We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise!”
Review of Palapas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palapas Resort
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Palapas Resort on Easter weekend--and I wish we had planned a longer stay there! The rooms are cute and affordable, and there is a great courtyard to hang out in. So great, in fact, that although we originally planned to go into town for dinner, we were enjoying the ambiance so much that we stayed in and cooked dinner and had drinks there since we had an awesome kitchen in our room (there is a BBQ outside in the courtyard, too!).
We awoke to the crashing of waves, and decided to take the short (5 min) walk down to the beach. Palapas Resort is super close to a swimming beach with beautiful, warm water. The manager of the hotel then suggested a great farmer's market nearby that runs every Saturday and a yummy fish taco resturant for lunch. Ask her for tips--she knows the city well.
Overall, great location (5-10 minute drive into the adorable town and 5 min walking distance to the marina and beach), incredibly nice and helpful staff, and cute rooms. I've already told my family about the entire hotel rental option (which is a great deal for big families and groups), and we plan to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at Palapas on our first trip to Baja and the San Jose del Cabo area. My favorite parts were strolling through and enjoying delicious food in the nearby fishing village of La Playita, as well as the proximity to both the beach. Both are just a few minutes walk from Palapas. We stayed in one of the main houses which was clean, well kept, and well equipped for cooking and trying to come up with the perfect home made margarita recipe.

Beyond the basics, the thing that will draw me back to Palapas is the location. When I first visited, I knew next to nothing about the region. I was grateful that we chose Palapas because it is situated in a relaxing and mellow neighborhood, yet is close enough to the amenities that San Jose del Cabo offers. The ever-popular Cabo San Lucas down the road is fun for a night out, but was too much of a tourist trap for us to have wanted to be based out of for our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfswimbikerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This is a nice relaxing retreat and great for a group of people. The house offers several private sleeping quarters, full kitchens/baths, and even a fish station and pool. We were able to live, cook and entertain ourselves in our own private compound. The place offered views of the beach which is within walking distance and close to the harbor. If you wanted to go to San Jose or Cabo, not a far distance to town. Sweet!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lissaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Loved this place. Tropical Paradise...warm breezes. Quiet area...near quaint artistic town. So cute with authentic palapa roofs, mature tropical foilage and bright mexican colors. Has full kitchens!

Went with my Mother and 2 year old daughter. We had so much fun. The hotel is perfect for families. Eat breakfast...Play in the pool and on the beach in the late morning. Come back for lunch and a relaxing siesta under the palapa roof. Then go for swim again and go out for dinner or BBQ carne asada on the outdoor grill. Baby goes to bed and you can relax on the patio with a damiana margarita or two...

Can't wait to come back with a group of fun loving friends and rent the whole hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 217alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soul329, Manager at Palapas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

I am so glad you came to visit us here at Palapas Resort. Our little guest house in is very unique and definitely is a fit for the easy going self directed traveler. I am glad you liked our laid back atmosphere and were able to make yourselves at home here. Thank you so much for your review and pictures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This fun and unique retreat has much to offer to a group of family or friends. From the pool on the terrace, the exotic foliage in the gardens to the ping pong table; everything you need is in the compound or very nearby. The beautiful beach is a short walk and the La Playita village has great restaurants and fun shops including some nice jewelry stores. If you're looking for a fun and relaxing getaway this is your place!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayoung3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si vas en pareja una cabaña seria lo ideal, pero si vas en grupo estan dos de las casas que me parec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zyanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
2.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,800 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
660 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
462 reviews
6.7 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Natalia
Casa Natalia
#1 of 11 in San Jose del Cabo
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palapas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palapas Resort

Address: Puerto Los Cabos | Delfines Y Pezgallo, San Jose del Cabo 23401, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: £38 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palapas Resort - an 'Eclectic' Guest Inn. Palapas Resort is a surfer's dream and a fisherman's delight, not to mention ideal for yoga retreats. Great for families from one person to small groups. Palapas is the perfect getaway for those looking for a fun Baja vacation the way it was 20 years ago. Welcome to La Playita, one of the last little fishing villages of its kind. Located in Puerto Los Cabos near San Jose Del Cabo, Baja, Sur, where old world meets new world with one of the finest world class Marinas located in the only traditional fishing village in all of Baja. Go fishing from one of the Panga boats to the hottest fishing spots known as Gordo Banks. Our beaches are one of the few unvisited swimming beaches in all of Los Cabos. Palapas is close to all the finest surfing and just a hop & skip to beautiful downtown San Jose Del Cabo. You will have the best of both worlds at your fingertips. Great for the younger or older world traveler, or anyone that just wants to hang and chill and just have fun. We have beautifully lush landscaped grounds with hammocks and large flat grassy areas that would be perfect for yoga retreats such as Bikram, Hatha, or other. There are several guesthouses, large and small of various sizes to accommodate large or small groups, along with a very unique shared second story Infinity pool with incredible panoramic ocean views! With four main structures, three full kitchens, four bathrooms and comfortable beds, breathtaking ocean views, a short hop to the sand & conveniences and only a five-minute drive to beautiful San Jose Del Cabo---You have the choice to do your own thing in a relaxing and very stylish home-like retreat. Palapas is really cut out of very special cloth. All of our staff loves it, and we know you will too. Give us a call or send us an e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Palapas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palapas Resort Los Cabos, Mexico - San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing