We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Mistake!”
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Mistake!”
Reviewed 12 February 2008

This place was like a dressed up truck stop that was undergoing construction. The first - and most expensive - room we were in had nice tile work and towels. However the traffic was so loud even earplugs didn't help. (Funny how the most expensive rooms are closest to the truck route.) We could hear people talking in the next room; the walls were like paper. Construction began next door to our room at 8am and could be heard from every corner of the hotel. When making the reservation I had specifically asked whether or not there would be any construction and was told "no". Surprise! It was like the travelocity ad where the couple checks into their room and couldn't carry on a conversation. They did give us 50% off the rack rate for the inconvenience of our first night's room but the new room they gave us the second night of our stay had a pervasive musty smell. The lack of professionalism by Hector was appalling; Jesus was much better to deal with. Thank God my husband speaks Spanish!

We did find a nice place to stay just down the road: Hoteles Marquis - [-]

Note: What you should know about Cabo is that there is a very high "gringo" tax. For instance, one pitcher of regular margaritas at the popular beachfront cafe, "The Office" costs $50. Breakfast for two cost $50 at the Cabo Surf Hotel. Dinner at most restaurants cost about $200 per couple, without heavy drinks. Don't forget your wallet in this town! You have to pay up to enjoy yourself without even living that large.

  • Liked — nice pool, nice views, nice cafe staff, nice maid service
  • Disliked — noise, noise, noise! rude front desk, misrepresentation of construction status over the phone
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    44
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
74
99
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2008

The hotel is so close to the highway that you can actually hear the bass playing in passing vehicles. We had to move from one of the more luxury rooms to a room further from the highway which was an okay room, but felt more like a motel than cute inn. Customer service is a gamble - the best and worst exist. One of the reservations staff was remarkably unhelpful and unsympathetic, actually laughing at our frustration. Another was very helpful. Ultimately, we only stayed a couple of nights and moved to other accomodation.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank dec66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

We were there in November to stay and look around to possibly book our weddding there for 2008. They hold weddings there all the time and I am not sure how. They did not respond to calls or emails following our trip and made many promises over email that they would not honor when it came time to sign the contract. We were trying to spend our entire wedding budget there, Friday - Sunday and it was like they did not need the business. They had only a few rooms booked when we were there, so I know they need the business and we were going to rent the entire hotel. Oh well, we booked elsewhere and are happier than ever.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PrincessGiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2008

This hotel was an unexpected surprise. It is far enough away from the tourist infested Cabo San Lucas to enjoy a relaxing Mexican get-away. The hotel is small and the staff will cater to your every need. Mauricio was extremely accommodating and helped plan our diving excursions. The room was excellent and the views extraordinary. The hotel does have surf instructors and boards and we took advantage of them. The 7 Seas restaurant was the only place we ate for 6 days and we had excellent food each meal. The only problem that people may have with the hotel is that it is close to a busy road. It is difficult to walk anywhere outside of the grounds and the road can be noisy. However, this wasn't a problem and the hotel amenities will make up for it. We have made reservations for April to return.

  • Liked — rooms with views
  • Disliked — trafiic noise
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brakePT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

I'd love to write a review on this hotel however no one has bothered to get back to me on rates and availability. I called twice and emailed.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank gorjess_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We had our wedding at Cabo Surf Hotel on July 7, 2007. The hotel was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms and grounds were well maintained and clean. We stayed in the Junior King Villa, which has the best view of the beach and surf breaks. The chef prepared an awesome meal with our "catch of the day", a 60 lb mahi mahi. Another point to mention is that the bus stop is right in front of the hotel, which takes you into town.

  • Liked — beach front property
  • Disliked — a bit pricey
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,135 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Way cool and better than I could have hoped for. I went to Cabo Surf Hotel for a quick and easy surf holiday in early June for 4 days. Service, professionalism, positive attitude, proactive, friendly, upscale as well as relaxed are all terms that could describe the staff, the hotel and facilities. A great place for singles, families and a romantic getaway.

The restaurant is outstanding. Not sure which is better: The food or watching the surf right in front! The rooms are upscale yet casual and I my massage at the spa was one of the best I've had.

The surf is right in front..Simply walk out and into the water for old-mans. Ten minute walk to zippers and the rock is only two minutes. Enough surf for fun within walking distance and more surf within an hour for the hardcore!

For an easy lunch there is Zippers just down the beach---try the shrimp or the fish tacos.
Surfboard rentals are right there at the hotel but I recommend Cabo Surf Shop just down the road...and they deliver besides being half the price!
I'm stoked with Cabo Surf Hotel

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach, view
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#24 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
127 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,709 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
385 reviews
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Property: Cabo Surf Hotel
Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing