We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Cabo Surf Hotel is a very cool, unpretentious place that is great for a weekend getaway of beach and surf. Unlike many resorts, the beach is accessable and there is a great break right offshore (Old Man's). Food and service are excellent. Drawbacks: no WIFI in rooms; you have to go to the small lobby if you do not have international cellular service. Air conditioning is loud - you have to choose between sleeping in the heat or with the loud A/C running. ALthough the hotel is right on the highway, we did not hear it at all.

Room Tip: It looks like the upper rooms might get more highway noise, as they are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and helping us improve. We decided to face the wifi challenge head on and we are installing individual access points in every room and will maintain the service free of charge. We are half way now and should be fully completed in November. We will find the room making noise in the air conditioning. We installed new highly efficient equipment this year and that shouldn't be happening. We are lucky the noise of the highway is not an issue because the hotel seats below near beach level and the highway goes 30 feet above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    42
    8
    5
    13
See reviews for
71
94
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great hotel for Cabo surf trip. We like to stay in. The original building above the lobby. They have added quite a few new rooms which takes away the view from some rooms. The breakfast burritos are great and so are the margaritas. The downside are all the surf lessons out in front. It gets really crowded during the day. We love to lay out by the pool and enjoy the view after surfing.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your commentary. As of this summer several of the surf school are using other beaches in order to release the surf break in front from crowding. Easter time in particular was busy with families bringing kids to learn. If you are looking for the best ocean view offered by a hotel in Los Cabos, we would recommend staying in the new shore rooms next time. Looking forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent 8 days here is September. It was relaxing and fun the entire time. The hotel is small and the public areas do not seem crowded. The grounds are meticulously kept and the staff is friendly and eager to help.

We had a garden room with a patio which was spacious and well maintained. The patio offered a nice view of sunrise every morning. You can hear traffic on the Highway, but it is not overly intrusive.

The restaurant has delicious food and we took at least one meal per day there. The prices were reasonable especially on drinks. Again the staff was friendly and very attentive.

We took surf lessons from the School at the hotel. The instructors were all very good and nice about letting you know the best time of the day to surf. The beach is nice and has lounges and umbrellas.

No need to rent a car, the public bus stops in front of the hotel so you can ride that into San Jose Del Cabo and do sightseeing or shopping. The cost was 20 Pesos each way. There are plenty of taxis in San Jose to bring you back for about 130 pesos.

We will definitely be back as this was one of our best vacations in Mexico.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are detached from the main hotel and seem a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottD80905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

After my husband and I got married we decided to take our friends and new family from New Zealand and the US down to Mexico. Jesus, the manager did his utmost to make our stay absolutely perfect. All the hotel staff were amazing! Spa was great, a massage is recommended. Rooms are clean, bathroom spacious and beds are very comfortable. The new rooms are gorgeous and have a stunning view of the surf break in front of the hotel. The food was excellent and if you are into Pina Coladas, they are to die for. The surf was not great while we were there but the guys at the surf shop were helpful. Bring booties, as it is a reef break and there are urchins. It is quiet in the evenings and very relaxing. It was very hard to leave Cabo and get back to reality...hopefully one day we will be able to head back there for another amazing holiday!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the ocean. The new rooms all do but there are some older ones that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourmogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Looking online, I was initially excited to see the selection of boards on offer, thus chose to leave my boards at home to avoid the airline fees. I filled out the online surfboard reservation form - and received no reply. I followed that with an email - again no reply. Upon arrival i discovered that 90% of the rental boards were completely beat up, particularly the short boards. I ended up renting a shortboard from elsewhere only to find that I couldn't bring that board to "their" beach. The surf was mellow so I said what the heck and went to rent a longboard from them. I wasn't allowed to pick the one I wanted because it wasn't waxed-up - and they had no wax. I asked why, maybe they don't send someone to the surfshop across the street which has tons of wax and they looked away from me. This said, the hotel is beautiful and perfectly located on one of the Costa Azul breaks "old mans'" however it is located directly on the highway. I would strongly suggest that anyone who calls them selves a Surf Hotel and caters to surfers spend $5 to have some wax on hand. Very good rating for property only; service was horrible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We got 20 new surftech long boards on the 27th of August. We didn't order new short boards because they rarely rent since the surf spot favors 7 to 8 feet and up. A new order of boards will arrive early October and we will take out older ones. We ran out of wax for a day or 2.and we placed an urgent order which soon arrived. To ensure our guests privacy we placed a gate at the entrance as everyone tried to enter the beach through the hotel grounds. If you tried to access with your board to go surfing and were not a guest, the gatekeeper did his job. The beach is public and it has an access as he might have tried to explain. There was a confusion with emails since the surf shop website has been renewed and we thought the man in charge of renting the boards at the beach was getting them but we apologize as later we found out otherwise. All in all, we are very sorry we failed to properly be of good service. Upon reading your message I had a meeting with the staff involved with our rentals and steps were taken to avoid the issues from happening again. Thank you for your valuable feedback! When you come back to Cabo, please drop by, saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This boutique hotel is just lovely. Small enough to be intimate. Set back in a land-cove so that you don't see the rest of the hotels and condos down the beach. You think you are practically alone...as long as you don't go out to the beach and look back. Beautiful pool, wonderful food, staff was more than helpful and considerate, great spa, lovely rooms. Would go back in a heartbeat. Was there for New Years and the hotel celebrated in great style. Jacuzzi was really nice. Pool was refreshing and so pretty. Many palm trees for shade. Surfing and water sports are available. One of the best hotels I have stayed at in Mexico.

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean view. Downstairs rooms are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you,! You captured the spirit of our resort, I will share with the staff. We will celebrate again this New Year's Eve and we hope to see you then or sooner, saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todos Santos, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Absolute perfect location for a family vacation or even a weekend escape. Perfect little rolling waves out front and beautiful views from the entire property. Amenities are good and San Jose is just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casarancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabosurfhot, Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for visiting and enjoying with us the best Cabo has to offer, its ocean. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#19 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#15 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#12 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mar Adentro Cabos
Mar Adentro Cabos
#30 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Property: Cabo Surf Hotel
Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#22 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing