing. I will go back

  • Stayed: November 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank marlinbytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#20 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
465 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#30 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
366 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#27 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
131 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marina Inn

Address: Calle Los Pescadores S/N, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico (Formerly La Playita Resort )
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#24 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £135 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Marina Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your La Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Playita Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
La Marina Inn Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing