We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looooved”
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We love this hotel. Epic surf break, delicious restaurant, close enough to town, gorgeous landscaping, beautiful horizon pool, attentive staff and such sweet attention to details even when they clean your room! They organized all our daughters little toys in a cute pile each time! We rented a car but could've easily relied on the cab service to take us in and out of town. The Mega store is right down the street and has everything you might need. Fish tacos around town are to die for. The surf school beneath the hotel has most surf needs covered including paddle boards which was super fun on calm wave days! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebellSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we love to heard that you recent visit was so pleasant, see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

After living in Cabo for 15 years, I now return regularly and stay in my own condo or in a private villa with friends. Because I love the location and laid-back vibe of this property, I decided to spend the first week of a two week vacation here this month and it was HEAVENLY.

I booked the King Shore Villa which is pure nirvana for someone that cannot be close enough to the ocean. The sound and view of the surf were mesmerizing. Pocket doors opened an expansive panorama to the sea and stayed open almost the entire time I was in the room. Amazing linens, comfy robe, L'Occitane en Provence bath amenities, flat screen TV, iPod docking station, in-room coffee maker and fridge, huge walk-in travertine shower, and private roomy deck were all incredible ... but it was the view and sound of those waves that blew me away!

The grounds of the property are tucked into one of the most beautiful coves along the coast and covered with palm trees and green grass ... a tropical oasis in the heart of the desert. Reminds me of Hanalei on the North Shore of Kauai. Although I spent most of my time on the beach, there are also two distinctively different pool areas to choose from, both with spectacular views. And even though the hotel was sold out, there was never any scrambling for a spot or a thick, plush beach towel to grab - there actually was quite a relaxing, zen feeling thoughout the property.

The restaurant, 7 Seas Seafood Grille, serves delicious food with plenty of fresh, healthy ingredients. From a refreshing green juice in the morning, to tuna sashimi for lunch, to a fig and arugula salad for dinner - there are plenty of choices to take advantage of the local bounty of farm fresh and seafood delicacies. Dessert was always a "Coco Frio" from the coconut truck parked only a five minute walk from the hotel. I was also lucky enough to hit their "Full Moon Jazz" dinner concert - there cannot be a better place in Cabo to watch a moonrise over the water!

The biggest draw of all is the incredible location if you love surfing. The waves were perfect for this beginning surfer and at various times of the day, and very close-by, big sets offered challenging surf for those more experienced. Mike Doyle's Surf School offers a huge selection of boards and the best surf instructors around! A huge gracias to Miguel for getting me up on the waves in no time for the second year in a row, to Enrique and Daniel for all your friendly assistance, and to the amazing on-site photographer Daniela for the awesome pictures!

Without doubt, the best thing I experienced at the hotel was the feeling that I was staying in my own private beach bungalow with a group of friends. The most attentive, friendly staff greeted me by name and made me feel like "part of the family." Whether in the restaurant, on the beach, around the pool, housekeeping or front desk management, it is clear that everyone takes pride in their job - fantastic service!! Thank you Ivan for bringing me an ice cold Topo Chico right down to the beach - without me even ordering it! And thank you Jesus and everyone at the front desk - wonderful hospitality! With such a friendly, attentive staff, it was no surprise that every guest I spoke to at the hotel loved it, and felt like it was their most special "find" in Cabo.

Mauricio and the Balderrama Family have created a truly exceptional property that goes far beyond a great location, rooms, view or surf - it is a hotel with heart and soul and to me that makes it very special. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank susanh2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you to take the time and send us your value feedback, we love to hear that you enjoy all the hotel services. these comments are really important to keep improving in all the hotel areas, we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a fantastic experience for a wedding. Martha and the staff were tremendous. A great boutique hotel. Most of the rooms have ocean views. Food was 1st class. Would highly recommend this hotel for your destination wedding.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Shore King rooms in the new building. Balcony looks at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback, we will share all your comments with our Staff, We hope to see you coming back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This place is awesome. As someone who prefers a laid-back beach vibe to a high end property I was still blown away by this property, its staff, and its service. Excellent food, great staff, a property so fantastic that one need not leave for your entire vacation, and WAVES right out from that were just short of world-class when we visited. In addition, were there for a wedding, and the wedding was flawless in its execution from beginning to end. A really extraordinary place worth the price.

Room Tip: Ocean view is always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeclarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you to share your recent experience with Cabo Surf, your feedback is really important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I had our wedding at this hotel on May 31, 2012. I coordinated everything with Marta over e mail and it was perfect. Flowers, food, photographer, everything was amazing! Our room was beautiful, opening up to the ocean. The food at the restaurant was amazing and all of the staff were so helpful and friendly! I love this place and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room near the highway. Our friends stayed in one and said it was noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santos34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback, i am glad to heard that you really enjoy your stay with us and that we are now in your Favorite hotel list in Cabo!.

We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a beautiful, boutique resort close to San Jose del Cabo. The food is excellent and our room was lovely. We were on the second floor with a balcony facing the water. There aren't a lot of beaches where you can swim in Los Cabos, but the beach at the Cabo Surf Hotel, book-ended with large rock outcroppings, is one where you can swim and learn to surf. There is a small pool and hot tub, plenty for us and a spa. We tend to like the smaller places, so if you are looking for a large complex with many pools or a golf course, this is not for you. If you like something less sprawling, with its own beach, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suebach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We appreciate choosing us on your recent trip to Cabo., We hope your stay met your expectations and We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This small hotel has comfortable rooms - especially the oceanfront building, which has a terrace where you can watch family surf or check it out for yourself. The restuarant is very good and the staff will remember your name. The hotel is small and family friendly, not pretentious, but high quality. A world famous older surfer will give you lessons. The surf is fantastic with several reefs providing many separate wave sizes, types and directions..the best surfing spot that I have seen. However, there is no competition for spots or those hassles. The pools are small but adequate for the hotel with beautiful views of the surf. Gated entry provides no hassle parking. Rates seem high and the beach is not for swimming - too many rocks.
If you have surfers, definitely go. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Be careful choosing upper floors if you have children or drink too much..possibility of falling. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkvowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaboSurfHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cabo Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback, the right surf brake favors the non-rocky side to surf. For swimming purposes, the left side facing the ocean about 50 yards walk there a sandy and mellow swimming spot that you should try.

We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#27 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
135 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
469 reviews
2 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tropicana Inn
Tropicana Inn
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
359 reviews
3 mi away
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique...
#29 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
372 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#22 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £253 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing