We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas to Remember”
Review of Cabo Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabo Surf Hotel
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Laying by the pool on Christmas Day has got to be the best there is. Cabo Surf is one the best hotels I have stayed. I travel for leisure and only a couple times a year so I want no surprises. The food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were all so good. The Day Spa was one of the best massages I have ever had (now those I have had many) Beautiful view from our room every morning and night. The grounds were very clean and well maintained. Our room was cleaned daily-really nice open shower with the big downpour shower head. Little kitchenette to make coffee w/microwave and fridge. Close enough to town and not far from Mega (Walmart) and Costco. Will go back-LOVED IT!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Cabo Surf Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2009

This was my second trip to the Cabo area, my first to surf. There were 5 women in my group and we stayed in two rooms (#1 & #18). The rooms were beautiful, large and clean with a nice balcony looking out on the surf.
The service went above and beyond. If you do go, hopefully Emilio will be serving during your stay. He was very attentive, knowing just what you would want after a morning of surfing with Manuel from Mike Doyle's Surf School.
If you are a beginner looking to learn to surf in a very relaxed atmosphere, this is the place to go.
The hotel is on a busy street and occasionally you will notice the sound of trucks passing by. Most of the time, the sound of the surf drowns out any traffic noises.
The music at the pool is perfect, not the usual latin disco you find at Mexican resorts, but acoustic rock songs that are perfect in the background, but when you take notice, quite enjoyable.
Not too many places to walk to since you really shouldn't be walking on the street. Had lunch at Zippers, a short walk down the beach. It was a great diversion.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMayNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Our stay at the hotel was fantastic! We arrived late and it was dark, and waking up and venturing out onto our terrace in the morning was an amazing way to start our holiday. The people at the hotel, the restaurant, the room, the pool and the surf beach were all excellent and our spa treatments only added to the great experienced. We ended up extending our stay another five days and had such a relaxing and enjoyable time. Also, we were there with our two year old son and felt totally at ease. The restaurant was delicious and with the open setting we could enjoy our dinner while our son enjoyed his children's menu and walked around. We managed to eat in San Jose only once since we so enjoyed the offering at the hotel and just couldn't manage to get ourselves in a taxi. Room service was also great and a nice change from going to the restaurant every night. It was quite hot during our stay, yet between the pool, the beach and the fans and A/C in the room, we didn't mind at all. You are always able to find a place to relax and rest. As for the comments about the highway, it is true that you can hear the trucks coming past yet we found that as soon as the working day was over the trucks stopped. Having said that, we did have a room on the ground floor and I think that the setting of the building against a sort of barrier wall provided a lot of sound buffering. Surfing was also great, and the access to the beach and the surf shop at the hotel just can't be beat. Overall, this hotel surpassed our expectations and was truly a fabulous holiday destination.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

This is a nice, quaint hotel... great surf spot. We loved the hammocks on the patio outside of our room. BUT, for the price we paid ($300 for the night), we expected the air conditioner to work (which it didn't -- it blew air but not cold air). And each time the toilet was flushed, the room smelled of raw sewage! We alerted the management and they didn't seem to care and didn't do anything. So, we went back to the Dreams resort -- which was a beautiful hotel with excellent service and great food. If you really want to stay at a nice hotel (paying that kind of money), we recommend Dreams (food and drinks are included -- and the A/C works great and no raw sewage smell) and then take a cab to surf at the beach at the Cabo Surf Hotel.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank johnart562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

This place far exceeded my expectations. We stayed there recently for a wedding wedding and it was an amazing, relaxing getaway. Most of the rooms have great ocean views...the kind of view you usually spend $600-$800 at fancier resorts. It is lovely to wake up, hear the surf and look at the ocean from your bed.
The infinity pool is beautiful. Service is great...and we sure put them to the test with all our pool-side margarita orders! Food, chips/salsa and the margaritas are to die for good. Try the fish tacos. I highly recommend the surfing lesson with Hector. It is lovely to be out there in the water as the waves are manageable for beginner types like me!
We were only there for 3 nights but it honestly was so relaxing it felt like a week!
No complaints really - except that the gym is tiny, dark and hot and really only two old machines. And since there's nowhere really to run, if you need some excercise, you don't really have many options (other than surfing of course!)

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAtravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We just returned from my son's wedding at the cabo surf hotel, and I cannot say enough good things! The staff are incredibly sweet, helpful, responsive...a total joy. The hotel rooms are spacious, clean, and well appointed. The restaurant is unbelievable. Fabulous time!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bmdgjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

Let me give you the REAL skinny on the Cabo Surf Hotel. First off - you have to like Cabo and the surrounding areas: dry, dusty, hot, with a few little spots of paradise in between. The Cabo Surf Hotel is one of those spots, literally right off the main drag (yes you do hear traffic!) that has a great pool, a great surf spot, great food, and killer atmosphere. The service was very good, and yes it was expensive.

You'll love it if:

- You don't mind the traffic noise on one side and the surf on the other.
- You like to surf.
- You want a secluded bit of magic that WILL take your breath away. Great wedding spot.
- You don't mind spending money. They get you on surf board rentals, snorkling gear, the food is pricey, etc.
- You want to learn to surf. Hector and Jose are great instructors.

You won't like it if:

- You don't want to hear traffic (though it's not so bad, worth it IMHO).
- You don't surf or enjoy the water (you are locked in, so to speak. You can take taxis but these add up $$).
- Your spouse or kids don't like watching you surf all day.
- You don't mind rocks on the beach - can be tough on little ones toes, especially at lower tides.
- You want the BIG BOX resort. This ain't it.
- You expected green lush tropical views everywhere you looked (the hotel is like this, but Cabo is not).

Recommendations:

- Rent a car from the airport so you can drive and explore (though it does take a while to get used to the fast pace of traffic). This is imperative.
- Spend more time in the art district of San Jose than Cabo. Cabo is for the singles crowd. As a family, we're more mellow.
- Go snorkeling in Santa Maria Bay. Unreal!
- Take a surf lesson.
- Eat at Salsitos and Guacamayas in San Jose. Yum. True Mexican food.
- Go to Mega and stock up and drinks and food so you don't always get gouged by hotel prices.
- Try to speak Spanish. It's only the right thing to do.

We stayed in room #5 which was great - beautiful views. But I think room #4 has a kitchenette - this is the way to go if you can afford it. That way you don't have to eat EVERY meal at the restaurant (again, very good but very pricey. Easily 150 bucks a day+ for a family of four). All in all a great place to stay - but don't expect lush tropical landscaping outside of the hotel grounds. This part of Mexico is truly a desert. If that's your bag - then this is a great find. De nada.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank supercro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#27 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#14 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
261 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,753 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Surf Hotel

Address: Playa Acapulquito Km 28 | Bahía Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#20 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £248 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabo Surf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabo Surf Hotel is a boutique beach resort located on one of the most privileged beaches in Los Cabos: Acapulquito, also known as "Old Man's". The hotel was voted the 7th best kept secret, out of 21, from Elle Magazine, and was listed in Lucky Magazine as one of the editor’s “no-apologies splurges”. The soothing sounds of rolling waves are heard all around the resort for our guests to enjoy.The quaint 36 rooms, seafood restaurant (the 7 Seas), and day spa (Sea spa & salon), face an ocean cove and sandy beach with rock formations and light jade green waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabo Surf
Cabo Surf Hotel Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing